Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

What are your feelings towards each opposition club?

P-man

Most hated and most liked?  

75 members have voted

On a scale of 2-18 (2 being as close as any club will ever come to replacing Melbourne should the worst happen, 10 being the winner of the rat's tossbag award, and 18 being the footballing equivalent of Osama bin Laden)

Sydney - Meh. No emotional connection whatsoever, and the SCG sucks to watch games at.
GWS - The epitome of a "franchise." How can you not dislike them? Also, Tom Scully, Heath Shaw AND Lance Franklin all on the one team? What kind of cruel joke is that?

I know it is hard to believe Chook but Franklin didn't end up at GWS.

Good news is I think you can now find an emotional connection with Sydney

Adelaide - Hate crows fans within the MCC.

Brisbane - Don't show any emotion towards them, currently bad but had a good 3 years in the early 2000's.

Carlton - Supporters claim to be top 4 every pre-season, have their hopes crushed by round 10.

Collingwood - Like all of Australia - not a fan and hate them.

Essendon - My most hated team by a country mile - pack of co**y knobs.

Fremantle - Nothing against them.

Geelong - Have large amounts of respect (except hated being on the end of their thrashings).

Gold Coast - Too early to call, just hope they end up more successful than GWS as long as it's not at our expense.

GWS - Hated during the $cully turmoil, have began to not mind them over the trading periods.

Hawthorn - Like their culture, hate their president and CEO.

North Melbourne - Like them and support them as my second team due to family relations.

Port Adelaide - Nothing against them... yet.

Richmond - Envious of the Tiger army roar.

St Kilda - Once liked, now disliked due to one big sook (a key forward) and their player culture.

Sydney - Rather like, although frustrated by their salary cap advantage and academy/ zone selection program (Tippett, Franklin, Peris).

West Coast - Nothing really against them.

Western Bulldogs - Don't mind them, unless if I'm sitting next to their fans in Eticr*p stadium.

Edited by ignition.

Adelaide - used to admire them greatly but couldn't care less about them now
Brisbane - loved Voss and his enduring connection but that's gone so... couldn't care less
Carlton - grew up in the old Carlton zone and hate them with a hard-edged vitriol. This is a pure, unaffected hate built upon years of them winning cups, us winning spoons in the 70's.
Collingwood - genetic hate built up over 3 generations prior to mine. Admire Buckley as a coach and hate myself for it.
Essendon - ever since 2000 GF, these are scum: pure, pure scum that has them as my no. 1 hated club/team.
Fremantle - Like them a lot, or did until Lyon took over.
Geelong - At their best over past 7 years they were scintillating to watch. Still the hangbaggers, though.
Gold Coast - Love their footy, but don't like the fact they entered the comp before Tassie.
GWS - a failed footy experiment. My family now celebrate an annual "Boo Scully Day" when we attend Dees v GWS game specifically to boo his every touch.
Hawthorn - arrogant b******s, and I hate them, but their club has to be admired for its continual success.
North Melbourne - these guys really get my goat. How have they survived?
Port Adelaide - a real turnaround from me. They were South Australian bogan scum but now they are a very good club with an exciting brand of footy.
Richmond - They are the weird gambling uncle of the comp who always "almost wins". Sad, funny and amusing.
St Kilda - Probably the owners of Sexyland and some porn film production company. Hate their recent brand of footy.
Sydney - Admire them, but now really annoyed at the Buddy deal.
West Coast - Were a true wow factor in early 90's but almost irrelevant since.
Western Bulldogs - poor buggers.
Edited by Maldonboy38

Adelaide - Overrated

Brisbane - Never Say die

Carlton - Under Achievers

Collingwood - Hated but respected

Essendon - words can't describe how much I hate this club

Fremantle - soulless

Geelong - Jealous of them

Gold Coast - Curious

GWS - confused

Hawthorn - Admire

North Melbourne - frustrating to watch

Port Adelaide - Refer back to Essendon

Richmond - best song to belt out drunk (playing country footy)

St Kilda - Refer to Fremantle

Sydney - Fear the Beard

West Coast - Arrogant Flogs

Western Bulldogs - Battlers

Adelaide - Enjoy watching them play when they are at their best. Dangerfield is a favourite player (outside of MFC) of mine, I prefer him over Gablett, had some real talented players that I loved watching while growing up, ie, Ricciuto, McLeod, etc. Not a team I care overly for, but I don't mind them.
Brisbane - A team that I don't mind, loved watching them in their premiership days.
Carlton - Got a soft spot for them, my mum follows them, tells me all the time how she used to love "sticks"
Collingwood - I actually like Collingwood, going to their games to deal with the ferals is another point.
Essendon - 20/80. My Pa follows them (after being a Dees supporter, wasn't allowed into a function in the early 70's so he went to Bomberland), I absolute hate their supporters. Gee wasn't it such a great feeling giving it to them after we defeated them in 2012, after hearing "Mitch Clark you're a Brisbane reject", so good seeing them leave their seats when the siren went. How's your St Kilda reject in Goddard going you flogs! (nothing against Goddard lol)
Fremantle - Loved them ever since my favourite player (the Wiz) went there
Geelong - Like the team, hate the supporters
Gold Coast - I like these bunch too
GWS - $$$F**k off$$$
Hawthorn - Like the team, hate Puopolo, hate the supporters (especially living with my Dad and his partner and her son who are mad Hawks supporters)
North Melbourne - Don't like them, move over
Port Adelaide - I respect these guys for what they did in a year
Richmond - Like some of the team, hate the flogs in Vickery and Jumping Jack Riewoldt, fans are a bit of fair dinkum [censored] too
St Kilda - hate these dogs, my second most hated team
Sydney - I like the team, the supporter give me the absolute shits
West Coast - I like the Eagles, still don't see the hype in Nic Nat
Western Bulldogs - My most hated team, such a pleasure beating them last year

Just a bit of fun really. What are your feelings towards each club? This isn't just asking who you hate most cause we've done that. So if you can't be bothered doing the list, no need to respond.

Can be anything from one word to a couple of sentences, and can range from long term to very recent. If you have no feelings at all then I guess N/A would suffice. Copy and paste below.

Adelaide - Disinterested except for our games, and occasionally watching for specific players.

Brisbane - No interest. Brisbane bores me to the point of not even looking at their players for fantasy football.

Carlton - Whole bunch of friends/relatives follow them, so I know the team and club news well. Secretly find the club irritatingly self-important. ;)

Collingwood - None of their achievements seem important because so much is stacked their way. Their failures are also shallow for the same reason. A liability on the game.

Essendon - A mix of my Collingwood and Carlton attitudes. Feel a lingering rivalery on account of mid-2000s games.

Fremantle - Interesting watching club evolve. Personal football experiences have included some great Demons-Dockers games.

Geelong - Have had a lot of respect for them in recent years, of course. Mostly because of their mostly excellent job sitting on Hawthorn.

Gold Coast - Fun to watch. I still hate the AFLs approach to expansion for the most part, but this club seems intent on building with flair and professionalism. Scary.

GWS - I find them boring and irritating. How can a club with nothing on the board and total dependence on excessive subsidies also have hubris?

Hawthorn - Some individual players at Hawthorn are interesting and seem like strong characters. But mostly they reek of FIGJAM.

North Melbourne - Are a football club. Sometimes we play games against them. Sometimes Caroline Wilson plays games against them.

Port Adelaide - Like Freo, Port seem to experience continuous culture change, for better and worse. I'm intrigued by the extent of the home ground advantage/disadvantage between Port and Demons.

Richmond - Now they they aren't a tragicomic foil to real football news, I'm worried I won't find them as entertaining. All their top players are just so cliche.

St Kilda - It's ok to laugh at St Kilda because they are a bunch of [censored]

Sydney - Fine upstanding citizen. Nice to have around, though lately starting to seem like noisy neighbors who are just never quite irritating enough to actually complain about.

West Coast - Ho hum. Soft-serve ice-cream with sprinkles to amuse the kids.

Western Bulldogs - I miss their good old days. Like them, but haven't been much excited about them lately.

Adelaide - Half of my cousins are from SA and my mother USED to support them when they first joined the AFL. Now the old man has put his foot down and she is RED and BLUE. I personally don't mind them. One of my hometown boys plays for them. And also they gave us Vince and Riely last year so... Thanks

Brisbane - I did enjoy it when we won our "HOME" games up north against them. Of late i don't like the fact that we have thrown away some winnable games against them. Overall i don't mind them.

Carlton - DISLIKE... i would rather sit on my testicles.

Collingwood - Growing up watching a "adult" male abuse a 15yo girl at the MCG because she was wearing a Melbourne jumper sealed the deal. The fans are all a-grade tools led by a stuck up D-HEAD. The players follow suit and the coach is a F-Wit. Im not saying they arn't skilfull and talented (some of them) but i hate them with the hate of all hates... to put it this way i support, chear and barrack for ESS on Anzac day..

Essendon - I was a Melbourne supporter living in Essendon from 1999-2004 and my hatred stems from that. Family friends played for. My godfather played for... but i hope the ASADA thing wipes them off the planet. I hope they enjoy the new training facility they sell to us when they go belly up. I would put them between Carlton and Collingwood as to my level of hatred.

Fremantle - Did like them back when they first came in because they were underdogs etc. My schoolmate ended up playing 190 games for them too. Thanks for the Slivia and Michie switcharoo..

Geelong - Not a fan. I did enjoy watching them loose in the 90's

Gold Coast - Dont mind them.. Dont like loosing to them at home.

GWS - I like the fact they play a few games in Canberra each year. least that gives me a chance to watch some other teams get a win. I think the sneaky trading/signing of players in years past was good and enjoyable for me when Franklin went to Sydney after months of the giants so smug about them "getting their man". I dont think i actually know a "fan" of GWS. My mate's fiance "follows" them but she is from England and originally followed Collingwood so i cant really hate her for changing to them.

Hawthorn - I dont really mind them. I like them i lot more now that the douchbag Franklin is gone. Things might change depending on the free agency period at the end of this year...

North Melbourne - I like them. Well really its more like i dont hate them. I dont like loosing to them, but i dont like loosing at all.

Port Adelaide - Deadbeats. Deadbeat Players. Deadbeat Supporters (they are the equivalent of a south Australian Collingwood Supporter), and a Deadbeat President.

Richmond - I have so many Richmond supporter friends. They have had a fun couple of years giving it to me about our inability to win. But really i still smile. Yes we have had some bad, and i mean BAD, seasons but what is worse.. Losing and not making the finals and now in a position where were looking at a promising few years ahead... OR winning enough games to finish 9th for almost a decade then finally making the finals only to loos to a team that "Officially" finished 9th. On top of that the future of the Richmond football club looks the same as it has the last few years. Finishing midtable is just as if not more so annoying then where we are.

St Kilda - Hopefully i can like them after we beat them first round.. until then.. I hate them...

Sydney - Well i dont mind them. Yes my girlfriend supports them so i usually go to the games in the swans members area but i have managed to create a drinking game to it. Its a known fact that swans supporters DO NOT KNOW THE RULES OF THE GAME. After the first time she took me and i pointed this out she informed me that i have ruined AFL for her. Then next time i decided to consume a mouthful of beer for every time some swans supporter calls out "Ball" when it clearly wasnt, questions the ruling on the field when it was clear or basically shows their lack of knowleddge of anything AFL. Lets just say im lucky my girlfriend finds it funny and like to buy me drinks.

West Coast - I dont like Perth so lets say i dont like the Eagles.

Western Bulldogs - They lost me when they dropped Footscray from their name.

Adelaide - The housemate supports them. Neither here nor there but couldn't stand them when I lived in Ballarat and they used to set up their Crow city tent village near my house come September.
Brisbane - I am disappointed they have gone past us with about 1 quarter of the assistance.
Carlton - Loathe them. I have never come close to punching on at the footy but came close two years ago with a Carlton supporter.
Collingwood - I don't mind them. All the family besides myself are Magpies. As I have said before, true Collingwood ferals don't have a great deal going on in their lives so I am happy if they can get a little joy out of the Pies winning.
Essendon - Same as Carlton but a Western suburbs version. Cocky, moronic and it's been a pleasure to see their downward spiral from 2004 onwards.
Fremantle - I came to respect them this year. Always thought they were flaky but I now reckon our club should model ourselves on how they went about things from 2008 onwards.
Geelong - I don't mind them when I'm in Melbourne. When I'm in Geelong, they give me the s***s. I saw less propaganda when I was in China.
Gold Coast - I don't mind them. I always thought that it made sense to have a team on the Gold Coast.
GWS - The opposite of my opinion on the Gold Coast. Unneeded, artificial and the creation of the AFL's hubris.
Hawthorn - I admire the way they have gone about it over the last 20 odd years but their supporters think a bit highly of themselves. Plus, Jeffrey Kennett barracks for them.
North Melbourne - I was in awe of them in the 90's but they just seem to be treading water now. When Carey was around, they were unbelievable.
Port Adelaide - A good idea on paper BUT in execution is lacking a bit. The SA Magpies have the silverware to justify an AFL team but not the supporter base.
Richmond - I've got a soft spot for the Toigs as they are a bit like us (a long way removed from their glory days). I would love a supporter base like theirs.
St Kilda - As Beelzebub once said on here, they are the most eclectic, buffoon run mob in the AFL. We need them around for comedy value (when we aren't providing it).
Sydney - My most respected team in the AFL. Their supporters (at least the ones in Victoria) are usually pretty good sorts and the club culture is currently the best in the league.
West Coast - I was very parochial towards them but don't care either way. It does annoy me however when we play them at the G and their supporters occasionally outnumber ours! :@
Western Bulldogs - I live on this side of town so I like the Doggies. As western suburbs as you can get. I would like to see the proportion of their supporters who live in the west vs. the east. Of course there will be more here but I wonder how lopsided the margin would be?

Edited by Count Fraudula

Don't mind

Adelaide - I actually like a lot of their current players and the way they play. Haven't dealt with their supporters much
Brisbane - They were good champions and good to watch in their 3 peat and now have been pretty irrelevant

Freo - Got some players who are great to watch and they play hard. I've got a respect for them right now

Port - young midfield, exciting come back wins, besides their bogan supporters I don't mind them

Western Bulldogs - I like the battlers from out west as long as they stay there. I like a club with some soul

Gold Coast - G Ablett and some young talent and they built a competitive team and trained them up I don't mind them (at this stage)

Dislike

Richmond - because they are Richmond.

Sydney - their COLA allowance and a decent dose of whinging if they don't get looked after annoys me

GWS - they deliberately set up a team to lose to focus hard on a premiership and manipulated the rules as hard as they could

West Coast - they definitely tried to hide that a large number at their club had drug problems and they seem to have a list of front runners right now. And their Melbourne fans are massive bandwagoners

Geelong - I hate they because of how good they've been but I respect them for the same reasons

St Kilda - annoying supporters, annoying players, stupid off field antics, dumb on field decisions and got their stuff in order and developed an elite group of young players - Riewoldt, Kosi, Ball, Goddard, Dal Santo, Hayes, Montagna and more and still couldn't win

Hate

Carlton - Cheats and bullies

Collingwood - Because they are Collingwood
Essendon - Combine Carlton and Collingwood and that's how I feel about Essendon
Hawthorn - Mainly I hate their supporters. They aren't the family club. They are the brat kids, painful parents, spotty faced teens and arrogant young adults club. Plus Al Clarkson should be known as one of the great coaches but instead is such an angry belittling man
North Melbourne - I hate them because right now they have got so many things right that at the same time we have stuffed up. Especially drafting and list management. Brad Scott's whinging doesn't help their case, nor does Boomer Harvey. For a small club that were on their knees a few years ago I think it's time for some Melbourne fans to swallow a bit of humble pie with North. Every time I see some muppet on here refer to them as 'Norf' I think we should show some respect until we can beat them

Hate Hawthorn.....sooooo much.

Freo's okay, but hate their coach...my eldest followed them for a while when The Wiz and Simmo went there.

North are okay, but their coach is an underachiever with their list....their board needs to wake up to his bs excuses.

Crows....HTF did they win '98?

Bulldogs....soft spot.

Richmond....good at delivering gardening manure. Funny, feral, toothless supporters.

Lions.....amazing 3peat. Now, couldn't care less....Stef Spud Martin is there.

I dislike any and all opponents, for various reasons ranging from smug or feral supporters through to being spoon fed success via long term AFL assistance.

I always felt that was what made the game so good, tribalism and a healthy hatred of anything other than your team.

Adelaide - Hate Them

Brisbane - They stopped Collingwood from winning 2 Premierships so I like them
Carlton - The want to be Collingwood Supporters
Collingwood - Hate them with a passion. Worst Club in the AFL by a country mile.
Essendon - Drug Cheats!
Fremantle - Second worst team in the AFL. Supporter are just annoying whingers (sorry Mum and Dad).
Geelong - Left sorry for them in the past.
Gold Coast - Don't care about them either way.
GWS - Don't care about them either way.
Hawthorn - The one that got way.
North Melbourne - Send them to Canberra
Port Adelaide - Supports as just about as feral as Collingwood
Richmond - Are they in the AFL?
St Kilda - Feel sorry for them.
Sydney - Starting to Hate them because of their recent whingers
West Coast - Words can not describe my feeling for these East Perth W#4@ers
Western Bulldogs - Would be the team I would support if there was no MFC as their colours is the second best in the AFL.

Melbourne - Perfect colours, theme song, but pity its not able to play AFL level footy, but I will support them anyway as I love pain and suffering!

Adelaide's stunt in wearing the SA state jumper first game against Port takes the cake. Being allowed to wear it, well Port are not happy and nor should they be.

Strange way of doing business over there....

I blame the water over there it makes them do strange things!

If I may update;

Essendon just advanced itself to my least liked club on account of their incredible arrogance. Seriously, imagine if a club had launched their membership campaign by commemorating the day they were pinged for salary cap cheating or tanking.

Just revolting. I now genuinely hope they are formally charged by ASADA, just to screw them for their hubris, and to screw the Demetriou-era AFL for thinking it was a higher authority than the law.

If I may update;

Essendon just advanced itself to my least liked club on account of their incredible arrogance. Seriously, imagine if a club had launched their membership campaign by commemorating the day they were pinged for salary cap cheating or tanking.

Just revolting. I now genuinely hope they are formally charged by ASADA, just to screw them for their hubris, and to screw the Demetriou-era AFL for thinking it was a higher authority than the law.

You have to forgiven them.

They support a Club with Black and Red and gods knows what their theme song is?

Everyone who is anyone knows that Red must go with Blue.

And the only theme song that counts is "Its a Grand Old Flag"

I guess all the mysterious substances at Windy Hill must have had some effect on everyone over there by now.

I think we should put the hat around to collect so money to help them pay all the fines they will have shortly.

I know I have $0.20 sitting around here somewhere for them.

Adelaide - My hate towards this side has subsided since moving out of South Australia, still don't like 'em much.
Brisbane - Couldn't care less, no hate just don't care
Carlton - I don't find myself cheering them on when watching a neutral game of theirs.
Collingwood - I have a soft spot for them as my mother and sister support them. However I have been jealous of there success and have had a lot of trouble trying to be happy for them.
Essendon - Despise.
Fremantle - Have always liked them. Think they have earned their success.
Geelong - Huge amount of respect. 2007-2011 team will be considered one of histories great sides and 2012 and 2013 weren't far off the mark either.
Gold Coast - Excited but worried.
GWS - Hate.
Hawthorn - One of the few people on here who don't really like Hawthorn. I respect them but I have never liked them (maybe because the first loss I saw when going to the footy was to Hawthorn).
North Melbourne - Disinterested by them. Bit nothing really.
Port Adelaide - Again I purely dislike them because I grew up in South Australia. School kids can be really mean when you're the only Melbourne supporter there.
Richmond - I have a severe soft spot for the tiges as I grew up playing for the tigers and Nick Daffy was one of our clubs only AFL players.
St Kilda - No respect for them. They don't seem to have any morals down there.
Sydney - The respect has gone. Not the side they were for much of the past decade.
West Coast - Again, another school yard reason, but I hate the Eagles!
Western Bulldogs - I also have a real soft spot for the doggies. Always have.

Adelaide Andrew Obst

Brisbane Pauj Hopgood

Carlton Darren Cuthbertson

Collingwood Paul Prymke

Essendon Graham Malloy/Rodney Grinter

Fremantle Darren Kowal

Geelong Jako

Gold Coast Greg Healy

Gws Bret Gr***

Hawthorn Todd Viney

North Paul Hopgood

Port Mark Jamar

Richmond Damian Gasper

St Kilda Martin Pike

Sydney Graeme Yeats

WC Colin Sylvia

Bullys Brad Miller

Adelaide's stunt in wearing the SA state jumper first game against Port takes the cake. Being allowed to wear it, well Port are not happy and nor should they be.

Strange way of doing business over there....

I heard Nigel smart from Adelaide on SEN this afternoon.

What a pack of self important pricks they are, think they are SA.

Well guys you are team from SA in the national competition nothing more nothing less.

You are not the SA state team.

Get a grip!

Adelaide - Never liked them, but the tippett drama has pushed me over the edge, hope they never win another game.
Brisbane - couldn't care less
Carlton - not a fan but don't hate them either
Collingwood - soft spot due to family supporters
Essendon - see carlton comment
Fremantle - don't mind them, can't help but respect pav and hope they get him a flag this year.
Geelong - can't help but respect possibly the best team of all time.
Gold Coast - going to be scary good in the next couple of years
GWS - could well turn out to be the greatest mistake the AFL has made to date, can't see how they could possibly thrive.
Hawthorn - respect them, but not a fan
North Melbourne - can't stand these blokes thanks to damien slightly bias barrett
Port Adelaide - loved seeing them knock off brisbane in 2004
Richmond - best mate supports them so abit of a soft spot
St Kilda -pure blind hate.
Sydney - respect a great side but not one of my favourites
West Coast - really couldn't care less
Western Bulldogs - probably my second favourite team, really think they are on the way to something special with a good group of draftees