Pennant St Dee 13,452 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 The definition of laziness is a)We lost this at selection b) AFL is corrupt and cost us the game c) Goodwin cost us the game a) Selection was okay, started fast and got them on the back foot, they settled and we changed it up went small and mobile in F50 and had our chances b) Jumper punch turnover 10m out, Gawn touched Oliver’s shot on goal, which was going through c) See a) and also Goodwin didn’t miss some easy set shots Oliver poor, Bowey really didn’t go hard enough at the footy which ended in Motlops goal. And as for “we are the laughingstock of the AFL” ffs are you under 12, we’ve been there and I remember it 7 1 Quote
praha 11,267 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 3 minutes ago, 1858 said: I've said it once and I'll say it again. When Burgess walked out, it wasn't just our fitness but a whole lot of professionalism that left too. Goodwin is too close to this group. Too much warm fuzzy culture and complete neglect to the forward half. He has completely coached the attacking nouse, system and instinct out of this team with his stupid squeeze em up strategy. We squeeze ourselves up. We can't transition to save ourselves. It has nothing to do with Burgess lol It is still *cultural*. We have choked on the big stage in a way literally no other club has in the modern era. 3 Quote
Deeoldfart 8,201 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 I’m truly gutted to the core! We can make all the excuses in the world about injuries costing us tonight, but I’m not wearing it. Chronic inaccuracy in front of goal, horrible delivery forward of centre and disgraceful discipline cost us, plain and simple! I’ll be licking my wounds for a while now. I need a cave to sulk in. 2 Quote
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 (edited) 1 minute ago, ElDiablo14 said: Vineys kick resulted in the winning goal for Carlton. Mind you he had time and space to kick better. Can't just blame Viney. It was a circus in there alot of the time. Edited September 15, 2023 by Fork 'em 2 Quote
John Crow Batty 8,892 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 1 minute ago, Dannyz said: Did Tmac have a touch in the last? He was beyond disgusting tonight. No 2 Quote
Jack Vineys Anger Manager 425 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Heimlich maneuver needed for this group of players. Mind boggling coaching and selections. Shoutout to Steven May for an awesome game. 2 Quote
mo64 5,910 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 6 minutes ago, Bates Mate said: 1.37 left to go we are up the ball is in levers hands did he really need to go long to a contest? Why change something that we've been doing most of the year? It makes me sick watching us kick long to a contest. Nothing has changed in 2 years. Why the hell didn't we activate the sub and replace the invisible man T Mac? I don't want to listen to another Goody presser till round 1 next year. He's full of hot air. "We want to win a flag in front of our home fans". 0-4 at the G in finals past 2 years. Thanks Goody. I'm not gutted because the Lions would have smashed us if we got through. And I don't want to ever read another post saying how wonderful Choco is. 2 1 1 Quote
Bystander 903 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 6 minutes ago, COOLX said: The Dees are the Greg Norman of football , chokers . We need to get rid of some players BB ,T.Mac, Harmes , Jordon ,Schache , Grundy the most expensive back up ruckman in afl history and Goody , the reserves coach ,Richardson,Pert that's for starters .I would include the fitness coach . This club makes me sick. What did the reserves coach do wrong ? 1 1 Quote
ElDiablo14 5,055 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Just now, Fork 'em said: They play like they're already scared. Who would've thought back in that glorious day September 2021... we were talking about a Deenasty, we were so dominant. We stil are very dominant in contested footy and defensive structures, but can't kick goals to save our lives under pressure. 1 2 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 5 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said: That’s broken me. Just wanted to see a finals win at the MCG and we couldn’t ice it. People will say the Grundy trade didn’t work because of Gawn’s ruck dominance but Gawn didn’t hold up his end of the bargain in the forward line all season. It was shown again when he missed two easy shots. I’m off AFL Media until the Grand final. Can’t stand the Voss love in when Carlton was cooked we had them and we couldn’t shut the door. The roar at the end was deafening. Saw a few young supporters crying. Umpiring was a disgrace too. Yep Grundy gawn, was always going to fail when you expect max to actually kick goals. He is the worst set shot in the comp. 1 Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,468 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Disgusted Mentally soft Even the captain missing sitters Furious at that result, absolutely gutted 1 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Massive choke. I’m disgusted won’t sleep tonight max tried his heart out. May was magnificent. Rivers did well. Clearance work was good. but I question some players mentality. Some appalling decision making. And as for skills? Some of our disposal was atrocious. plenty of heart. Can’t fault that. But I’m tired at looking at huff and puff footy. Take the game on sometimes ffs. fckn disgusted 5 2 Quote
Dannyz 3,100 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Dropping a retiring Hibberd who smashed Jamie Elliot last game will be a huge blight on this club. Simply why. 10 1 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,536 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 2 minutes ago, Superunknown said: Question - is max right for the captain ? edgy and zeitgesty! very good question. Needs to pass the baton, but to who. Quote
david_neitz_is_my_dad 4,084 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Steven May was great! Had Petty and a Melksham not got injured I reckon that flag was ours for the taking. Disgusting way to go out though 11 2 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Steven May take a bow. Player of the finals for me. If everyone was as disciplined as him, we’d be much better off. Absolutely immense. And he’s not getting any younger. 10 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 14 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said: So is Max going to say it was a Melbourne like loss? 🤢🤢🤢 It was Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 That’s the worse Melbourne loss since the ‘87 Prelim. Im absolutely gutted. 3 2 1 1 Quote
Dee-monic 620 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Some reflections: Time for McDonald to retire and Jordon to move on. Another woeful display of kicking for goal. We desperately need a dominant, goalkicking full forward (and it's not JVR, at least for now). This was NOT the fault of Goody or the umpires. We wasted enough good opportunities to have won by six goals, and blame for that falls squarely on players who faltered under pressure. Bowey a good defender but a dangerous liability when left one-on-one with a tall forward. Petracca will never be another Dusty unless and until his goalkicking accuracy improves. Oliver's injury proved a huge setback. He wasn't anywhere near his best after he returned to action. Roll on the draft and trade periods. We have holes to fill. Nothing very exciting coming from Casey at the moment. Laurie and Woewoedin couldn't take their chances this season. 4 Quote
Undeeterred 3,127 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 1 minute ago, Dannyz said: Dropping a retiring Hibberd who smashed Jamie Elliot last game will be a huge blight on this club. Simply why. I don’t know, maybe he can’t play two games in a row because his leg is completely stuffed? 1 Quote
Cheap Seats 3,310 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 17 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said: Oh it's rigged. But I'm making money from it. Carlton have 2016 Bulldogs vibes. Ride the wave Quote
deewag 22 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Gone McDonald, Langdon, Hunter, Chandler, Jordan. Biggest blunder was picking McDonald, he is cooked, surely Grundy would have provided more. The end of a one premiership era. Sure they tried hard but having a 193cm wingman like Acres who can run mark and kick was the difference. I have been really disappointed in Langdon this year. His kicking is woeful and Hunter is not the answer. He lacks penetration with his kicks and is not fast enough. Both he and Langdon are too small. 4 1 1 Quote
Ithinkimgawnalever 90 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 19 minutes ago, bing181 said: Oliver, Gawn, Viney, Sparrow, Spargo, ANB, Tomlinson, Chandler all kicked points, zero goals. To be fair Oliver would have kicked a goal if max didn’t palm it into the post 2 1 1 Quote