Won’t it be a sight to see both Kozzie and McAdam both fly from 3 rows deep instead of staying down for the crumb πŸ˜‚

McAdam makes a lot more sense now 😭

Welcome to MFC Shane O-Mac

shane mcmahon wrestling GIF by WWE

On 18/10/2023 at 08:06, Demon Disciple said:

Won’t it be a sight to see both Kozzie and McAdam both fly from 3 rows deep instead of staying down for the crumb πŸ˜‚

We can only hope and let Shane do the flying and Kossie the crumbing!

• 1 month later...

• 5 months later...

From what I saw yesterday, and let's not forget that the opposition was rubbish, the only strategy that McAdam has to win the football is to launch at a pack from 6 deep. 

If he refuses to stay on the ground, play in front and lead at the ball carrier, he should be dropped immediately. 

6 tackles sounds good, but it was because he was led to the ball all day. The key stat is 1 kick on a day where we had 67 inside 50s. We're already carrying Petty, we can't afford two witches hats against decent teams. 

On 27/05/2024 at 01:20, poita said:

From what I saw yesterday, and let's not forget that the opposition was rubbish, the only strategy that McAdam has to win the football is to launch at a pack from 6 deep. 

If he refuses to stay on the ground, play in front and lead at the ball carrier, he should be dropped immediately. 

6 tackles sounds good, but it was because he was led to the ball all day. The key stat is 1 kick on a day where we had 67 inside 50s. We're already carrying Petty, we can't afford two witches hats against decent teams. 

We could have 1000 inside 50’s and I’d still be impressed by any of forwards having more than 1 kick. 

He needs to put the screamers away unless he’s in prime position, but with just the 2 talls (and only 1 in the last quarter) jumping at the ball will be a huge part of his game. 

He’s playing deep forward and getting deep forward to open space for the mids and half forwards to run in to which is our plan - for better or worse. Which means low possessions. 

Personally I’m loving a deep forward willing to attack the ball in the air and especially willing to chase and tackle. Such a refreshing change to having all our deep targets go to the Fritsches Hat.

He does need to do more but I didn’t sense we were down a man at any stage yesterday. 

I'm with @DeeSpencer on this, I love the fact that he attacks it hard in the air. For a guy his size he isn't afraid to crash packs and then apply defensive pressure.

It'll click for him and when it does he'll be a weapon.

I'm on McAdam watch, and I'm super curious on the job description he was brought across from. Got quite a few Frisch-qualities, but there's obviously a reason we've grabbed him. He's definitely short of confidence and maybe some fitness, but we've brought him in for a purpose so we'll definitely persist with him. 

Edited by Viney Vidi Vici

Until Melksham is available i think he plays

Needs to really get fitter imo

Watched him behind the play a bit yesterday, and he looked pretty gassed a number of times, hunched over with hands resting on his knees sucking in some deep breathes. Got to remember limited pre-season, so we might not see the best of Shane this season

McAdam is just β€œout of synch” with his game. He just needs more game time at the moment. He also needs more fitness, we just need some patience in my view 

McAdam needed a month at Casey followed by a half as sub at AFL level.

We're not going well enough to "train up" players at AFL level.

Now it's no mans land. If he's dropped will hit his confidence etc etc

Not a fan

yet to see any of his 'mercurial' qualities

I have noted Kozzie looks for him quite a bit and he is not always the best option.

Edited by jnrmac

On 27/05/2024 at 06:14, jnrmac said:

Not a fan

yet to see any of his 'mercurial' qualities

I have noted Kozzie looks for him quite a bit and he is not always the best option.

Guessing you haven’t watched his highlight reels then. Worth a look. 

Shane is building confidence and confidence is key. In this respect he’s come a long way since December. As Dazzle said (above) it will click for him and when it does he’ll be a weapon. I truly believe this, and more importantly, I think he does too. 

Don’t let’s be quick to write him off.

BTW, kudos to our awesome Steven May who’s taken Shane under his wing. In his words, β€œMaysie looks after me heaps.” Along with confidence - among other things of course -  happiness and a feeling of being settled is critical to success.

edit: forgot to mention… I met Maysie’s mum at Gosch’s on Saturday. She’s so down to earth and it’s clear he takes after her. They even have the same gait, which I found endearing. πŸ₯Ή

Edited by WalkingCivilWar

I am not sure why some are expecting guys to be fully synched with the team/rhythm of AFL footy by week 2 - but it's unrealistic. I think, anyway. It's a new team for Shane, a different strategy, he's been injured. It'll take time for everything to lock. He will. And it'll be awesome. 

Edited by Red But Mostly Blue

Could barely run in the last quarter, totally gassed.

Would be better for both he and Kossie to stay on the ground more and not take mark of the year every pack contest

A lot to like about him though. Good skills and goes hard at it. It will come with game time

I reckon he will come good after the break.

Another couple of games under his belt and block of training over the break and he'll be raring to go against Norf.

On 27/05/2024 at 08:02, Moonshadow said:

Could barely run in the last quarter, totally gassed.

Would be better for both he and Kossie to stay on the ground more and not take mark of the year every pack contest

A lot to like about him though. Good skills and goes hard at it. It will come with game time

Does anyone think that perhaps, just perhaps, it is a coaching instruction/ game plan, that Kozzie and now McAdam launch at the ball in the air? Particularly given it is repeat behaviour that the coaches obviously aren't correcting.

Rather than saying "they need to stay down and crumb" perhaps the direction is "launch and compete in the air to prevent intercept marking, and create a contested ground ball in our forward 50"?

Sure, we need crumbers too. But the crumbers are useless if the ball is marked by the opposition.

Edited by deanox

On 27/05/2024 at 07:05, WalkingCivilWar said:

Shane is building confidence and confidence is key. In this respect he’s come a long way since December. As Dazzle said (above) it will click for him and when it does he’ll be a weapon. I truly believe this, and more importantly, I think he does too. 

Don’t let’s be quick to write him off.

BTW, kudos to our awesome Steven May who’s taken Shane under his wing. In his words, β€œMaysie looks after me heaps.” Along with confidence - among other things of course -  happiness and a feeling of being settled is critical to success.

edit: forgot to mention… I met Maysie’s mum at Gosch’s on Saturday. She’s so down to earth and it’s clear he takes after her. They even have the same gait, which I found endearing. πŸ₯Ή

I find your vignettes like this one of the best things about DL, especially as I’m near Lismore and will never see training!