1964_2 2,357 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 6 minutes ago, Tony Tea said: Buddy was a Dees fan and even during his time at Hawthorn and Sydney he secretly barracked for Melbourne. Or so I heard. Fairytale finish to win a flag for his fav team :- get it done 1 2 Quote
hardtack 11,107 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 1 hour ago, Demon Disciple said: He doesn’t deserves anywhere near 750k, heck, the Swans offer of 500k is generous imo. Yeah, after all, he’s only 11th on the Coleman award ladder and the Swans’ best, with 34; compared to our best, Ben Brown, on 21. Buddy’s not worth much at all 🙄 1 2 Quote
DemonWA 3,941 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 Interesting hypothetical. Can't see it happening. If he leaves the swans it will be for cash. Perhaps AFL will bankroll a move to Norf haha 1 Quote
Rab D Nesbitt 8,966 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 Get Jordy Lewis to have a word in his ear. 2 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 If it was $500k to the Dees wouldn’t even batter an eye but if the ask is 7-8 hungy , then it’s a no for someone who is 36. I wonder if we pickup the phone and say why don’t you come to your home club and help em win a flag. That has to knock 50-100k off the asking price doesn’t it? Quote
1964_2 2,357 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 1 minute ago, CYB said: If it was $500k to the Dees wouldn’t even batter an eye but if the ask is 7-8 hungy , then it’s a no for someone who is 36. I wonder if we pickup the phone and say why don’t you come to your home club and help em win a flag. That has to knock 50-100k off the asking price doesn’t it? Jesinta be the key :- does she want to hit the ground running with her agency while buddy is still playing, in the key football state 3 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 Just now, 1964_2 said: Jesinta be the key :- does she want to hit the ground running with her agency while buddy is still playing, in the key football state I suppose it would depend on whether they would choose to settle in Melbourne if he retired anyway. He earnt enough, shouldn’t be about $$$ anymore. To live your childhood dream - not many footy players would get the chance and to do that whilst in the premiership window! 1 Quote
DEE fence 5,054 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 28 minutes ago, Tony Tea said: Buddy was a Dees fan and even during his time at Hawthorn and Sydney he secretly barracked for Melbourne. Or so I heard. Because I am procrastinating I checked this but Buddy has the (2.5) equal 2nd lowest goal average against us over his career (Geelong is 2.5 as well), and 2.4 versus the Hawks, maybe he has been going soft on us, who would have thought? 3.95 against Essendon actually makes me warm to him quite a bit, I would have been a firm no other wise. Actually the answer is still no, defensive forward pressure is key and he is as bad overhead as Weid is as ATM. 1 1 Quote
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 11 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said: Get Jordy Lewis to have a word in his ear. Nah, get Trac to have a word in his brothers ear to then have a word in Jesinta's ear... 2 1 Quote
Cranky Franky 2,270 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 He should play for free given he barely played for 2 seasons. He failed to deliver a flag for the Swans & it meant they offloaded Toby Nankervis, Mumford & Mitchell to meet their salary cap. Gives away frees & carries on like a sook when they don't pass the ball to him. 1 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,810 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 27 minutes ago, 1964_2 said: Fairytale finish to win a flag for his fav team :- get it done That foot of his only needs to be used a couple of times in a match - it's a high percentage winner, in my book. I'd make him a CHF, to kick goals of course but also, to exploit his mobility, and apply that foot and its accuracy (high, low, fast, slow) to feed Fritta and JSmith deep forward. 1 Quote
Demonstone 23,596 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 Franklin is originally from Perth. I'd be worried about the go home factor if we recruited him. 1 18 Quote
ANG13 2,110 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 One of my favorite players to watch ever unfortunately getting close to the end and just can’t see him leaving Sydney. Quote
John Crow Batty 8,893 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 (edited) We don’t need another key forward who’s only going to play for a season or two. We need one to play for the next decade. We are not Geelong which can top up in perpetuity due to their insane home ground advantage. Edited July 13, 2022 by John Crow Batty Quote
rpfc 29,030 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 Can’t take an overhead mark. Would take McDonald or Amartey tho Quote
monoccular 17,760 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 45 minutes ago, DemonWA said: Interesting hypothetical. Can't see it happening. If he leaves the swans it will be for cash. Perhaps AFL will bankroll a move to Norf haha Don’t know that he would really enjoy Hobart. 🙄 21 minutes ago, Cranky Franky said: He should play for free given he barely played for 2 seasons. He failed to deliver a flag for the Swans & it meant they offloaded Toby Nankervis, Mumford & Mitchell to meet their salary cap. Gives away frees & carries on like a sook when they don't pass the ball to him. “Gives away frees & carries on like a sook when they don't pass the ball to him.” He would really love being a Melbourne forward right now. 😱 Quote
Dave1711 145 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 He grew up a Melbourne supporter, get him to finish his career here and win 2 more flags Quote
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 29 minutes ago, Cranky Franky said: Gives away frees & carries on like a sook when they don't pass the ball to him. Buddy - Frees for 1.6, frees against 1.6 BBB - Frees for 0.7, frees against 1.0 Quote
dl4e 5,851 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 Glad to see the geriatric club is back again. And I thaught it might have finished for the year with Walker. Heck no. Quote
dee-tox 4,835 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 1 hour ago, hardtack said: Yeah, after all, he’s only 11th on the Coleman award ladder and the Swans’ best, with 34; compared to our best, Ben Brown, on 21. Buddy’s not worth much at all 🙄 No, our best is Fritta who also has 34 goals for the season. 1 Quote
DemonSam 171 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 I'd love Buddy, I wish it was last year or the year before.. But you can't have Ben Brown and Buddy in the same forward nice, just not enough physicallity. I pray that North go to Tassie with Clarko at the helm and we in a "club uniting move" bring back Premiership Star Forward Ben Brown, meanwhile Dees pickup Buddy. Also how much are we paying BBB? from what I remember its more than the asking for Buddy? 1 Quote
DubDee 26,682 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 Buddy is a legend but we would need to give him a 2 year deal so he would be 36 and 37yo during the contract. Too much of a risk. Leave it to the likes of the bombers/dogs who are in a position to take a punt on him. We need players that can play consistently Quote
Stiff Arm 4,420 Posted July 13, 2022 Posted July 13, 2022 Management bluff. He won't leave the Swans. AFL won't let it happen. They'll cough up the difference if need be - 'ongoing marketing allowance' 1 1 Quote