Posted
2 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Oh fair enough mate, apologies. 

I genuinely thought you just threw that out as wishful thinking. 

Naughton to Dees is something I would not have expected at all.

I have no idea of your history but thanks for the rumour. 

It's a weird one because we've been so bad for so long you almost don't even consider the club would be appealing for high profile players. 

If Naughton was to leave the Dogs we'd definitely be number 1 on the best options. 

Posted

Naughton would be the dream. Would happily trade what we get from Freo, plus a 2nd rnd pick for him. 

Posted
15 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Are we any chance of luring Buddy for a year or two??

Close to none I would have thought. But Gunstan as a free agent could be a shot.

Theoretical forward line of Gunstan and Naughton would be very exciting with JvR developing.

Posted

Were going to get Lobb when Jackson leaves aren't we?

Posted (edited)

If we can get Naughton then we're still on track to complete The Tiger Dynasty Model:

Win the premiership. 

Lose to the Pies because of a lack of key forwards. Acquire Lynch in the off season

Win the next two premierships

Edited by John Demonic
🤔

Posted
3 hours ago, chook fowler said:

I think you will see from my history that this is not my style. I thought posters would be interested in the rumour but of course it comes with no guarantee except that the source is reliable.

There is a known partying culture at the Dogs - I wonder whether that has anything to do with it. 

Posted

What do people think about Darling?  sounds like he has made a few waves at WC and they may be open to trading him.

has got a big contract which i wouldn't take on, but if they would pay part of it, maybe an option.

just think we need a big marking/crashing forward.  not a Gunston type.  Waterman is another at WC who has a bit of potential but maybe not big enough.

Think the Fwds work chasing and possible of getting are:

Darling - WC 

McLean - Syd (can't get a game)

Hogan - GWS ( would fit nicely i think)

Ratugolea - Geel (can't get a game)

Georgiades - Port (has been dropped 3 times this yr)

Henry - Coll (Dropped, and pies heavily linked to McStay put him further out of favor)

These are the ones id like us to look at,  some will be wanted and contracted by their clubs but still worth a look, Lobb is the other one, but i really don't rate him and he doesn't want to ruck

Posted

First rounder that was in the Jackson/Pickett draft.

I know we certainly showed interest in his draft year. He's an outside players who's got speed and power with a clean kicking skills. 

Had a break out year last year playing wing/half back and received a rising star nomination. 

Could easily slot in on a wing or half back to utilise his kicking skills.

Posted
6 hours ago, Travy14 said:

What do people think about Darling?  sounds like he has made a few waves at WC and they may be open to trading him.

has got a big contract which i wouldn't take on, but if they would pay part of it, maybe an option.

just think we need a big marking/crashing forward.  not a Gunston type.  Waterman is another at WC who has a bit of potential but maybe not big enough.

Think the Fwds work chasing and possible of getting are:

Darling - WC 

McLean - Syd (can't get a game)

Hogan - GWS ( would fit nicely i think)

Ratugolea - Geel (can't get a game)

Georgiades - Port (has been dropped 3 times this yr)

Henry - Coll (Dropped, and pies heavily linked to McStay put him further out of favor)

These are the ones id like us to look at,  some will be wanted and contracted by their clubs but still worth a look, Lobb is the other one, but i really don't rate him and he doesn't want to ruck

Been thinking the same names. 

Geogiades is the most intriguing one for me, he looks a natural forward with his leading patterns and he can mark in contests.

But is he a No 1 forward? 

Henry and McLean I just haven’t seen enough of.

Posted
14 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Have heard a rumour from a good source - A 3 way trade involving Naughton to Demons, Jackson to Freo and Lobbe to the Dogs. Watch this space.

If we lose Jackson?

Would be great to get Naughton, would be a huge addition to our forward line.

Posted
11 hours ago, John Demonic said:

If we can get Naughton then we're still on track to complete The Tiger Dynasty Model:

Win the premiership. 

Lose to the Pies because of a lack of key forwards. Acquire Lynch in the off season

Win the next two premierships

I could live with that 🤷‍♂️

Posted

Finding upgrades on players like ANB, Sparrow, Hibberd, Hunt & Harmes will be as significant to our improvement as grabbing another key fwd

Posted
13 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

naughton would be great - he'd fit right in with some of his misses from directly in front

Having kicked 47.28 I would have him in the blink of an eye

Posted
1 hour ago, rpfc said:

Been thinking the same names. 

Geogiades is the most intriguing one for me, he looks a natural forward with his leading patterns and he can mark in contests.

But is he a No 1 forward? 

Henry and McLean I just haven’t seen enough of.

Georgiades is the player I'd be targeting. JT had him in our sights on draft night, so the interest was there. But unless we change up our game plan of ignoring leading forwards, a player like Georgiades would be under utilised.

It seems like a big bodied, bash and crash style forward is what our coaching dept would want. Not many around, and they generally get banged up.

Posted
2 minutes ago, mo64 said:

Georgiades is the player I'd be targeting. JT had him in our sights on draft night, so the interest was there. But unless we change up our game plan of ignoring leading forwards, a player like Georgiades would be under utilised.

It seems like a big bodied, bash and crash style forward is what our coaching dept would want. Not many around, and they generally get banged up.

Yes, unfortunately, I agree.

If that is what we continue to value, we shouldn’t bother getting a younger player, we should just target mature bodies and [censored] them for three years like we are doing with Brown.

Posted (edited)

I watched plenty of Mclean in his draft year, he's not the answer for us.

Would be fine as a developing backup, but there's a reason he went in the rookie draft and not the national.

A fair bit behind the other key forwards of his year due to weaknesses as a player and not missed footy/injury.

Edited by JimmyGadson
Posted
15 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Have heard a rumour from a good source - A 3 way trade involving Naughton to Demons, Jackson to Freo and Lobbe to the Dogs. Watch this space.

My wife’s convinced that she heard the commentary team mention something about Naughton leaving during the Dogs Dockers game yesterday. I missed it and it was well before I read @chook fowler’s post.

He’d certainly improve our forward line in multiple areas. Naughton’s contested marking is much publicised, but he is mobile and good with fwd pressure as well. Could the Dogs afford to lose him with JUH & Darcy being the part of the future fwd line?

Posted
14 hours ago, chook fowler said:

I think you will see from my history that this is not my style. I thought posters would be interested in the rumour but of course it comes with no guarantee except that the source is reliable.

I hope you’re right! 

We won’t lose a game for 4 years with Naughton as our key forward 

Posted

The Naughton talk is interesting. 

I hate this time of year because I'm always let down when we're linked with a player we inevitably don't get. 

It's hard to believe Naughton would leave the dogs and come to us. 

But if he did, good God. We'd be laughing.