Posted

Gil mc-laugh-lan said they could have Kangas play Dees on a Wednesday in between round 11 and 12 in Cairns.  
Gil said he’d hope for a wet night to really screw the demons over, just like last year !! 

• Haha 5
  • Angry 3

Posted (edited)
6 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

We’ve played there 3 times and lost all of them by under a goal.

There for all 3 and BBB a reason we have lost. He knows the ground and the wind there and has been very accurate.

He holds the the record for most goals kicked at Bellerive Oval @ 35

Edited by dworship

Posted
3 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Gil mc-laugh-lan said they could have Kangas play Dees on a Wednesday in between round 11 and 12 in Cairns.  
Gil said he’d hope for a wet night to really screw the demons over, just like last year !! 

And of course he would arrange a flight, via Perth and Darwin, in a Dash8, that arrives just minutes before the bounce. ??

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, dworship said:

There for all 3 and BBB a reason we have lost. He knows the ground and the wind there and has been very accurate.

He holds the the record for most goals kicked at Bellerive Oval @ 35

He must play this week. This is a danger game. Make no mistake. The exact sort of game that a team sitting pretty at 6-0 would not take seriously and drop. Especially at that weird ground with the weird wind tunnels. 
A fresh and hungry Ben Brown could turn this. 

On a side note, when will the AFL stop shafting us and send us to play at these dumps? Tassie. Geelong. Just a joke. 

Edited by Jaded
Posted (edited)
27 minutes ago, Jaded said:

On a side note, when will the AFL stop shafting us and send us to play at these dumps? Tassie. Geelong. Just a joke. 

When we have 70,000 members who turn up every week, play good footy and matter.

Edited by buck_nekkid

Posted
11 hours ago, buck_nekkid said:

When we have 70,000 members who turn up every week, play good footy and matter.

We need to try and lock away a marquee event game against the Cats so we don't have to travel there. Something between May-July so it's only one meeting. Maybe a "Foundation Club" event, Friday night, round 12-13, MCG. 

Additionally, until we stop selling our own home games we'll continue getting sent down the highway and over the bay.

Also, Norf should be campaigning to host high drawing clubs to Tassie. Melbourne supporters are heavily concentrated in Melbourne. North gain nothing hosting Melbourne, they are not only relying on their own supporters going to Tassie but also Melbourne. No reason why the Pies or Blues couldn't go there for an away game. Similar to how we campaigned the league for us to host the WA, SA or Brisbane in NT knowing those teams tend to have strong support there, thus pulling a better crowd.

Posted

Haven't read through the whole thread, but has there actually been talk from the AFL that this game could potentially move? I haven't seen anything to suggest otherwise?

Posted
18 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Haven't read through the whole thread, but has there actually been talk from the AFL that this game could potentially move? I haven't seen anything to suggest otherwise?

Dazzle, Covid restrictions suggested the Roos might be locked out of tassie because they were in Perth.  Reschedule potentially at Marvel.  Seems to have been dealt with (Roos back in mini bubble) and we will play in Antarctica as planned.

Posted

North have just reported all their players and staff have returned negative results.

One pundit on Twitter asked whether they'd tested negative for talent ?

• Haha 11

Posted
1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Looking likely To move the game  but nothing official yet. 

Posted
55 minutes ago, defuture15 said:

Does this also mean no crowd like in Perth?

Would hope not, it's only North who have been to the "Hotspot" of WA. I would imagine the Tas Government would be keen to have as many tourist dollars as possible come across the straight. Mrs DW and I are taking a mini break of 5 days down there and are going regardless and I don't see the difference in going to the Salamanca Market on Saturday morning compared to attending a footy match.

Posted
1 minute ago, DubDee said:

Looking likely To move the game  but nothing official yet. 

Surely they'll need to make a call soon, as tickets go on sale at 10am tomorrow and it looks like members of that ground are already able to purchase tickets. 

Posted

I can see this game being moved.  Premier Gutwein is second only to McGowan in terms of slamming the moat shut when there's a whiff of COVID in the air.  He would cop a fair bit of backlash and accusations of hypocrisy and favouritism if he allows a football team that has just been to Perth into the state when there'd be families who've had loved ones had to cancel their trips over here for the same reason.  There's an election coming up and he wouldn't want to put himself in the news for any of the wrong reasons.

I'll watch on with interest.

Also, just because we've lost here doesn't make Bellerive Oval a dump.  The fact it is a venue that hosts AFL and international cricket matches and it doesn't have a car park makes it a dump.  Surface is looking good at the moment though as is the weather.

Posted
14 minutes ago, Jaded said:

Surely they'll need to make a call soon, as tickets go on sale at 10am tomorrow and it looks like members of that ground are already able to purchase tickets. 

I guess they are waiting a call from the WA government right now they are hinting that they might extend lockdown, if it is extended I presume the game will be moved. 

Posted

Should go ahead in Tas IMHO. Massive overreaction North landed in Perth Friday after lockdown was announced so would have remained under lockdown conditions until they played at an empty stadium returned to lockdown and flew home the next morning. The odds of them contacting covid would be lower than the earth getting hit by a meteorite twice this week.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

Should go ahead in Tas IMHO. Massive overreaction North landed in Perth Friday after lockdown was announced so would have remained under lockdown conditions until they played at an empty stadium returned to lockdown and flew home the next morning. The odds of them contacting covid would be lower than the earth getting hit by a meteorite twice this week.

All lockdowns have been an overreaction to some degree but that's the world we live in right now. Would seem at odds with the lockdown philosophy for the game to stay in Tassie. Agree it is silly and the game *should* be there but from a political optics POV I can't see how they permit it.

Posted
29 minutes ago, deeTRACted said:

I guess they are waiting a call from the WA government right now they are hinting that they might extend lockdown, if it is extended I presume the game will be moved. 

The WA Govt are not involved any more!

Norh have received permission to fly home and have already arrived. The Vic Govt  have asked them to isolate for 2 weeks but Players can train together at appointed times.

The next  decision is up to The Tasmanian Govt. and AFL negotiating an outcome. 

The advice from Dub Dee in this  forum that the game may be moved is HIS opinion only based on no firm evidence from Authorities who are trying to ensure  that the game go ahead at Blundstone on Sunday.

Too much money hinges on this for the State and AFL has to come up with a safe Covid plan so that the fixture will proceed.

Some awaiting for advice of a change in location are no more informed and the longer silence is continued is an indication that the arrangements will remain as per the fixture,

Posted
3 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

4 options:

• bellerive with crowd
  • bellerive no crowd
  • marvel with crowd
  • marvel no crowd

no-one knows yet

If Collingwood were able to play in front of a crowd yesterday after being in Perth during the red zone period, I can't see any reason for the game to be played in Melbourne without a crowd.

If North returns negative tests all round, then we play here in front of a crowd if, but only if, Tasmania says they're not allowed in. If they're allowed in then we go to Tassie and the crowd situation depends on the Tasmanian government.

There was no crowd at Optus Stadium because of the Perth lockdown, not because of North.

Posted

I think the most likely outcome is we play them at Marvel and they move one of North's home games later in the season to Tassie. 

Posted

<hubris mode>

Gee no crowd at Marvel could get ugly for North.

Without the cries and rending of clothes in lamentation by their fans at the ground we will be able to hear each other better.

</hubris mode>