Posted

Looking at this Clio you would think he's a 100 game veteran.  Ridiculously clean and his awareness is quite impressive as well.

Posted

Enjoyed that video, liked seeing him receive the ball, distribute it and then an initial burst of speed to get into a new position/space to help progress the play. We're often a bit static at times so it was good to see. 

Posted
12 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Looking at this Clio you would think he's a 100 game veteran.  Ridiculously clean and his awareness is quite impressive as well.

What a sheer delight to watch his skill. Thanks for posting!

Posted
12 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

What a sheer delight to watch his skill. Thanks for posting!

Actually his handpassing is out of the Clarry Oliver School of Ball Movement.

Would  even say the passes are a bit cleaner in delivery to be honest!!! 

Posted
On 4/30/2021 at 3:04 PM, Sydney_Demon said:

He's playing well for Casey but I agree we need to give him some time. Same with Laurie (currently injured) and Rosman.

I reckon we've nailed the draft the last couple of years. All 3 2019 draftees (admittedly Jackson & Pickett were Picks 3 & 12) in the best 22. We can't expect the same results with lower picks in 2020, especially with the lack of revealed form because of COVID, but I like the fact we're picking the best available players with an emphasis on skills and with upsides. Fraser Rosman could be anything in a few years and we got him at Pick 34.

Rosman was a great pick-up full of some assured potential - given some adaptive time in the big time. 

Laurie cannot fail to impress, as well.

Each is a smokey adapting to a team game. The beautiful realisation is that there are several more of this type in situ.

Posted
53 minutes ago, roy11 said:

Enjoyed that video, liked seeing him receive the ball, distribute it and then an initial burst of speed to get into a new position/space to help progress the play. We're often a bit static at times so it was good to see. 

What I have seen of him is reminicent of Greg Wells' array of skills. That'll do me!

Posted

Thanks for the video post. One thing noticeable that he does in almost every instance is execute to the advantage of the other player, into space or away from the contest.

Hard to teach to do that instinctively.  (Dusty is amazing at it)  Even his deep entry into fifty, he recognized it was a one on one with the demons player having the back position so a hard deep ball was the best option. Didnt quite come off but the intent was there.

His kick is more penetrating than Salem's too so i'd prefer him as high up the ground as possible.  Ben Brown is going to have a field day with Bowey kicking it to his advantage. 

Posted
4 hours ago, Luther said:

Can't disagree with that. I could also see Bowey shifting to a wing over time. 

Edit: meant to say Bowey to the wing, not Riv. Though that could also work!

Bowey on a wing and also mini runs through the centre will be seen in the coming years.

Posted

The kick inside 50 about 40 seconds into that clip is what got me excited. Been years since we’ve had a player like Trapper or Yze nailing low bullet passes to a target inside 50 amongst traffic. That was beautiful and something we lack; elite decision making and kicking skills. Very exciting!

Posted
2 hours ago, Jjrogan said:

Thanks for the video post. One thing noticeable that he does in almost every instance is execute to the advantage of the other player, into space or away from the contest.

Hard to teach to do that instinctively.  (Dusty is amazing at it)  Even his deep entry into fifty, he recognized it was a one on one with the demons player having the back position so a hard deep ball was the best option. Didnt quite come off but the intent was there.

His kick is more penetrating than Salem's too so i'd prefer him as high up the ground as possible.  Ben Brown is going to have a field day with Bowey kicking it to his advantage. 

He kicks them so flatly, doesn't he? I loved seeing him burst off half back in space and onto the wing. Kicked it perfectly to Brown's advantage, who probably should have marked it.

It's exciting having all these good kicks in the back half all of a sudden. Hunt is the only iffy kick back there, which may well cost him a spot to Jake in the end.

Posted
1 hour ago, Jjrogan said:

The best kicks do this. Weight the ball to their teammates advantage.

Up to about the late 90s i reckon this skill was standard for most players in the AFL. Even the average kick. Footy 101.

One of my great frustrations of following the dees in the last 20 odd years is how few of our players have had this fundamentall skill.

Posted
15 minutes ago, Hell Bent said:

Only Clarry has had a better first 2 games that I can remember EVER!

Jordan Gysberts' first two games were outstanding, but I get the feeling that Bowza might just have the edge over him in the long run.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

Jordan Gysberts' first two games were outstanding, but I get the feeling that Bowza might just have the edge over him in the long run.

Yeah that’s true, good call

Faded into obscurity from his 3rd game though! Can’t see that happening with this kid!

Posted
21 hours ago, Baghdad Bob said:

Exactly the opposite. He got a great lesson that cost nothing. Getting a lesson when you win is the best lesson you can get  

I’m thrilled it happened. 

Great post mate,

that’s the problem with playing in defence, you make one mistake and it’s a goal.  That’s why I am so impressed with Bowey and Rivers, they’re first year players holding there own in a top team.

That low ball get and spin out of traffic at pace was something else.

Taylor can sure pick a talented red head!.

Posted
On 8/10/2021 at 9:40 AM, Lord Travis said:

He’s so clean and is finding ball already. Had an amazing take at pace under pressure at one point. His kicking is delightful too. That pass inside 50 to setup Jackson’s mark and set shot was pure class - low, penetrating and perfect ball spin. 

Love the kid. Just needs to stay healthy and he’ll be a ripper for us.

I don't think it will be long b4 Laurie joins him in the seniors. Bailey Laurie has composure and a beautiful sidestep. Would love him in the side, reckon he'd be there except for injury. In my opinion he is an upgrade of ANB.

Posted

Had that one beautiful kick inside 50 that was probably for Sparrow and sharked by Jackson but otherwise a lot of his kicks were more in to space and safe rather than pulling the trigger. I'm not complaining about that, it's absolutely the right thing to do in your second game but I reckon he's just getting warmed up when it comes to kicking.

The quick hands jump off the screen and he's looked very willing in the contest for a small bloke, it's great to see.

Posted

Reading the early views of his initial listing to the club. "Too small" was the call from a few posters. No way, he is going to be great for us over many many seasons. What composure.

I remember early comments about Clarry saying that he was a surprise selection and was a poor choice. How wrong were they? Clarry is an out and out champion. Cant believe the things he can do with that piece of leather. Would be a very worthy Brownlow Medallist.

Posted
8 hours ago, Paulo said:

Rising star 2022

Get on now 

I've been thinking the same. I just hope he doesn't get nominated this year so he flys under the radar and we get better odds.

I won't be able to put it on with crown bet who banned me after I bet on Oliver in his 2nd season to get most votes for Melbourne in the brownlow at 100-1 and loaded up on it.

Posted
18 hours ago, 58er said:

That's because he has probably played about 99 % of his AFL career in defence.

But  when he has the ball he always tries to turn defence into some attacking move gif the team.

Even  if he only kicked the ball himself he can roost it an absolute 50m minimum mostly longer though sometimes over 60m.

Salo and Bowey are classy players and as you said instinct is very much part of their skill set which sets up play downfield in an attacking flair for our forwards mids and on ballers.

I want to see Salem kicking the ball longer and stop the Hollywood no look handballs...

Posted

This guy is a serious find. Skilled, very good, a precise, penetrating kick (very good  length for his size), good overhead.  Just classy in general.  And very quick - in reaction time by hand, and by foot over the ground. Given that speed the small stature not such liability.  He's  light now, but he'll thicken out with a couple more pre-season. 

So another to add to Jordon, Jackson, Pickett, Rivers, Petty.  A rich vein. 

Posted
15 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

I want to see Salem kicking the ball longer and stop the Hollywood no look handballs...

Totally agree with the no look handballs, but I’m very happy with the short kicks. Watch how often he has surveyed his options before he gets the ball and finds a short option under high pressure. This happens so often I’m sure it’s a team strategy to get the ball in his hands when we are in high pressure situations.