Posted

I’m going with the saying “Things are never as bad as they seem.” Think (hope) we may actually turn it on for a couple of quarters and roll the Tigers. TMc to find form and clunk a few. May and Lever to find their vibe. Oliver to play his best game for the year. We have some serious talent, just need for them to play near their best.

Posted (edited)

Dees by 3 goals.

If we want to stay relevant, and then today we make a statement and win.

Go dees.

Posted

We need to win this one or it's getting very close to goodbye finals.

Unfortunately, my totally despondent and bitter self just does not see it happening! 

Last week's side could only manage an under 14's score. What has changed?

This season has been [censored] up but that doesn't account for the fact that two problems that continually plague us remain. These are - The inability to play 4 ( even shortened) quarters of decent footy and the inability to turn inside 50's into scores.

How or why is it going to change today?

Bah! I'm so depressed, I can't even be bothered giving the maid a jolly good thrashing.

Posted

It’s rare in my 50 yrs following the Demons that I’d come into a game vs the reigning premier and think we’re a chance to win... especially after finishing 17the the year before. 
So something must be brewing and hopefully the boys bring it today and repay the faith.

Go Demons!

Posted

I think I’ll wash the boat today. 

Posted
41 minutes ago, PaulRB said:

It’s rare in my 50 yrs following the Demons that I’d come into a game vs the reigning premier and think we’re a chance to win... especially after finishing 17the the year before. 
So something must be brewing and hopefully the boys bring it today and repay the faith.

Go Demons!

yes it's easy to be confident when your opposition is missing a bunch of players. 

Posted

Having flicked between the two games last night, I wonder how many of our bash and crashers (Viney, Harmsey et al) will be pinged for holding the ball under Commissioner Clarkson’s new edict. More importantly, I wonder how far into the game it will be until our collective unit realise there has been a change? Maybe just pre-game pessimism, but surely the time has come to find the “connection” that has been missing for so long. Go Dees.

Posted (edited)

Finding it so hard to be excited about this rubbish season.  Was starting get some interest back before the Carlton game, but since then we have had, our lackluster second half against the blues, the Essendon debacle and last week's rubbish against Geelong.

I'm sure the lack of continuity has hurt us, as has the shortened games.  For now I'm back to a position where I care little about the individual game results or where we finish in this near meaningless season overall.  But I do hope to see progress on our system and ball movement, so if we can stitch together at least a few quarters of really good footy against the Tigers today and take in the game a bit more with some dare, I think I'll consider that a win.  Would be good to see our boys get back some mojo as it seems like they are playing in a careful reserved maner, to scared to stuff up rather than playing with confidence in their ability right now.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter
Posted

Can see you kicking 5 goals for the game. It’ll be a horrible game and tigers pull away late in the 3rd

but I’ll still be watching on the off chance we decide to implement a game plan

Posted

I don’t know what to expect, from either team.  I know we are working on our style and connection, but I really want to see effort converted into something valuable - maybe scoreboard action!  This feels make or break, although it is so early in a disrupted season.  Go Dees!  A few tins in front of the telly this arvo to see us home - my guess by 22 points

Posted
22 minutes ago, jumbo returns said:

V wet in Melb today - it will be a slog

perfect. at least now we have an excuse for not scoring.

Posted

Our form is rank.

We dont need to tank

Reckon we'll get spanked. 

Take it to the bank.

Posted (edited)

No goalless quarters, consistent effort across the entire game and we might see a win today. Also depends on the C word when moving the ball. Let’s see.

Keen to see where Harmes starts today. In the first half last week he started forward a few times, possibly tagging a runner from the Cats’ defence. 

Edited by Dee Zephyr

Posted
42 minutes ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

For now I'm back to a position where I care little about the individual game results or where we finish in this near meaningless season overall.  But I do hope to see progress on our system and ball movement, so if we can stitch together at least a few quarters of really good footy against the Tigers today and take in the game a bit more with some dare, I think I'll consider that a win. 

Good summation of what would be very nice to expect. The gloss is almost off this season for the Dees; let's use what is left and whoever is available to cement good practices, improved skills and thinking/decisions, better teamwork and a realisation of how these factors translate to being 'winning scores'. I am happy to now regard this season as an exercise (yet another) in across-the-field improvement when stuck in a scenario of 'no-one has a clue' management and deployment. 

Posted

Get ready for a hammering. The only thing that could beat richmond today is richmond.

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Dees by 3 goals.

If we want to stay relevant, and then today we make a statement and win.

Go dees.

We already aren't. Most of the media coverage I've seen has been about Richmond needing to find form again. We barely cling to relevance as it is and our listless performances thus far have buried us almost out of sight again.

Posted (edited)
34 minutes ago, ding said:

Our form is rank.

We dont need to tank

Take it to the bank.

I watched the other games and our brand of footy is not going to take us very far this year. 
It’s as simple as that. 

Edited by McQueen
Posted

The only meaningful contest today will be doomsayers versus turd polishers in the post game thread. 

• Haha 7
Posted (edited)
15 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

We already aren't. Most of the media coverage I've seen has been about Richmond needing to find form again. We barely cling to relevance as it is and our listless performances thus far have buried us almost out of sight again.

Well I've gotta say something positive.. certain individuals on here will find a way to have a crack at me for being far too negative and that I should just trust 'Goody'..

In saying all that, I agree with everything that you have noted above. Right at this stage we stand for absolutely nothing.

Posted
45 minutes ago, ding said:

Our form is rank.

We dont need to tank

Take it to the bank.

That was very frank.