4 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

My suspicion is that those people actually only think there are three (ie, no ABC or SBS). 

Could be, but the figures show a massive drop off between 7 & 7mate, even with a set top box  Some people just don’t go there

3 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

If I had the option of going to the game I’d go in a heartbeat. You Melbournians are a bunch of whinging spoilt brats, this game isn’t about you or your feelings or how hard you think you’re done by because we were outplayed last weekend. By all means stay at home and sip your turmeric chai activated almond milk latte while eating gluten-free lentil pasta with charcoal enriched kale crumbed organic tofu. It’s an honour the team gets to play Anzac Eve, go and support them. Case closed. 

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm ..... that sounds alright.

My mind is made up. Who wants a spare ticket?

True Melbourne supporters would know that because we got thrashed last week, weirdly we are more of a chance to play well this week.

Besides this game is very special, and the pre-match ceremony alone is worth going for.

Lucky I work in Collingwood, because trains will be a nightmare and there's no parking. Uber from work it is. 

Get there early if you are going. Getting into the ground last year was a drainer. 

Not only is there the 7Mate issue (to be honest it would be better after all these years if it had its own moniker eg ch 77 or the like) but we have to compete with the prime time show on the main channel 7.

Every little bit hurts..

PS if you get a chance watch the last 20 odd laps of last weeks Chinese GP. A spectacular drive by Ricciardo  ... perhaps his best

Edited by Diamond_Jim

Anyone who can go but chooses not to is doing a great disservice to the club. If we want these blockbusters and to be treated like we matter by the AFL then it is on the supporters to actually turn up and support.

We need to get over 80k, preferably over 85k again. 

41 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Anyone who can go but chooses not to is doing a great disservice to the club. If we want these blockbusters and to be treated like we matter by the AFL then it is on the supporters to actually turn up and support.

Agree Dr G this game and QB are our chance (along with continued improvement) to be a destination club.

I'm heading over for this and can't wait 

Nah I suspect a good crowd will turn up. Yes the majority will probably be richmond but I still think melbourne fans will show up because of the occasion.

Same as ANZAC Day no matter where essendon and collingwood are on the ladder there supporters will show up because of the day and what its all about. 

4 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Nah I suspect a good crowd will turn up. Yes the majority will probably be richmond but I still think melbourne fans will show up because of the occasion.

Same as ANZAC Day no matter where essendon and collingwood are on the ladder there supporters will show up because of the day and what its all about. 

I hope so - it seems GA, AFL Members and MCC reserved seats are mostly sold out so the only spots left would be Melbourne membership reserved areas and MCC walk up. 

I bought my tickets weeks ago, bottom level southern stand wing and I'll be cheering and hopefully giving it to the Richmond supporters around us as we tear them apart

5 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Agree.

It wouldn't surprise me if the same people who choose not to go to the game are the ones who whinge about the club not doing enough to lobby the AFL at fixturing time for more prime time games.

However, if the crowd isn't as big as last year I suspect the real reason for the drop off will be neutral supporters being less interested than they might have been if we were 3-1 or if we hadn't been abysmal last week.

Can we all stop with the self pity? Get there. Get loud and support. That is our role. 

The “woe is me” attitude is embarrassing. 

Yes they were poor but lighten up. They have a great chance on a big stage to upset the premier. 

What a win it would be....

11 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

It’s an honour the team gets to play Anzac Eve, go and support them. Case closed. 

100%.
Great speech William Wallace.

18 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

You are Kidding!!!

ch7 are so cheap and nasty ? 

MKR & Chanel 7....a match made in heaven!

On 18/04/2018 at 4:19 PM, hemingway said:

And the vast majority will be Tiger fans.

They are becoming unbearable.

The CAKE WALK SONG is taken over by the Tigers and the Magpies are fuming. The bone has been pointed at them. However be prepared Tigers ! Your luck will run out.

Ok I feel bad that I said I wasn’t going and after reading some of the comments on here, so [censored] it I’m going now 

18 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Not only is there the 7Mate issue (to be honest it would be better after all these years if it had its own moniker eg ch 77 or the like) but we have to compete with the prime time show on the main channel 7.

Every little bit hurts..

PS if you get a chance watch the last 20 odd laps of last weeks Chinese GP. A spectacular drive by Ricciardo  ... perhaps his best

What channel was that on?

I'm hoping we get about a similar crowd to last year but I do feel the loss on Sunday could cost us 3000-5000 people, even worse though is if we put in the same display as we did last weekend vs the Tigers. Getting thumped on Sunday arvo is one thing, getting thumped in a marquee game will be a disaster for PJ and Bartlett trying to promote our club.

They'd better be setting themselves for a big night.

Aside from the result last year, it was a great night and anybody who chooses not to turn up is as pizzweak as the team was on Sunday.

That said, I suspect the crowd will be closer to 65K. We will lose a few off the top with Richmond 11 game members not getting entry this year, and then a few more for soft Melbourne types not turning up. Anything over 70K would be a great result in my eyes.

13 minutes ago, poita said:

Aside from the result last year, it was a great night and anybody who chooses not to turn up is as pizzweak as the team was on Sunday.

That said, I suspect the crowd will be closer to 65K. We will lose a few off the top with Richmond 11 game members not getting entry this year, and then a few more for soft Melbourne types not turning up. Anything over 70K would be a great result in my eyes.

No way, it will be over 80k easily 

If it were a Richmond home game you'd be looking at 90K as most their members would get in for free. 

A Melbourne home game will certainly get less. Tipping 75-82K.

As an aside, hosting Richmond has cost us one less overall game at the MCG than last year. Last year we played 12 (9 home and 3 away). This year we play 11 (9 home and 2 away).

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

• Author

Good news - the MCC has revised its estimate and is now predicting 85,000, up from 82,000 yesterday. 

So it looks like my OP has had the desired effect and this thread has been a huge success. 

For the record, last year's game (85,657) was the largest home-and-away crowd we've drawn since 1964 (86,664), and the largest ever for a Melbourne-Richmond game. Would be great to top those and set some new records on Tuesday. 

After all the years in the wilderness when we were irrelevant to the competition and never played in a game of consequence, it's so good to be front and square again on the big stage.

Hope we turn it on and produce our best, most exciting footy.  

Edited by Grapeviney

You were on the money Grape. I was at the game and thought we were horribly outnumbered last night considering it was our home game. 77k is a great crowd but 10k short of what it should have been on a beautiful night for footy. 

85k last year 

Will leave a lot of unsold chips, beers, pies and future memberships.