12 minutes ago, Deestar9 said:

Apparently broken orbital bone ..2-4months

OMG poor Steven, how painful would that be?

1 minute ago, JTR said:

Where was this said, out of interest?

Robertson was speaking to Lever on the ground after the game and said it was just a cut, he's off at hospital getting stitches and will be fine.

I like this version of the story much better than the 2-4 months. 

Let’s hope Lever is right. 

Sorry, Robertson said it to Lever.

But yes,.obviously a much better outcome, even with 12 day concussion break, if needed.

20 minutes ago, Deestar9 said:

Apparently broken orbital bone ..2-4months

wow that's an awful outcome

coach in the presser said he was being assessed but he'd definitely be out 'weeks'

I assume we will know more tomorrow. They probably need to wait for the swelling to go down and then do some more scans. Fingers crossed it’s not too bad. 

34 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

I like this version of the story much better than the 2-4 months. 

Let’s hope Lever is right. 

It was reported off a news feed which is why i prefaced it with “apparently” however Dermie  also alluded to the fact that he hoped it wasn’t a broken eye socket with the amount of bleeding. Not on here to score points ..I would be devastated if he misses weeks but would think if it was a couple of stitches ..they could have possibly done that at the ground. Let’s hope for the best possible outcome.

The swelling and reaction from May were both absolutely awful. I would not be surprised if the 2-4 months turns out to be true.

Sheeit could also be season ending?? lets hope not!

To see a guy as tough as Steven May go down the way he did was shocking. A terrible injury that would have his family worried as hell. It's not always about the teams guys and girls. Hoping that the news is good for the May family.

As much as Tom Hawkins [censored] me, and as much as I want to see someone serve time for Mays injury, I just can't help but think it was just a (careless) accident. 

Will watch the outcome with interest.

4 hours ago, GCDee said:

I'm not trying to be smart here but did you watch it from a few angles? 

He hand balls the ball at waist height, why was there a need to elevate his left arm anywhere near his head with sufficient force to fracture his eye socket? If he was trying to break his fall for a potential tackle his arm would have gone downwards to limit the impact. 

Tom has a history of this [censored]. He is a dirty player and IMO he took an opportunity to give one to May here. It just all doesn't add up why his arm goes up, and seems to accelerate towards May. 

I’ll be honest I haven’t seen all the angles and I definitely agree that Hawkins is a dirty player. 

5 hours ago, JTR said:

Sorry, Robertson said it to Lever.

But yes,.obviously a much better outcome, even with 12 day concussion break, if needed.

How would either of them have known? They were at the G, May was in hospital and Lever in particular up to that point had been a bit preoccupied with something else. I doubt they had anything more than guesswork or third hand information to go off. Goodwin certainly didn’t know with certainty in the press conference.

4 hours ago, faultydet said:

As much as Tom Hawkins [censored] me, and as much as I want to see someone serve time for Mays injury, I just can't help but think it was just a (careless) accident. 

Will watch the outcome with interest.

Indeed. I don’t doubt it was accidental, but as you said, it was careless, which to me implies avoidable, and the injury appears to have been severe. I think Hawkins should be facing suspension.

Edit: according to the MRP guidelines, it would fall under the “unreasonable contact to the face” offence, graded “careless”, impact “severe” (or at the very least “high”), contact “high” (as opposed to body), which carries a penalty of 3+ weeks, or 2 if it gets graded as high instead of severe.

7 hours ago, Earl Hood said:

I am reminded of Steven King’s wild boot swing at a loose ball back in 2005?, you know the boot that rearranged Jeff White’s face and he needed substantial facial reconstruction. That was deemed accidental, could happen to anyone! Well we all know it was reckless, high contact and severe impact and should have incurred several weeks suspension. Now we have Hawkins who does dish out a lot of damage because he is so big and strong. I would like the AFL to at least have a good look at this one. Throwing your arms around indiscriminately doesn’t mean you aren’t responsible for the outcome of your actions! 

Another reason why you need female commentators. On Fox the female commentator  rightly described the incident as a 'rogue elbow', only to see the cavalry arrive with Brian Taylor and good old afl.com au rush in with the accidental elbow line. Compare this with the Neville Jetta dangerous tackle decision. The AFL are either protecting the head or they are not.

37 minutes ago, bush demon said:

Another reason why you need female commentators. On Fox the female commentator  rightly described the incident as a 'rogue elbow', only to see the cavalry arrive with Brian Taylor and good old afl.com au rush in with the accidental elbow line. Compare this with the Neville Jetta dangerous tackle decision. The AFL are either protecting the head or they are not.

Gender shouldn't come into competency. We need good commentators irrespective of anything. 

2 hours ago, KingDingAling said:

Gender shouldn't come into competency. We need good commentators irrespective of anything. 

It shouldn't, that's the problem. FWIW I find Brian to be a funny and entertaining presenter. It's just that he presents an old guard view on this topic, and my example presented some necessary truth-telling. 

11 minutes ago, bush demon said:

It shouldn't, that's the problem. FWIW I find Brian to be a funny and entertaining presenter. It's just that he presents an old guard view on this topic, and my example presented some necessary truth-telling. 

Fox Footy commentators probably would have called it the same way (ie. a rogue elbow). On FTA you're going to get hyperbolic language because it's prime time. They want to rile people up and get people talking.

Edited by praha

I reckon there's absolutely nothing to what Hawkins did and IMO if it wasn't a Melbourne player on the receiving end, and possibly if it was anyone other than Hawkins, not a single person would be suggesting otherwise.

10 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

A) Tom's kicking. B) Tom's limited lateral mobility. C) Tom's marking runs very hot and cold. D-Z) Tom's kicking.

He's a forward and will stay in the side until Brown and/or Weid have earned their spots. After that we might try him on a wing where his tank creates mismatches, but not the backline.

I'd say Kicking, then the fact that he hasn't trained as part of our defence, then what you've said.

We are stifling teams' ability to score because of how we set up in our back half. TMac's done nothing to work on that all summer. Petty and Hibberd have.

8 hours ago, Chook said:

The swelling and reaction from May were both absolutely awful. I would not be surprised if the 2-4 months turns out to be true.

Agree, I also thought I could see some depression in that area. 

It looked as bad as you could get from an elbow to the eye and I'm expecting a long lay off. 

It looked horrendous up close. 

Ah man, that sucks, fingers crossed it weeks rather than months, but it did look a nasty one. All the best Maysie, he is playing some amazing footy these last 18 months.

After Gawn, he is the last player we want injured as he is irreplaceable 

im not feeling confident about the prognosis. Just a feeling but I’d be staggered if he was back within 6 weeks. 

others need to step up - if one injury impacts your season, you never had a season

Steven May was released from hospital last night.