Posted
2 hours ago, whatwhatsaywhat said:

was very good today i thought

what're the odds the mrp suspend him for the high hit on walters tho?

Surely not, it wasn't even high and shouldn't have even been a free kick.

On that basis, 3 weeks with an early plea.

Posted
2 hours ago, Tony Tea said:

Not that Frosty and freewheeling are comfortable bedfellows.

Funny, I've always thought of Frost as being a bit of a free wheel. Or was that... loose wheel? :D

(I should put out a tips jar)

Posted

Some of his kicks yesterday were bullets.

But we always seem to play our best footy when Hogan is injured so let’s see how he goes next week.

• Haha 5
Posted

A key defender with speed and great kicking skills. I realised watching the replay back how much we needed him. Also has obvious leadership. Always directing players in the back half. 

Posted (edited)
48 minutes ago, Hunt29 said:

A key defender with speed and great kicking skills. I realised watching the replay back how much we needed him. Also has obvious leadership. Always directing players in the back half. 

Best key defender we have had since.....  I cant even recall.    Possibly since Neitz was playing as a CHB.

edit -    since James Frawleys AA season

Edited by Petraccattack

Posted
4 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

Best key defender we have had since.....  I cant even recall.    Possibly since Neitz was playing as a CHB.

edit -    since James Frawleys AA season

Agreed but He’s going to be way better than Frawley imo. Much better awareness and kicking.

Posted
Just now, Wells 11 said:

Agreed but He’s going to be way better than Frawley imo. Much better awareness and kicking.

Yup.  And if Lever can get his body right, he will be the best defender we have had in eons.   Special player.

Posted

Watching him live from the vantage point of the Redlegs for the first time I have to say he hits the contest with terrifying power and intensity....provided he stays on the right side of suspensions he is going to scare the hell out of a lot of forwards playing for us

Posted

Agreed Sisso watching him up close he has that bit of class that we have been missing since Frawley bailed on us and a powerful unit at that. What a pick up. 

Posted

Copped his right whack for arriving at the club underdone, head down bum up and now he’s earning the respect of teammates, coaches and supporters. Shows character. Great to see. Maysie is going to prove an excellent list management decision. That combination of height, strength, speed, skill and oh yes mongrel is not easily acquired. He will make the whole group walk a bit taller on match day.

Posted

I never bought in to the hysteria surrounding May's poor arrival at the club, as disappointing as it has been. His attributes are obvious and he's just served up an entree of humble pie for some that were having near meltdowns about how poor of a decision his recruitment was. The main course and dessert are only around the corner. 

Posted

Composure, Toughness, Skill, Size, Awareness, decision making

May brings all this and it is exactly what we desperately needed down back.  he will have a brilliant 5 years for us.

Posted
11 hours ago, sisso said:

Watching him live from the vantage point of the Redlegs for the first time I have to say he hits the contest with terrifying power and intensity....provided he stays on the right side of suspensions he is going to scare the hell out of a lot of forwards playing for us

Why would he scare our forwards?:laugh:

Posted

Top key defenders are usually still in their prime or close to it at 32 so hopefully we get over 100 games of quality footy out of the big guy

Posted

Had a mixed game for mine. At stages looked great, loved the way he took a few bodies and that double handed spike to a teammate, but also thought he was dump kicking to often for a skilful player and spoiling his teammates, dropping easy marks to often in marking contests.

Posted
4 hours ago, Watts the matter said:

Had a mixed game for mine. At stages looked great, loved the way he took a few bodies and that double handed spike to a teammate, but also thought he was dump kicking to often for a skilful player and spoiling his teammates, dropping easy marks to often in marking contests.

Not in the final 15 minutes though when i thought he provided a calmness down back with good disposal 

Posted

May's in the same camp as many of the players, the 2nd half of the year is about redeeming and setting up for 2020. He's looked good since he's come back, lot's more footy to be played but hopefully he can become the general down back we hope he'll be. 

• 3 weeks later...
Posted

When all the talk about us being into May started up late last year I was a little underwhelmed. From the handful of times I watched the Suns play I just thought of him as an aggressive, hard at it defender. A gorilla tamer as some are referred to.

Yes his introduction to the club was not ideal,  and he acknowledged that. Many on here were quick to join in the witch-hunt.

I had no idea how quick he is for a big man and also how good a kick he is. He is one of those players that I'm relaxed when the ball is in his hands. He will rarely lose one on one contests.

I also felt he was a reluctant skipper at The Suns , basically the best available in an inexperienced team. He oozes leadership and I'm loving what I'm seeing from him in that department. 

I met Steven pre season before all the negative news hit the media. He's a very likeable,  approachable bloke,  very different to what I was expecting. He was as absolutely stoked to be at Melbourne.

I reckon we've got a ripper on our hands. The thought of him, Lever and Jetta playing a full season together is tantalising and will go a long way in turning our fortunes around next year. 

Posted

Lever May and Frost playing 22 games next year together will guarantee us finals. They need continuity and time to gel together.

If May and Lever can do a full pre season then it goes a long way to getting our season back on track next year.

Posted
7 minutes ago, david_neitz_is_my_dad said:

+ Nev

Yep add him too. Have missed his leadership and experience down back this year.

Posted

He is now more important than ever, because he is perfect that he can play Taal and short. Nev might only have a year left and Hibbo is not getting bettr or younger, so him and Lever really are the cornerstone of our defense.

I like his attitude as well, hard, uncompromising, tough. its what we have lacked.