Posted

1 year extension coming up. 

No inside knowledge, just a matter of opinion.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

so sad about his brother getting lost at sea too. 

I notice a fierceness in the way he plays since, have thought with no evidence, the game has become cathartic for him, he release some of that awful emotion from that loss into his play. And his attitude towards his teammates looks like love.

Posted

Still playing his role, as long as he has that leg speed, it seems there will be a place for him. seems like a good bloke too, good person to have in the change rooms, got some calm heads down back which i'm sure is a huge part of our success 

Posted
14 hours ago, No Plan B said:

This guy doesn't get enough credit. 

To come back at 31 years old after everything he's gone through, and play the best footy with us since his AA year is an absolute credit to himself. I could easily see him going around again in 2022! 

Is the fittest he has been even before 2018 I reckon.

Had good year last year also and his disposal has  even a great bonus.

Absolutely wants to keep playing as long as he can and would be highly motivated about the chance of success looking a big chance in the future.

Posted

Great to see him bounce back once again. He always plays with an intensity that I think is helpful to our younger ones - both in example and to help them get out of jams.

Posted

He’s definitely returned to the Hibberd of old lately, cool as a cucumber when he has the ball. 

Posted

I love players like Hibberd and Jeremy McGovern. They remind me of park footballers who have wandered into an AFL game and have a kick for fun. As others have said he comes across as a good bloke. Great his knickname is Pig. Antithesis of the robotic Tom Scully style footballer. 

Posted

Michael Hibberd has been quite the ️ since he set foot in at the Dee’s, he obviously loves the players and coaches and always brings his best which is quite exceptional he did another great shut down on Cameron on Friday night. I agree with above posters reward his endeavours with a Contract extension ASAP.

We love you Mr Hibberd ..!!!

Posted

The Dusty Deestroyer!

A no nonsense roll player of the highest order and a great club man.  Consistently reliable.  Coach's dream.

• 1 year later...
Posted

Time for some pig love.

This bloke is quietly compiling a very impressive season. His coolness under pressure is really something to behold and is infectious.

Deserves to go round again next year if he is that way inclined. Our back six is sex and Hibbo is an important part of that.

• Love 5
Posted
3 minutes ago, P-man said:

Time for some pig love.

This bloke is quietly compiling a very impressive season. His coolness under pressure is really something to behold and is infectious.

Deserves to go round again next year if he is that way inclined. Our back six is sex and Hibbo is an important part of that.

I agree, he has been brilliant since coming in.  I thought he was cooked last year but he has definitely proved me wrong.  I love the Pig!

Posted
7 minutes ago, P-man said:

Time for some pig love.

This wins typo of the day. 

Posted

Wow. I had Hibbo marked as a retirement at end of 2022. But he’s got life back into the old dog.  His composure and decision making was right on last night. He might still retire but might even get an extension into 2023. 🤔

Posted (edited)

Definitely gets another contract if he wants one. His age shouldn’t really come into it. Half of Geelong’s team are older than him and they aren’t going too badly. 

Edited by Bang Bang Bang
Posted

His turn around from two years ago is incredible.  I had him completely written off at the end of 2020 but he was a key player in our finals last year and has been immense since his return this year.

Sign him up!

Posted
6 hours ago, P-man said:

Time for some pig love.

Would have disagreed with you last week mate, thought he panicked multiple times and threw it on the boot and was too slow, but last night he was a very good and got into important positions, and showed poise as you say.

Posted

Hibbo appreciation post. Having a stellar year. Essential that he remains fit for our finals chances imo 

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.