Posted
22 hours ago, monoccular said:

Looking forward to seeing him out there in the R&B sometime maybe mid to late 2016, if he has done enough at Casey and if the coaching panel / match committee feel he is good and ready (and I can't see why he might not be).  Looks a tough bugger.

It may be hard for the team to adapt though to a second tall forward whose remit is not to "bring the ball to ground" :-(

yes  hope any players who fail to go at their turn get free holiday to Casey...  we have the talent now to covert most.  now lets find the 'team' & the 'hard' once again.

oh, & if I hadn't said before...  you put your left foot in,  your left foot out,  your left foot in,  & then shake it all about...  its time to get some of these skilled deliverers to hop in.

# I hope we don't make the sdame mistake to the Weird-man,  the has taken wattsd before him.

Posted

What I don't like is that our club still try's to get itself up for certain games. I'm sick of hearing that the Collingwood game is our biggest game of the year. We have players who still don't come to play every week. We need to set ourselves for every game, when did we last beat Hawthorn/North/Port/Eagles?? We can't simply wait until these teams slide before we think we're a chance. Any player should debut when he is ready not be held back for some trivial reason. If it just so happens to be against Collingwood or should we make finals this year or next so be it. I'd rather play a first year player who has earned the right rather than go with a senior player who has had years to perform and deliver nothing. 90% of talent on this list is 23 or younger.

Posted
15 hours ago, Delusional demon 82 said:

There would be a sense of irony if Sam W debuted on queens birthday ... However that never really played out the best for Jack watts. I wouldn't put it past the filth to target him with a special welcome to afl footy greeting... hopefully Viney is on the park 

The Jack Watts greeting wasn't planned. It just happened that he ran on from the interchange and the ball was headed towards him. Coincidence really. Way too much has been made of this.

Posted
4 hours ago, Good Times Grimes said:

Agree. Roos talks about not wanting to put too much pressure on young players, and for an MFC player, the Queen's Birthday is about the most pressure-filled environment that a young player could debut in.

Show some optimism and think 2016 finals :-))

Posted
2 hours ago, jnrmac said:

The Jack Watts greeting wasn't planned. It just happened that he ran on from the interchange and the ball was headed towards him. Coincidence really. Way too much has been made of this.

Not the specific incident, but it's common knowledge certain players are targeted as part of tactics, Watts obviously was that day.

Posted
On 1/8/2016 at 9:49 AM, Good Times Grimes said:

Agree. Roos talks about not wanting to put too much pressure on young players, and for an MFC player, the Queen's Birthday is about the most pressure-filled environment that a young player could debut in.

I think there's some latent and probably unintentioned 'veil of negativity' in this post. How much pressure would there be if we were, say 9 wins, 3 losses and Collingwood was the reverse?

Posted
32 minutes ago, Hulett Packard III said:

Sam wants to play in round 1

This is what I really like about him, he may not be ready round 1 and plenty on here think he needs time at Casey. He may well.

...but he is not putting limits on himself, he's having a crack.

We had another KPF early pick a few years ago who only talked of development time at Casey and where is he now.

• 2 years later...
Posted

Sam Weideman - IF we haven't extended his contract again, by now... we better get onto it_  quick-smart.

... As Eddie and others will be circling, knocking his family door down.

Josh, I hope you have successfully got 'De-Weide' boy locked into a Red'n'Blue jumper, for some time to come.

Posted
14 minutes ago, DV8 said:

Sam Weideman - IF we haven't extended his contract again, by now... we better get onto it_  quick-smart.

... As Eddie and others will be circling, knocking his family door down.

Josh, I hope you have successfully got 'De-Weide' boy locked into a Red'n'Blue jumper, for some time to come.

Spoke to his Dad on Friday,  two things came out of it. Seems the players (Well Sam at least) don’t know what’s happening with Hogan, and Sam and family seem to love the club and are super pleased with his block of games in the backend of the season.

Posted
11 minutes ago, wizardinoz said:

You can just see it happening...Jesse Hogan gets traded out & The Filth come after the Weid throwing big money at him:(

Nah. We have to start giving young players some benefit of the doubt. My starting position is always that players want to stay until proven otherwise, because most players do. He’s a good kid, with a competitive heart and smart head. He will want to make his own history, despite his family being Collingwood royalty.

Posted
1 hour ago, —coach— said:

Spoke to his Dad on Friday,  two things came out of it. Seems the players (Well Sam at least) don’t know what’s happening with Hogan, and Sam and family seem to love the club and are super pleased with his block of games in the backend of the season.

... love it_  thanks Coach,  I've been pushing Weides barrow, since 2 Yrs before drafted.

I do not want us to lose him now, after all the work he's,,, And we've done... to get him to this point.  He's just beginning his trade.

Posted

At the risk of outdoing some of the pessimistic wet blankets around here:

While Sam has shown some good signs in a match or two recently, it seems too early to be assuming he will go on to be a star and could simply replace Hogan (who while not a star yet, has a lot more runs on the board).

Posted

I'd sign him up for 2 years now ie his existing one plus one more. I doubt he would sign for three at the money we would offer now.

At the end of 2019 assuming Cox does not star Collingwood will come very hard with some big dollars. If we can lock him down until end of 2020 Collingwood may go elsewhere.

If Weideman scores 50 goals plus in 2019 watch his contract value rocket.

This frankly is the only part of the Hogan trade that worries me.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, DV8 said:

... love it_  thanks Coach,  I've been pushing Weides barrow, since 2 Yrs before drafted.

I do not want us to lose him now, after all the work he's,,, And we've done... to get him to this point.  He's just beginning his trade.

Perhaps "his craft" would be a better term than "trade" especially at this time of year   :-(

• 3 weeks later...
  • 1 year later...
Posted

the amount of games he has lost us off his own boot is poor. Seriously mate. Learn to kick. Everything else you're doing is fine. But learn to kick 

• Angry 2

Posted

Some seriously basic misses I hate to say it but gettable goals for zero. What the Pfuurg is the forward skills coach doing!!??

Serious questions need to be asked of player and COACHES!

Posted

I'm off the Weed.

Posted

Kicking action is fine & we’ve all seen him convert soundly before, however, it’s all above the shoulders with Sam - 

You could just tell he was going to have a tough day in front of the sticks after he missed that first one. Total confidence player.

Otherwise, his game is coming along.

Posted (edited)

If it was dry I reckon he kicks 2 of those tonight. No consolation and he has to learn to play the conditions but he just leaned back on the kicks causing the ball to slide off the side of his boot, especially the first kick

I was far more heartened with his attack on the footy and the pack mark he took early in the game. Keep attacking the ball and contest like that and he'll be a long term key forward for us. He played on probably the best defender in the comp and held his own despite missing the goals.

It's easy to forgot he has still only played about 35 games. Play him the rest of the season and watch him build confidence going into next year.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

If it was dry I reckon he kicks 2 of those tonight. No consolation and he has to learn to play the conditions but he just leaned back on the kicks causing the ball to slide off the side of his boot, especially the first kick

I was far more heartened with his attack on the footy and the pack mark he took early in the game. Keep attacking the ball and contest like that and he'll be a long term key forward for us. He played on probably the best defender in the comp and held his own despite missing the goals.

It's easy to forgot he has still only played about 35 games. Play him the rest of the season and watch him build confidence going into next year.

This.

He'll only get better with each game and experience.