The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Posted

Is Sylvia,s value up now, then what it will be 12 months down the track.

What would we get for him if we put him up for trade on Monday?

I post this question because I can just see him following his mate Moloney down the Free Agency road next year.

Would it be more beneficial to us if we trade him.

Posted

I post this question because I can just see him following his mate Moloney down the Free Agency road next year.

Perhaps after seeing his mate fall flat on his face he'll pull his head in and dedicate his remaining football years to being the best he can be. We can pay him as well as any other club it's all up to him.

Posted

Once there is a better feel for the level of compensation received after losing a free agent, the merits of trading a player the year before free agency eligibility will become clearer.

If a player is one year away from becoming a free agent and choosing the destination of their choice at the salary of their choice (assuming they are a sought after player), why would they agree to a trade anyway?

And if a rival club knows they could wait a year and get the player for "free", why would they offer a fair trade?

Posted

I spoke to a mate of Colin's after the melbourne dockers game in round 24. Apparently a year or so ago he was open to joining his mate Ben McGlynn in Sydney, as the move was good for him. However apparently he's kinda changed his mind and decided he should just concerntrate playing good footy at Melbourne, and thinks he's probably past the age for changing clubs.

Posted

Colin Sylvia is very overrated outside MFC, so yes, trade in a heartbeat for a good deal. sorry Col.

Posted

I think people will be a little bit surprised by Colin Sylvia next year. I got the feeling that in the latter parts of this year, he really bought in to what the coaches were telling him. And as another poster has pointed out, perhaps the less than stellar reception Brent Moloney has received from other clubs has shown Sylvia that Beamer's way is not the right way.

Posted

And if a rival club knows they could wait a year and get the player for "free", why would they offer a fair trade?

Hopefully they miss that bit when reading through all the paper work...

But if it could be done, yes. But it won't be for the reasons 'Lampers' mentioned.

Posted

Don't trade him. His football over the last 8 weeks of 2012 was the best and most consistent he has ever played and it included defensive running, something he has been appalling at for a long time. I reckon he is finding the Neeld/Craig setup exactly what he needs to move from potential to results. Trade others but not Sylvia.

Posted

I'm with Chook. With an injury free pre season i reckon we will see some terrific footy from Col next year. I get the feeling Neeld has found a way to get him going and this is a big call but i would not be shocked to see him in the LG, perhaps not next year but maybe in 2014

Posted

I still hold out hope that Col has the ability to win a brownlow medal, from memory has the bloke ever had an injury free pre-season?...so lets keep him.

Posted

ahh whats Demonland without a good old Col Sylvia thread...even when theres no need for one..lol

Posted (edited)

I honestly reckon you wouldn't get much more than a packet of chips/ late 3rd Rd draft pick for him.

Who's going to give up a 1st or 2nd Rd draft pick for a talented but injury prone player, with continual off field issues.

No point trading him.

Besides, you don't trade off your most talented player.

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell
Posted

I still hold out hope that Col has the ability to win a brownlow medal, from memory has the bloke ever had an injury free pre-season?...so lets keep him.

Jaime Bennell could win one too, he just has to learn how to get the ball.

Posted

Im earmarking him, along with Trengove to have breakout years next year.

Posted

Moloney gone helps Silvia. I would have traded him a year or 2 back as I thought we had too many dumb footballers in the team, including him with the likes of Moloney and Jones. Jones has stepped up and Silvia seems to have finally turned the corner, Neeld had him do some stopping jobs and not just free running that he was used to in the past. He seems to have stuck to the task so now I'm more inclined to keep him on. We can probably afford one dumb footballer so long as he keeps up the work rate.

Posted

Im earmarking him, along with Trengove to have breakout years next year.

At 27?

My money's on a year of wild ups and downs, where the theme around here lurches between, "lazy, OUT OUT OUT" to "Sylvia: has the penny finally dropped?", he'll come about seventh in the best and fairest, and next year we'll have the same discussions all over again.

Just a hunch.

Posted

Besides, you don't trade off your most talented player.

I am trying to believe what I am reading. I could name other better players than Sylvia in a heartbeat such as Jones. Clark, Frawley and Grimes. More than that as well.

Posted

Will turn the corner under neeld just needs a full preseason, would do a Scott Thompson if he left

Posted

I am trying to believe what I am reading. I could name other better players than Sylvia in a heartbeat such as Jones. Clark, Frawley and Grimes. More than that as well.

He said most talented player, not best player. I agree that there are better players, but Sylvia is our most talented. Unfortunately we only see it a couple of times a year. He seemed to be more consistent over the latter part of the year, so hopefully with an uninterrupted preseason, we can see it a bit more often next year.

Posted

He said most talented player, not best player. I agree that there are better players, but Sylvia is our most talented. Unfortunately we only see it a couple of times a year. He seemed to be more consistent over the latter part of the year, so hopefully with an uninterrupted preseason, we can see it a bit more often next year.

Well we will agree to disagree. Watts is far more talented but thats just my opinion.

Posted

What we need is to get Col fully fit, and playing in a more successful team ie Melbourne post 2012!

He has just started to show some consistent form, particularly in the midfield where he is a human bulldozer: pity it has taken 7 years, but maybe he needed a coach who told him exactly what was required of him and didn't tolerate anything less, and also improved fitness and freedom from injury.

I guess virtually anyone is tradable given the right offer, but I cant see that we would get value when he may just be turning the corner.

Posted

something strangely familiar about this thread... now what is it ...hmmm :unsure:

Posted

Very Silly! Coach or any good footy minded person will see Sylvia as an integral part of the MFC.