Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Mitch Clark injury

Dee_Flower

If its only a torn ligament then hopefully it isn't anywhere near the severity of Trent Croad!!!!! But as Doc Larkins says if the injury is a six month lay off then Mitch will be struggling to play Round 1 2013 :(. Hopefully he is back by the end of the season in terms of back at the club training and ready to go at the beginning of pre-season 2013 but we shall see I guess, only time will tell as do most things with our club

Edited by DEELIRIOUS

Yeah true even need feet to do bench properly. But if he is only in plaster for 6 weeks or so that only takes us to mid August, surely he'd be back into full weight training before day 1 of pre season in October though? Or do you mean full training?

Yeah, six weeks til then, but then you need to do the rehab on top, and then I don't know what the go is with blokes training in their eight weeks under the new CBA, especially if they leave at the start of September for their eight weeks'.

Besides, the man is a bloody mountain already!

Doing further research as other posters have hinted at,the term refers to a group of conditions ,ranging from at one end ligamentous damage only ,to others including one bone to the worse end of the spectrum multiple bones and ligaments .

When Josh Mahoney says they will plan his recovery I would guess they will be approaching one or more specialist foot orthopods and deciding on conservative route of immobilization (keep him in plaster ) only or operative intervention.

Just got home from work and read this.....Un!@#@$believable. Gutted for Mitch, and everyone here.....and how bad would Magner be feeling? No other football club in any code through all of history (with the exception of the Manchester United plane crash) could have had a season like this.

The injury happened when he landed from an earlier mark. Nothing to do with the collision with Magner.

^^^

Heard the same, but Clark is no Richo, that guy came back from some hellish injuries and was still in the form of his life into his 30's.

This is a very serious injury, the club and Mitch have got to treat this very carefully.

I've now had a night's sleep. Still very disappointed, but more philosophical now.

Feel gutted for Mitch as he was potentially headed for AA.

But:

1. We have him for many, many more years. He's a committed Demon, and one would think he'll fully recover (given his age). He can still exercise his obvious leadership influence around the club for the rest of the season.

2. It allows Neeld to test the ability of some other players prior to going into the first draft where he actually knows the list. Given the importance of this draft, that's not a wholly bad thing. We have other forward options who now need to stand up (eg, Petterd, Cook). One would think it will enable him to better inform his view of the ability of some other players now.

3. Injuries are part of the game. All teams experience them. It can lead to other players being unearthed - eg, for us, Stef Martin last year. One would hope another player will stand up, and perhaps it'll be someone who may not otherwise have had the opportunity.

4. Perhaps Mitch can lend 60 seconds of his time each week to form a comedy duo with our resident comedian, Maxy Gawn. Don't know how funny that'd be though.

If its only a torn ligament then hopefully it isn't anywhere near the severity of Trent Croad!!!!! But as Doc Larkins says if the injury is a six month lay off then Mitch will be struggling to play Round 1 2013 :(. Hopefully he is back by the end of the season in terms of back at the club training and ready to go at the beginning of pre-season 2013 but we shall see I guess, only time will tell as do most things with our club

Basic maths would tell you that 6 months takes him through to Xmas. Would be well ready for rd 1. The club are hopeful for training starting in Movember

I wont go as far as some and suggest I have a man-crush ...but this Bloke is really pretty bloody good.

I have every expectation he will move heaven and earth to be ready for Round 1. Footy is like catnip to him... He'll be there

The injury happened when he landed from an earlier mark. Nothing to do with the collision with Magner.

I actually don't think that's the case having watched both incidents now a few times on replay and having read the (excellent) article J Riv posted on the injury (see below). In that article it says how it explains how it occurs and one way for footballer is their foot getting stuck in the turf and the weight of the body moving across the fixed foot breaking it basically.

If you watch the Magner - Clark incident this is precisely what happened, his foot got stuck and flexed badly in the middle as he dived forward. Similar i suppose to the turf toes Sandilands has had (but more serious). Apparently an injury jockeys get when they fall and their foot gets stuck in the irons.

When he was on the ground he motioned to to his foot to the trainers indicating something was wrong and though he looked groggy from the hit when he got up he was limping quite badly. Nothing to do with Magner though. After the first problem (first quarter mark when he came down stiff legged) he was pointing to his knee and when he came to the bench the trainer was working on his knee and upper calf

The article makes for depressing reading as it sounds quite a serious injury, can impact and much depends on whether there is any fractures to the bone and how many bones are injured. On 927 they were reporting it as a fracture but i reckon that might not be right as the injury has also been called a broken foot amongst other things. Fingers crossed

http://www.sportsmd....les/id/283.aspx

2. It allows Neeld to test the ability of some other players prior to going into the first draft where he actually knows the list. Given the importance of this draft, that's not a wholly bad thing. We have other forward options who now need to stand up (eg, Petterd, Cook). One would think it will enable him to better inform his view of the ability of some other players now.

Actually, given that many have been speculating as to whether Cook or Martin will come in as Clark's obvious replacement, Petterd seems to have been overlooked. The more I think about it, the more I think this could be his chance at redemption as with Rivers and Garland doing well up forward, there may be room for him to take a role in the forward half.

Bloody Footy gods, tease us with a few wins then do this to us.

They're helping us.

This will/should help to fastrack others.

Then when Mitch, hopefully comes back after a conservative approached treatment plan, we'll be even stronger to start next year.

Even if it is Rnd 2 or 3 when he gets back. (We won't be playing for the Grand Final next Year).

I actually don't think that's the case having watched both incidents now a few times on replay and having read the (excellent) article J Riv posted on the injury (see below). In that article it says how it explains how it occurs and one way for footballer is their foot getting stuck in the turf and the weight of the body moving across the fixed foot breaking it basically.

If you watch the Magner - Clark incident this is precisely what happened, his foot got stuck and flexed badly in the middle as he dived forward. Similar i suppose to the turf toes Sandilands has had (but more serious). Apparently an injury jockeys get when they fall and their foot gets stuck in the irons.

When he was on the ground he motioned to to his foot to the trainers indicating something was wrong and though he looked groggy from the hit when he got up he was limping quite badly. Nothing to do with Magner though. After the first problem (first quarter mark when he came down stiff legged) he was pointing to his knee and when he came to the bench the trainer was working on his knee and upper calf

The article makes for depressing reading as it sounds quite a serious injury, can impact and much depends on whether there is any fractures to the bone and how many bones are injured. On 927 they were reporting it as a fracture but i reckon that might not be right as the injury has also been called a broken foot amongst other things. Fingers crossed

I think Trent Croad had a similar injury.

WTF. i log on O/S to read this...dam dam dam. Oh well opportunities open up for someone else.

Get it fixed Mitch. We need you for tilt 13.

Hopefully WYL he's done it & gone straight off the ground. Cross fingers it's not too severe.

This IS Not the injury to Rush... make it worse & it could be All she wrote.

Take your time and slowly slowly, get it right.

Do you think we will get a definitive diagnosis on the injury given that as you say, there still seems to be some speculation as to the extent of the damage, or is it one of those types that cannot be fully diagnosed and is just dependent on how it responds to treatment?

Basic maths would tell you that 6 months takes him through to Xmas. Would be well ready for rd 1. The club are hopeful for training starting in Movember

Yeh I know, thats why I said he'll be struggling for Round 1 and I am really hopeful that he will be back before the Christman break with full knowledge of how to add and subtract

Do you think we will get a definitive diagnosis on the injury given that as you say, there still seems to be some speculation as to the extent of the damage, or is it one of those types that cannot be fully diagnosed and is just dependent on how it responds to treatment?

According to an article in today's Hun they were seeing a specialist today and getting more scans. I assume from what i've read that they should have a pretty good idea of the extent of the damage, indeed this info would critical to determine how to best treat it (surgery and plaster or just plaster/boot).

Hopefully we'll get some good news today. If they decide no surgery it would indicate injury is on the lesser end of the scale apparently

As we are all gutted I decided to take a breath relax and post my logical thoughts that are full of common sense so here goes.

THIS IS ALL BLOODY SCULLY'S FAULT! If he could have gotten a bloody kick the ball wouldn't have been near mitch and he would have kicked at least 10 on the weekend and would be lining up for us next week but NO Scully is an over priced Hack!

Secondly does anyone know Mitch's blood type? I am willing to cut my foot off and donate it to Mitch and the MFC. We are boosting our footy department so if I can't send him my foot I'm sure the MFC has made some spare ones out of Pig DNA a bit like the scientist off south park did. If he can't come back with my foot or a new one i'm sure we can find other avenues at goal for the rest of the year. We will Cook something up.

Im glad you put in your logical thoughts full of common sense

Can you share some of your more outlandish ones

I think the foot donation program is already satisfied,

well, at least we are getting all our bad luck out at once.

hope clark recovers well, we really need him for the future of the club. but you never know cook may come out and shine, martin may find old form, petterd may recapture his form of early 2010. they may even finally play Couch

perhaps it is a chance to see sheenan or tynan get a chance.

maybe if affords a chance for gysberts to get back in the side, with some shuffling (which neeld seems happy to do)

or davis?? we play every other backman forward why not give him a go?

oooh the oppertunities.

we are on the way up guys, this is just another little stumble, but each one is character building and the team will get stronger and stronger as they collectivly deal with each stumble in turn.

soon Mlebourne will be the tightest playing group in the league the culture amongst the players will be the envy of every other team.

great kids playing together, a ripper draft this year to add some brilliant new talent, they will all get to 100/200 +games together and there will be a dominant melbourne era to put the 1954-1964 era to shame.

3 years tops.

always look on the bright side of life.

I'm not sure whether someone has already posted this but you can see the injury most likely happen early in the 2nd quarter when Mitch comes down from snagging a mark .Just a twinge after he hits the ground straight legged (a little like LJ), he feels his leg and plays on.......Meanwhile all this positive door closing window opening door talk distracts from the fact that basically only Mitch Chip and Jones are walk up starts in any team other the MFC.(apologies to Howe)

PS it surely must be Jack Watts fault???

We should have a poll on who is to blame

obvious perps

• Philfy Phil
  • Kevin Shadey
  • HWFUA
  • Barry Prendergast
  • Dean Bailey
  • Jack Watts
  • Cale Morton
  • Juice Newton
  • Jamie Bennell (for old dee's sake)
  • Ron Barassi