View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

16 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

We should get Stuart Dew. I love fat players.

How he could dominate a Grand Final when he was so over weight is beyond me.

Demonland was in a meltdown in the pre season of 2021 because Petracca was supposed to be over weight.

If that Rioli from Port ever get's in a grand final bet evey cent you have on him winning the Norm Smith.

As a loyal MFC supporter for over 70 years, how can any true MFC supporter want an ex-Collingwood player and coach as the MFC coach!!!! ? Why not do as was done last time and choose a current assistant coach who has worked with two of the most successful coaches in the past 15 years in Clarkson and Fagan?

Cameron Bruce has all the qualifications to take the team forward - originally from Melbourne's heartland, schooled in Melbourne and played 234 AFL games at Melbourne and Hawthorn.

On 13/08/2025 at 13:02, Demon Jack said:

Bruce has been huge for Brisbane over the last couple of years.

Melbourne connection aside, this would be a fantastic acquisition.

What is the source of that comment DJ?

1 hour ago, PRF said:

As a loyal MFC supporter for over 70 years, how can any true MFC supporter want an ex-Collingwood player and coach as the MFC coach!!!! ? Why not do as was done last time and choose a current assistant coach who has worked with two of the most successful coaches in the past 15 years in Clarkson and Fagan?

Cameron Bruce has all the qualifications to take the team forward - originally from Melbourne's heartland, schooled in Melbourne and played 234 AFL games at Melbourne and Hawthorn.

I’m not saying I want Buckley (I don’t, would’ve preferred to keep Goody), but I don’t care where someone is from or who they use to play for; I want the best available option.

I saw Maurice Johnston play for Rangers so I'm sure I'll get over it if Bucks ends up at the Dees.

I think we all acknowledge that one of our biggest issues is a lack of skill in all aspects of our game. Cam Bruce was an amazing accumulator of possessions when he played, but his kicking and handball skills were sub par. We need to build a culture of elite kicking, hand balling and decision making, and employ coaches who can introduce this culture. Not sure Cam Bruce is the man for that, even if he has many other good qualities.

• Author
1 minute ago, Bendigo_Demon said:

I think we all acknowledge that one of our biggest issues is a lack of skill in all aspects of our game. Cam Bruce was an amazing accumulator of possessions when he played, but his kicking and handball skills were sub par. We need to build a culture of elite kicking, hand balling and decision making, and employ coaches who can introduce this culture. Not sure Cam Bruce is the man for that, even if he has many other good qualities.

Clarkson was a diabolical kick of the footy in his playing days but turned a Hawthorn juggernaut into one of the best kicking teams I've seen.

Just because he was a horrible kick, doesn't mean that actually translates into coaching.

Has anyone told Cam Bruce about his move back to the Dees I would have thought he would be 100% focussed on getting the Lions through a tough finals campaign and his Coach recently admitted that Cam was the one calling the shots from the Box on game days. He would be a great get but where is this coming from, Media…??

On 13/08/2025 at 23:29, In Gawn we Trust said:

I thought the word was that Hinkley is mentally cooked and wanted to take a break from the AFL in general?

I heard he is sick of Kochie's shrill voice.

25 minutes ago, Bendigo_Demon said:

We need to build a culture of elite kicking, hand balling and decision making, and employ coaches who can introduce this culture

I reckon you’re 75% of the way there with one conversation with your list boss and recruiter: get me blokes who are elite kicks, handballers and decision makers.

On 13/08/2025 at 12:53, 640MD said:

But wait there is Moore, no dont want Darcy, but steak knives definitely

How about Demi

1 hour ago, Bendigo_Demon said:

Last time we went down that path we ended up with a list full of players like James Strauss and Addam Maric who were great in training drills, but who couldn't get a touch on game day.

On 13/08/2025 at 22:37, Ted Lasso said:

It’s all smoke and mirrors

Picket fence is the new front runner for the job.

And goal kicking coach

1 hour ago, poita said:

Last time we went down that path we ended up with a list full of players like James Strauss and Addam Maric who were great in training drills, but who couldn't get a touch on game day.

I had completely forgotten about these players that had represented our club, its been amazing revisiting the all the bad memories.🙉

I love Cam Bruce. Infact i think I see Tom Sparrow through Rose coloured glasses because he wears #32

5 hours ago, PRF said:

I discount Clarkson to some extent.
Yes he hit the drafting jackpot with Franklin, Roughy etc and then the Hawks and Cats dominance was during GC and GWS coming into the league diluting the draft for other clubs.
Both sides then cherry picked their needs for players wanting to play for flags.
We don't wanna be down the bottom again when/if Tassie comes in.

4 hours ago, Bendigo_Demon said:

I guess we should get Mitchell then, he's developed that at the Hawks, followed what Clarkson did when eh took over.

In reality if they focus on it they can improve it. Obviously it has not bee a focus for us. As in a central skill focus.

7 hours ago, Bendigo_Demon said:

Gee I always liked Cameron the Bruce I think you are underestimating his goalkicking ability, I remember him vs Carlton in a final and he and Frank Green were huge!

One of the alleged knocks on Buckley was that he didn't appreciate or connect very well with the flawed and second tier players.

I'll speculate that one of the advantages for coaches like Clarkson, Sheedy, Fagan and Hardwick is that they understand the value of not only the not-perfect contributors, but also the stars and silky types who can do things they never could.

I'd also argue Bruce understood it even in his playing days. Knew his limitations and knew which teammate to connect with. Although looking back the Daniher years were not wildly blessed with smooth operators or outright top rated players.

1 hour ago, Little Goffy said:

One of the alleged knocks on Buckley was that he didn't appreciate or connect very well with the flawed and second tier players.

I had heard that was the case in the earlier years but I’d say that in the year they got to the Granny, that team throughout the entire back half of the season was filled to the brim of these lesser players. They had the 2nd worst injury list that year! If I can remember, I think at stages they had 3/4/(5?) out of their starting backline out but kept winning.

And I’m not disagreeing with you, just pointing out that year he was able to squeeze as much out of the second 22 players that came into the side FWIW.

15 hours ago, PRF said:

It's not the 1960s anymore mate.

On 13/08/2025 at 15:14, SFebes said:

Cam is a different kettle of fish, he comes from successful organisations and has build a good foundation of skills outside of the Melbourne way, it is this reason I think Nathan Jones should be moved on after this year (plus he is the under performing midfield/stoppage coach), having lost 75% of all the games he played at the club, go learn your craft at other successful organisations and potentially come back one day. The last thing we need is the boys' club raring it's head again, which it looks like it is already underway. Cam has the added benefit of doing his apprenticeship under Clarkson & now Fagan.

Love Jonesy but that coaching appointment was completely baffling

I can't stress enough how stoked I would be to get Bruce back to the club as a midfield coach. Best appointment we'd make since Yze.

1 hour ago, layzie said:

I can't stress enough how stoked I would be to get Bruce back to the club as a midfield coach. Best appointment we'd make since Yze.

Let's hope we can hang onto him!