Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Phantom Drafts 2023

If we take Windsor over Curtin that is a massive call. We'll be desperate for a key defender sooner than we think, with May 32 and Petty bailing for the Crows. We already have Blake Howes waiting for a spot on the wing, are we spooked by the Jackson trade or do we genuinely rate Windsor higher than Curtin? If you were picking best available, surely it would have to be Curtin. 

11 minutes ago, Jeremy said:

If we take Windsor over Curtin that is a massive call. We'll be desperate for a key defender sooner than we think, with May 32 and Petty bailing for the Crows. We already have Blake Howes waiting for a spot on the wing, are we spooked by the Jackson trade or do we genuinely rate Windsor higher than Curtin? If you were picking best available, surely it would have to be Curtin. 

We may take a KPD @ 11

We don't really have a player like Windsor on the list, I can understand why they may be enamored with him

23 minutes ago, Jeremy said:

Watson ….

E4A8FC86-3A49-4307-B2A5-C9FE372E1467.png

Finally, someone has woken up. My post from 30 Oct.:

I think we have two clubs (NM and WC) playing chicken at the moment to see who will give way first. I think we leave them alone and do our own thing and see what happens. Would the Hawks be willing to trade their pick 4 (and a guarantee we would not pick Watson) for pick 6 and our future first? We then have a nice hand at the draft - 4 and 11, which I'd be happy with - but it may also make WC be a bit more inclined to relinquish Pick 1...

54 minutes ago, godees said:

Best available please. Picking for needs in the first round is a mistake.

if you listen to the interview with jason taylor, he says that they're going to go with 'best available' 

edit: ...with whatever picks we end up having - he also is pretty clear that we're going to continue to try to work out way up the draft order

Edited by whatwhat say what

2 hours ago, Jeremy said:

Not sure what it is about Curtin that sets him apart. Seems very vanilla to me.

5 minutes ago, Mach5 said:

Not sure what it is about Curtin that sets him apart. Seems very vanilla to me.

I like his combination of footy smarts, size, skills and especially the way he feigns, baulks and moves in traffic.

The challenge is working out how much of his output is due to him being an early developer with a mature frame and how much upside there is.

Most highly rated tall guys just produce flashes of quality. Curtin can more than hold his own at WAFL level and play really strong games as a midfielder in the national champs. He's light years ahead of some of the other highly rated talls like Nate Caddy and  Ollie Murphy. Whether he stays that way is the question and it's not an easy one to answer.

A lot of the reputable journos start getting it pretty close to the mark around this time and we just keep getting linked to Windsor at 6. Is he our man? Seems like a bit of a reach based on what I’ve read but he fills a need. 
I’m quietly hoping the Hawks take Curtin and Watson falls to us. Love me a good antagonist. 
Edit for those wondering: The HS phantom draft has us taking Windsor and Tholstrop. 

Edited by Bang Bang Bang

1. Harley Reid

West Coast

Bendigo Pioneers, 187cm midfielder
Powerful, confident, country kid certain to go No.1. Sound like anyone? Luke Hodge, perhaps? Except ‘Hodgey’ was never this famous as a teenager.
Why?
Unless the Roos fold and fork over picks No.2 and 3 for Reid then he will be the centrepiece of the Eagles’ rebuild. Does Ben Cousins’ No.9 jumper await?

2. Jed Walter

Gold Coast (matching North Melbourne's bid)

Gold Coast academy, 194cm key forward
Freakishly athletic key forward the first of three academy gifts for Dimma’s Suns. Plenty
of Charlie Curnow in this kid.
Why?
Surely North Melbourne, like most clubs, has Walter ranked a clear No.2 on its talent board and bids here. Questions will be asked if not.

3. Colby McKercher

North Melbourne

Launceston, 182cm midfielder
Rates his work in the kitchen, but it is his class and precision on the grass that has him a lock to land at Arden St.
Why?
It’s simple. He is the best midfielder behind Reid, and arriving 12 months after Sheezel and Wardlaw arms Alastair Clarkson with three bankable beauties to
transform this club.

4. Zane Duursma

North Melbourne

Gippsland Power, 189cm midfielder/forward
Brother of Essendon recruit Xavier Duursma is deadlier than a bow and arrow in front of goals.
Why?
Going small again because Duursma is too damn good. Will target talls at picks 15, 17 and 18. Suspect Duursma for Ben McKay (this was the compensation selection) will wind up looking OK for the Roos.

5. Nick Watson

Hawthorn

Eastern Ranges, 170cm forward
‘The Wizard’ weaved through 70 goals this year. Yes, 70. Remarkably agile, speedy and downright devastating in front of the sticks.
Why?
The Hawks need a key defender and they just picked up a small forward in Jack Ginnivan. But Watson’s magic will be irresistible and you wonder whether the struggles of Denver Grainger-Barrass (No.6 pick in 2020) might spook them from taking Curtin.

6. Ryley Sanders

Western Bulldogs

Sandringham Dragons, 188cm midfielder
Has looked like he was ready to rock at AFL level for two years now. The Tasmanian (he boards at Melbourne Grammar) is a tough onballer with ticker.
Why?
Did the Dogs trade up to this pick to secure Watson? Probably. But they won’t be too disappointed because Sanders is a safe bet and they suddenly need to replenish what has become an ageing midfield.

7. Caleb Windsor

Melbourne

Eastern Ranges, 184cm Wingman
Classy outside ball user could blossom like Hugh McCluggage. Speed and agility in spades.
Why?
Melbourne need to sharpen the sword going inside 50m and Windsor is an outside weapon.

8. Daniel Curtin

West Coast (via GWS trade)

Claremont, 197cm defender
Intercepting defender can dominate in all parts of the ground with his strong aerial game and slick disposal.
Why?
Looks like West Coast will swoop, offering its future first-round pick to GWS for the rights to Curtin at pick seven.

9. Nate Caddy

Geelong

Northern Knights, 193cm forward
Star goal kicker has been likened to Charlie Curnow for his marking strength and burst power.
Why?
Natural replacement for Tom Hawkins. But Cats will consider trading back for multiple picks in the teens.

10. Connor O’Sullivan

Essendon

Murray Bushrangers, 197cm key defender
Gun defender has a huge tank and nice close-out speed. Gets in the right spots to spoil or mark and is rated by some as a better forward.
Why?
Defence has been a problem area for Bombers for years, but Bombers could yet trade back for multiple picks. Riley Hardeman on radar.

11. James Leake

Adelaide

Launceston, 187cm utility
Star half back drew comparisons to Geelong’s Tom Stewart before firing in a new forward role late in season. Mr Fix it.
Why?
Crows need to bolster back half and Leake can be the next Tom Doedee. GWS a chance at seven if they don’t trade with Eagles.

12. Koltyn Tholstrup

Melbourne

Subiaco, 188cm forward
Dynamite goal kicker is ready to go. Loves to be physical and aggressive in his ball use. X-factor.
Why?
The Demons love the tough ballwinners and the popular Tholstrup can do special things. Would shine alongside Kysiah Pickett.

13. Ethan Read

Gold Coast (matching Sydney's bid)

Gold Coast academy, 202cm ruckman
Plays like a 200cm midfielder who can take a grab as a resting forward. Handy combo.
Why?
‘Dimma’ must be laughing. Read is rated as a top-10 talent and helps plan for life after Jarrod Wits.

14. Jordan Croft

Western Bulldogs (matching Sydney's bid)

Calder Cannons, 201cm key forward
Patience required. Athletic marking forward who will take time.
Why?
Bevo probably wishes Croft was 185cm – with Darcy, Jamarra, Naughton and English there are already a few big boys to choose from – but another bargain pick up for the Dogs

15. Will Green

Sydney

Northern Knights, 204cm ruck
Athletic ruckman has shown he has clean hands and a big motor to roam the ground. Steadily improved.
Why?
Swans will consider trading back to grab Green later down the order. North Melbourne also circling at this mark.

16. Darcy Wilson

St Kilda

Murray Bushrangers, 186cm midfielder
The Wangaratta midfielder runs rings around most of this year’s crop aerobically and seizes his chances in front of the sticks.
Why?
Ross Lyon requested more run and Wilson’s work covering the ground is phenomenal. Not sure the Saints are in love with this draft though. Could they trade their pick?

17. Will McCabe (matching Adelaide's bid)

Hawthorn

Central District, 197cm defender
Intercepting defender was one of the stand-out prospects in South Australia this year with his ability to blunt the opposition. Son of Luke.
Why?
Hawks will match a father-son bid from Crows. Hawks desperately need to fill key defensive holes.

18. Charlie Edwards

Adelaide

Sandringham Dragons, 191cm midfielder
The big bolter of bunch. The kid with serious wheels got a wriggle on in the final two months of the season to surge up draft boards.
Why?
No invite to Vic Metro or draft camp, no worries for Edwards. He is in such hot demand that the Crows might just pull the trigger here.

19. Will Dawson

North Melbourne

Gippsland Power, 200cm Defender
Raw 200cm defender has grown 20cm in the past two years. Shows promise marking overhead and switching into the ruck.
Why?
North has to take a tall key defender to future proof the back line following Ben McKay’s departure.

20. Riley Hardeman

GWS

Swan Districts, 188cm midfielder
Captained Western Australia’s U18s as a creating halfback interceptor with a dash of attacking flair.
Why?
Hardeman would flow nicely through the Orange Tsunami. But Essendon is also a fan and could trade back from its first pick to land Hardeman first.

21. Lance Collard

North Melbourne

Subiaco, 180cm forward
One of the most exciting prospects, Collard is a Bobby Hill-type who shone with consecutive hauls of five goals to close the season.
Why?
The Roos have delisted Phoenix Spicer and would love another livewire. But concerns over homesickness has some clubs wary.

22. Arie Schoenmaker

North Melbourne

Tasmania, 194cm defender
Banished from Tassie Devils for 10 weeks for an alcohol indiscretion on a training camp. Superboot bounced back to solidify his first-round prospects as a Grant Birchall type.
Why?
The Roos are light-on for stoppers with Ben McKay gone and Griffin Logue injured. Plenty think Schoenmaker will be a Kangaroo.

23. Will Graham

Gold Coast (matching Collingwood bid)

Gold Coast Academy, 186cm midfielder
Explosive ball winner who also showed signs of life behind the ball.
Why?
Three academy gifts for the Suns, who may just win the draft. Dimma’s got some new toys.

24. Archer Reid

Collingwood

Gippsland Power, 203cm forward
Brother of Essendon’s Zach Reid had a so-so season but is a super ball user by foot.
Why?
Will Kelly is on the outer, Nathan Murphy’s future is clouded and swingman Jeremy Howe is 33. But could Collard creep through to the Pies?

25. Taylor Goad

Adelaide

South Adelaide, 206cm ruckman
Ex-basketballer has toe and is largely untapped after only one SANFL season. Grew up idolising Sam Jacobs as a Crows fan.
Why?
Reilly O’Brien is 28 and Riley Thilthorpe is unlikely to become a full-time ruckman. So it is time for the Crows to up-skill an understudy.

26. Harry De Mattia

St Kilda

Dandenong Stingrays, 184cm utility
Run and gun utility who also passes the character test in flying colours.
Why?
Lyon lamented the Saints’ lack of leg speed and this lad has some serious toe.

27. Matt Carroll

Carlton

Sandringham Dragons, 188cm defender
Carroll has been low on fanfare but crept his way up draft boards as the season wore on. Splash of speed surging out of the backline.
Why?
Blues like this kid who might be an upgrade on delisted wingman Lochie O’Brien.

Edited by adonski

4 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Would be a huge price to pay but do we give a future first to Geelong to get our choice of Leake, Caddy or O’Sullivan?

Yes that’s a massive call to give up a future first to push up 3 spots. Its a NO from me … but Dees always seem to be super aggressive.