Timothy Reddan-A'Blew  5,690 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 😊 RD 12 | Jaguar Electrifying Performance  10 3 2 Quote
roy11 Â 4,076 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 Threat title looked like my cat walked across the keyboard. Love what Judd is bringing to the team, not bad for a rookie selection! 5 13 Quote
YesitwasaWin4theAges  6,831 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 Going good is young Juddy. 2 Quote
whatwhat say what  23,875 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 (edited) has a turn of speed that helps with 1:1 defending, positions himself cleverly in the contest, is a smart decision maker, and a good user there is heaps to like Edited June 6, 2023 by whatwhat say what 10 1 Quote
deelusions from afar  1,894 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 Out of interest did he play his junior footy as a defender? Is he someone that will look to play further up the ground in time? Loving what he is doing 2 Quote
Adam The God  30,748 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 31 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said: has a turn of speed that helps with 1:1 defending, positions himself cleverly in the contest, is a smart decision maker, and a good user there is heaps to like IMV, this is what makes him stand out from the rest of our defenders, other than maybe Bowey. Once he gets a little stronger, he could well become that Nev Jetta lockdown type, but with an offensive ability that Jetts never really had. He's been a great pick up. Struggled for a few weeks there, but unlike some of his team mates, seemed rejuvenated on Friday night. 5 Quote
Timothy Reddan-A'Blew  5,690 Posted June 6, 2023 Author Posted June 6, 2023 25 minutes ago, deelusions from afar said: Out of interest did he play his junior footy as a defender? Is he someone that will look to play further up the ground in time? Loving what he is doing '...plenty of midfield time...' for WA in 2019 U16 Nationals. '...wing and half back...' for East Fremantle. Also a junior water polo champ. 2 Quote
DeeSpencer  26,692 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 22 minutes ago, deelusions from afar said: Out of interest did he play his junior footy as a defender? Is he someone that will look to play further up the ground in time? Loving what he is doing I believe he was a midfielder in under 16’s who was sent to half back in colts footy. Whilst I don’t know for sure I suspect he struggled with the increased physicality against bigger kids which isn’t surprising for a skinny kid at that age. I don’t think anyone in the club last year was really thinking he’d be a lock down defender. He just seemed to progress with his defensive efforts as the VFL season went on leading to a strong grand final. 3 Quote
binman  44,855 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 (edited) 2 hours ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said: 😊 RD 12 | Jaguar Electrifying Performance  The clip doesn't show my favorite bit of play from the Judster against the blues. He had the ball right on the boundary line, feinted and everyone around him seemed to just stop, perhaps thinking the ball had gone over the boundary line - which i exactly what i thought had happened watching live. It was weird - normally players with the sort of natural time the judster has is the one who appears to be standing still, but in this instance, it was everyone else who stopped! (I think the bit of play i'm talking about is actually the very first clip of the Judster in that video - and if so, is cut off right before the good bit) Edited June 6, 2023 by binman 11 1 Quote
chook fowler  19,782 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 19 minutes ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said: '...plenty of midfield time...' for WA in 2019 U16 Nationals. '...wing and half back...' for East Fremantle. Also a junior water polo champ. He's good in the wet then. 1 9 1 Quote
adonski  13,280 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 20 minutes ago, binman said: The clip doesn't show my favorite bit of play from the Judster against the blues. He had the ball right on the boundary line, feinted and everyone around him seemed to just stop, perhaps thinking the ball had gone over the boundary line - which i exactly what i thought had happened watching live. It was weird - normally players with the sort of natural time the judster has is the one who appears to be standing still, but in this instance, it was everyone else who stopped! (I think the bit of play i'm talking about is actually the very first clip of the Judster in that video - and if so, is cut off right before the good bit) Yeah they cut it off! Was wanting to see it too, was a bit like in R1 when he sucked in Libba 4 Quote
DubDee  26,685 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 love his attack on the footy and his remarkable composure and his and Boweys bravery considering they give up 20kgs on a lot of opponents 4 Quote
jnrmac  20,383 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 (edited) 1 hour ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said: '...plenty of midfield time...' for WA in 2019 U16 Nationals. '...wing and half back...' for East Fremantle. Also a junior water polo champ. He plays well in the wet  [Ah, beat me to it!] Edited June 6, 2023 by jnrmac 2 1 Quote
Timothy Reddan-A'Blew  5,690 Posted June 6, 2023 Author Posted June 6, 2023 50 minutes ago, DubDee said: love his attack on the footy and his remarkable composure and his and Boweys bravery considering they give up 20kgs on a lot of opponents In an ABC Mid West interview he credits Christian Salem in his development. That wouldn't have hurt his time and bravery evolution! 2 1 Quote
buck_nekkid  6,103 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 (edited) (Joke already made.  My attempt now as wet as the joke…) Edited June 6, 2023 by buck_nekkid 3 Quote
DutchDemons  1,446 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 Chris is one of my favourite players. 1 Quote
Demonstone  23,599 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 1 hour ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said: Also a junior water polo champ. He had to give that up as it was too expensive to keep replacing all those drowned ponies. PS. He should go well in the wet.  5 Quote
whatwhat say what  23,875 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 33 minutes ago, DutchDemons said: Chris is one of my favourite players. apparently he's not a fan of that nickname but i like it 1 Quote
4_Kent_Watts  898 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 Judd reminds me of the impact and endeavour Trent Rivers gave to the team when he came and become a regular. Good Mark, Poise, keep it going young Fella. 2 1 Quote
3183 Dee  2,917 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 3 hours ago, binman said: The clip doesn't show my favorite bit of play from the Judster against the blues. He had the ball right on the boundary line, feinted and everyone around him seemed to just stop, perhaps thinking the ball had gone over the boundary line - which i exactly what i thought had happened watching live. It was weird - normally players with the sort of natural time the judster has is the one who appears to be standing still, but in this instance, it was everyone else who stopped! (I think the bit of play i'm talking about is actually the very first clip of the Judster in that video - and if so, is cut off right before the good bit) That little baulk that he does is becoming a trademark move now. What I love about his play is his composure with ball in hand: everything around him seems to slow down when he has the ball - this sort of thing you can’t learn. 5 1 Quote
tiers  2,883 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 Is Judd one of the new breed of young footballers who start at half back - Daicos, Sheezel, McVee this year, Bowey and Rivers for us in 2021. Smart footballers who face the ball and can read the play, win the ball and make good decisions. 3 Quote
Bombay Airconditioning  6,510 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 Only a week ago many were suggesting both he and JVR should be dropped / rested, now JVR got a rising star nomination and McVee his own thread. 8 1 Quote
layzie  34,528 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 Got a decent turning circle as well which gets him into good positions to kick faster than others. Probably why he looks like he has more time. 2 Quote
MrFreeze  2,055 Posted June 6, 2023 Posted June 6, 2023 18 hours ago, binman said: The clip doesn't show my favorite bit of play from the Judster against the blues. He had the ball right on the boundary line, feinted and everyone around him seemed to just stop, perhaps thinking the ball had gone over the boundary line - which i exactly what i thought had happened watching live. It was weird - normally players with the sort of natural time the judster has is the one who appears to be standing still, but in this instance, it was everyone else who stopped! (I think the bit of play i'm talking about is actually the very first clip of the Judster in that video - and if so, is cut off right before the good bit) https://youtu.be/ztkEkf_tA-4 See 0:37 this kid is so classy and poised 2 Quote