37 minutes ago, forever demons said:

How sweet

You're nicer than my coworkers - they call it eccentric!  But that's to be expected when you're the only AFL fan deep in NRL territory...

9 minutes ago, Wodjathefirst said:

As much as it is frustrating to see the attention  that the likes of Oliver and Gawn has received all year it makes me feel proud that Goody never seems to play the ‘woe is me card’ in the public media to try and get the umpires on side.  

Maxy gets belted from pillar to post every game. I don't how he doesn't lose his temper. Serious self control

4 minutes ago, BDA said:

Maxy gets belted from pillar to post every game. I don't how he doesn't lose his temper. Serious self control

He was starting to show his frustration against the blues - and with good reason. 

Shut down Neale, win contested ball and win clearance. The rest should take care of itself.

22 minutes ago, Wodjathefirst said:

As much as it is frustrating to see the attention  that the likes of Oliver and Gawn has received all year it makes me feel proud that Goody never seems to play the ‘woe is me card’ in the public media to try and get the umpires on side.  

Does he say anything in private?  If so, it's having little effect.

Butterflies have already started. I don't know where you all get your confidence from. 

Either way we are in for a cracker of a game. If we can bring the intensity of the past couple of weeks, we will have a good chance.

Go Dees!

Marvellous to go into the final round with second spot sewn up and a mathematical chance of top spot. 😎

All season on DL there are calls for this player or that player to be dropped.

In the last few weeks there has been a crescendo of such talk, with posters variously calling for  Nibbler, Spargo, Swallow, JJ, Harmes and Melksham (though not now!) to be dropped.

Which is all fine - as many have noted it is a footy forum for opinions after all. 

But i reckon this quote from Goody's presser yesterday (which i cant find a video of) gives a great insight into one of goody's key coaching philosophies:

"One thing we do know with our team is that building cohesion in how you're playing and cohesion with the playing group that you have in the back four or five rounds of the season is really important. We have been able to do that. We have been able to keep our list really healthy the last four or five weeks and make sure they operate well together and that is the most important thing." 

I also found this comment interesting (confirmation bias alert - mine that is):

"They feel physically fresh, they feel ready to go, we feel like we have been able to build some cohesion in the way we play in the last four or five weeks."

4 hours ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Had a listen to SEN this morning, they played a bit of Fagan's media conference from yesterday. When asked about Neale and possibly Harmes tagging him I'm sure I heard he said we used questionable tactics to nullify Neale last time we played them. He then mentioned it's up to the umps to watch that sort of stuff. Just what the ump lovers on this forum wanted to hear.

Go Dees!!!

Questionable tactics?? LOL Clayton Oliver has been held of the ball, scragged, chained, blocked and every other totally negative ploy under the sun to stop him getting it and you know how many frees he has been given ???? About 1 

Go cry me a river Fagan!!!

2 hours ago, Engorged Onion said:

Unlike the other Grand Finalist (*Geelong), today the team are getting acclimatised to Grand Final Day weather a month early. 😎

Current conditions =

2078937951_ScreenShot2022-08-19at08_50_10.png

I’m arriving in Brisbane on Sunday for a holiday at Noosa… you’re making the wait seem even longer now 😂

22 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Questionable tactics?? LOL Clayton Oliver has been held of the ball, scragged, chained, blocked and every other totally negative ploy under the sun to stop him getting it and you know how many frees he has been given ???? About 1 

Having listened to a few of his pressers, starting to build a nice little body of work in the whinging stakes Fagan. 
Oliver is penalised purely because he is so damn good at what he does. 

4 hours ago, layzie said:

Get your gameday pants on people!

Will do mate. I’m already thinking up some irrational nonsense to post later!

The less we hear John Denver tonight the happier we will all be!

I watched our earlier game this year again

We killed them. And without Gawn who was sitting in the stands

They have some weapons and are a 3/4 goal better side at the Gabba but we have got this if we show up

10 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Will do mate. I’m already thinking up some irrational nonsense to post later!

Win and it's "[censored] Yeah"

Lose and It's "Oh well, I always wanted to eliminate Richmond from the finals"

Big game, prime time, it is going to be a beauty.

Hope we get over the line.

Our crumbing forwards to take it on.

Coaches to get the best out of the players.

Hope we hold their better players and their lesser lights don't stand up for a once off.

Trust in our back-line, at least in the first half so they aren't the front runners.

Would love to see us play several 10 minute periods when we go, bang bang bang.

Want some great ball movement of the half-back. 

Our primes to be too good for theirs.

Go Dees! 

Edited by kev martin

Love a win and love to see The Barometer driven deep into the Gabba turf 

It will be on physically from the first bounce. 
lewis was asked who he thought would win. He said the demons as it’s hard for the Lions to know what to change from the belting they took last time. I think he was saying if they try to focus on being physical they will lose their game plan. I expect them to come out and hit us maybe even over the top stuff. Goody will have them prepared to keep their cool. First Q sound be a ripper. Massive pressure on the lions to win after choking in finals

1 hour ago, binman said:

All season on DL there are calls for this player or that player to be dropped.

In the last few weeks there has been a crescendo of such talk, with posters variously calling for  Nibbler, Spargo, Swallow, JJ, Harmes and Melksham (though not now!) to be dropped.

Which is all fine - as many have noted it is a footy forum for opinions after all. 

But i reckon this quote from Goody's presser yesterday (which i cant find a video of) gives a great insight into one of goody's key coaching philosophies:

"One thing we do know with our team is that building cohesion in how you're playing and cohesion with the playing group that you have in the back four or five rounds of the season is really important. We have been able to do that. We have been able to keep our list really healthy the last four or five weeks and make sure they operate well together and that is the most important thing." 

I also found this comment interesting (confirmation bias alert - mine that is):

"They feel physically fresh, they feel ready to go, we feel like we have been able to build some cohesion in the way we play in the last four or five weeks."

Cohesion is a key ingredient in successful sides. Ben Darwin from Gain Line Analytics goes into in this podcast with Marc McGowan - it's a pity this podcast ceased as there were some great discussions in its brief stint.

I am absolutely clueless about tonite. Hope Daniher can provide a few laughs though.

1 hour ago, picket fence said:

Thought last week with Oliver the pre tackle had started to creep back in, seemed to be tackled several times before he had actually taken possession 

1 hour ago, CYB said:

Butterflies have already started. I don't know where you all get your confidence from. 

Either way we are in for a cracker of a game. If we can bring the intensity of the past couple of weeks, we will have a good chance.

Go Dees!

We're in it together CYB. It will be tough but as long as our boys give everything they have that's all we can ask.

What a wonderful week it's been!

It started last Saturday when we were given the unmitigated pleasure of watching smug and confident Carlton supporters reduced to whimpering despair.

It continued with week long viewing of the  soap opera provided by  Essendrug's pathetic implosion

......but .... the finale will be provided tonight, when the Dees start their relentless march toward BACK to BACK!

You can back it in!