dees189227 12,512 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 I'm confused, Rutten hasn't been sacked yet so why is Clarkson telling everyone he's interested in the bombers job? Gee Rutten would be feeling low. If Clarkson does take the bummers gig, I'll cry if he gets Todd over & would have to see Todd in essenscum gear 2 Quote
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 7 minutes ago, dees189227 said: I'm confused, Rutten hasn't been sacked yet so why is Clarkson telling everyone he's interested in the bombers job? Gee Rutten would be feeling low. If Clarkson does take the bummers gig, I'll cry if he gets Todd over & would have to see Todd in essenscum gear This just highlights what a low life dog of a club Essendon is. To leave Rutten in such a lame duck and humiliating position is unbelievably shabby treatment. 12 1 Quote
monoccular 17,760 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 I must say I haven’t followed Rutten’s career much. What was his apprenticeship with what areas of responsibility? Would he make a midfield or a forward coach? I realise he was an ex defender but that could prepare his as a forward coach. Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 27 minutes ago, dees189227 said: I'm confused, Rutten hasn't been sacked yet so why is Clarkson telling everyone he's interested in the bombers job? Gee Rutten would be feeling low. If Clarkson does take the bummers gig, I'll cry if he gets Todd over & would have to see Todd in essenscum gear It is an awful way to treat your senior coach. The club has really lost its way and is a joke. 1 Quote
chook fowler 19,772 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 15 minutes ago, layzie said: It is an awful way to treat your senior coach. The club has really lost its way and is a joke. nothing new for them. I hope they have continued failure. 1 Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 35 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said: This just highlights what a low life dog of a club Essendon is. To leave Rutten in such a lame duck and humiliating position is unbelievably shabby treatment. Maybe. Or maybe Essendon is working to develop an appropriate severance package. I assume Rutten can't quit or he loses the right to claim a severance payment. And Essendon presumably didn't start working on an appropriate arrangement until yesterday. Hopefully the delay is being caused by Essendon trying to do the right thing by Rutten now that they've (presumably) decided to move him on. 1 Quote
ManDee 7,395 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 4 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said: Maybe. Or maybe Essendon is working to develop an appropriate severance package. I assume Rutten can't quit or he loses the right to claim a severance payment. And Essendon presumably didn't start working on an appropriate arrangement until yesterday. Hopefully the delay is being caused by Essendon trying to do the right thing by Rutten now that they've (presumably) decided to move him on. Essendon do the right thing! 😄 🤣 That would be different! 1 Quote
Wilbur 447 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 I am absolutely loving watching the awful, cheating ,scumbag filled club that is essendon imploding yet again. Chefs kiss 5 Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 I wonder what they'll do if Clarkson turns them down... It is being reported that Clarkson is "interested" in talking to Essendon, but for all we know, he's just doing that (if it's true) to extract a better deal from North. Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 (edited) 1 hour ago, Bitter but optimistic said: This just highlights what a low life dog of a club Essendon is. To leave Rutten in such a lame duck and humiliating position is unbelievably shabby treatment. He can't resign or he loses his money. If they get Clarko he is gone and will have to be paid out. Probably gone now anyway, as they have backstabbed him. I would take him on as an Assistant Coach, at no salary, until his Bombers payment ends and then he could be paid by us for his role. We could perhaps pay some out of pocket expenses, to boost his salary a little, but he would be getting full Coaches' pay from the Bombers. How does that sound? He works for us and is paid by them. If Bombers don't like it, he could be listed by us as a Trainer. Edited August 16, 2022 by Redleg 1 1 Quote
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 3 minutes ago, Redleg said: He can't resign or he loses his money. If they get Clarko he is gone and will have to be paid out. Probably gone now anyway, as they have backstabbed him. I would take him on as an Assistant Coach, at no salary, until his Bombers payment ends and then he could be paid by us for his role. We could perhaps pay some out of pocket expenses, to boost his salary a little, but he would be getting full Coaches' pay from the Bombers. How does that sound? He works for us and is paid by them. Sounds fine ....................... if we actually wanted him! Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 4 minutes ago, Redleg said: He can't resign or he loses his money. If they get Clarko he is gone and will have to be paid out. Probably gone now anyway, as they have backstabbed him. I would take him on as an Assistant Coach, at no salary, until his Bombers payment ends and then he could be paid by us for his role. We could perhaps pay some out of pocket expenses, to boost his salary a little, but he would be getting full Coaches' pay from the Bombers. How does that sound? He works for us and is paid by them. If Bombers don't like it, he could be listed by us as a Trainer. i like the way you think, red can see why you are a lawyer 😆 1 Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 10 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said: Sounds fine ....................... if we actually wanted him! Don't know if we would, but it now looks like Yze is gone. Apparently down to Mc Veigh, Kingsley and Yze for Giants. Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 10 minutes ago, daisycutter said: i like the way you think, red can see why you are a lawyer 😆 Yes you tend to do a lot of lateral thinking. Maybe my pillows are too high at night and it affects the tilt of my head. Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 Looks like a fair chunk of the playing group threw him under the bus on Sunday. Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,023 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 ArmagedDON - can always be replied upon to do the right thing after all other options have been exhausted. Quote
Demonstone 23,573 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 If I was Ben Rutten I'd be saying "Armageddon out of here". 3 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 Catching up on Footy Classified right now. That footage of Nick Hind coming off and not even looking at Rutten was cringeworthy. He doesn't have the buy in. 1 Quote
DubDee 26,674 Posted August 17, 2022 Posted August 17, 2022 The BomberBlitz Ben Rutten thread is a fun read if you are bored my fav so far: giving birth was less painful then this process Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted August 17, 2022 Posted August 17, 2022 On 8/16/2022 at 2:07 PM, Bitter but optimistic said: This just highlights what a low life dog of a club Essendon is. To leave Rutten in such a lame duck and humiliating position is unbelievably shabby treatment. Agree wouldn't be a tick in the plus for Clarko when he is weighing it up. Honestly sack him let him coach his last game with dignity and move on. It's really disgusting , how the club can ever claim to be one that looks after its staffs mental health after this . 2 Quote
Deeoldfart 8,201 Posted August 17, 2022 Posted August 17, 2022 (edited) Haven’t read most of this thread, but I regard the way Essendon is treating Rutten, as akin to cheating on your long term partner, in public. The relationship is no longer tenable. Edited August 17, 2022 by Deeoldfart 1 Quote
Cheap Seats 3,310 Posted August 17, 2022 Posted August 17, 2022 I'm pretty sure Rutten was highly rated before the Essendon job. I wonder what his chances are ending up an assistant next year? I could see him at the Dee's replacing Yze 1 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted August 17, 2022 Posted August 17, 2022 54 minutes ago, COVID Dan said: I'm pretty sure Rutten was highly rated before the Essendon job. I wonder what his chances are ending up an assistant next year? I could see him at the Dee's replacing Yze I actually thought it was the wrong appointment at the time as there was a mega walkout looming at the same time. It appears as though the group never really had the respect and belief from day 1 given how fragile the whole club after making the top 8 last year. I think the AFL should throw an extra -20% to ensure Clarkson ends up at Norf. Essendon need to suffer for much much longer. 2 Quote
Thehardtackler 785 Posted August 17, 2022 Posted August 17, 2022 I do not care what happens regarding Rutten and Clarkson as long as Essendon keep missing the finals. They are the one team I truly loathe. 3 1 Quote
Supermercado 2,806 Posted August 17, 2022 Posted August 17, 2022 Hope for his sake he's bringing prime Franklin, Roughead, Hodge and Rioli too. Quote