He de mon 944 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 It wasn't pretty, but that was a great win. The pressure was immense. 5 2 Quote
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 (edited) Worst umpiring I have just about ever seen. Our class won out in the end. Welcome back, Petracca. Edited July 2, 2022 by Clint Bizkit 9 1 Quote
Jumping Jack Clennett 1,825 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 I think that was a great win. No rucks. No frees. 6 Quote
jnrmac 20,381 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 Just now, Larry, Moe or Curly said: I'd like to suggest to anyone who's had a gut full of the inept, corrupt umpiring of interstate games to contact the AFL tonight and voice your displeasure. Absolute amateur hour, get some umpires who've got some balls to call the game correctly rather than the feckless cowards we have to put up with Hear hear 1 Quote
david_neitz_is_my_dad 4,084 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 Reilly O'Brien must be feeling satisfied... Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 Immense win without a ruckman and really missing a quality tall. Our midfield is a beast. 4 2 Quote
Redleg 42,180 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 5 minutes ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said: 23 to 9 Cheats 16-3 after quarter time. That is not an accident. Are umpires 20 and 31 locals? Well done boys, no ruck and beat 21. 5 1 2 1 Quote
I'va Worn Smith 996 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 One of the most appalling displays of umpiring I have ever seen and I've been around for a while. The AFL have tried to make the umps some sort of footy celebrities for TV purposes, but their feel for the game and judgement is just so bad. In fact, it currently is a blight on the game. This win tonight is bigger for us than the score would suggest. We had to beat incredible odds, which were solely down to atrocious umpiring, on Adelaide's turf and we did it with grit and determination. That's the Demon spirit, which nobody can deny. Not even the umpires. Go you mighty Demons. 14 2 1 Quote
DubDee 26,682 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 I might have been alone but I wasn’t worried all game. Whenever we were challenged we stepped up Check out Viney in the middle each time they got close. He is unbelievable 3 1 Quote
dees189227 12,517 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 God we go from Adelaide down to Geelong. Poor boys 1 Quote
DeeZee 7,496 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 No rucks and the most one sided pathetic umpires performance I’ve ever seen and we still won by 5 goals away from home. 2 2 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 Just now, Hampton 22 said: Weideman did ok Completed I guess which is all you can ask but was pretty average I thought 5 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 (edited) Overall midfield was very solid. We did very well given we weren’t with Gawn, LJ and even TMac who would be rucks 1,2 and 3. The forward talls were serviceable in the 2nd half enough to create contests but there was still poor delivery to them given number of intercepts taken by them. There were a few hit up leads when we moved the ball fast enough, but i suspect our risk taking atm is quite low so hopefully we can push the envelope here a little more. Umpiring was terrible both ways in the last quarter but we got the short end of the stick the entire game. It was quite a poor standard I think the Dees should make a polite enquiry on #20 Time to recover for next weeks game against the Pussycats Edited July 2, 2022 by CYB Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 8 minutes ago, Jaded No More said: I would give him a 7 year deal I'd sign him for life Quote
Maldonboy38 6,435 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 Very good win against a Crows side that were switched on, as hard as us at the footy, and killed us in the air. We MUST fix our aerial play inside F50. Until the last 10 minutes the crows backs picked us off, spoiled, blocked and out-marked us too easily. Also, we cannot miss easy shots at goal like Bedford, BBB and Spargo in the 3rd quarter. Great game by our midfield. As tough as the crows were, we outlasted them and took everything they gave to us. Langdon and Brayshaw: we will be talking about this combination for the next 50 years. Outstanding. Hats off to our backmen. Very, very well done. Don't know what to say about the umps. How about the head smack to Oliver? 6 Quote
Lil_red_fire_engine 11,387 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 No ruck no worries. No quality key forward taking marks no worries. 3 free kicks for in the last 3 quarters no worries. Crows gave great effort Walker challenges most backlines but we were just too hard and classy around the ball. Great see Trac back being Trac and Langdon back being Langdon. Take the 4 points and keep a space on the pack. We will need it with our run home. 10 Quote
bing181 9,474 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 Good, grind-it-out win under the circumstances. Feel that some of the players who've missed patches of footy are still a bit off the pace - May and Salem in particular, though Langdon was back to doing what he does. Hopefully only a matter of time, especially as we have some testing games ahead. Gawn and Jackson can't come back in quick enough. Quote
Smokey 4,391 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 12 minutes ago, SPC said: No normally an ump basher, missed all of ours and gifted them. Missed a Ben Brown mark as well. Should be raised by the club. Who cares, we won Quote
MrFreeze 2,055 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 Really enjoyed that. Tough, gutsy win. Battled injury, umpires and a tough Adelaide team. Go Dees. 2 Quote
Nasher 33,686 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 14 minutes ago, Jaded No More said: I would give him a 7 year deal Big call! Quote
Superunknown 4,246 Posted July 2, 2022 Posted July 2, 2022 Umpiring warm the firing squad up heads must roll 4 1 Quote