Posted
On 6/24/2022 at 4:28 AM, BDA said:

Bedford deserves a run of games. 2 very well taken goals, applied pressure and linked well with kossie a few times. 

no changes for me

We essentially went small with mbrown n gawn out for weid and Bedford.

Unless the weid can show something to be that tmac role, That looks to be the mix now. When gawn gets back. Gawn in. Weid out.

BBB as the sole tall forward and gawn/Jackson rotate as the second and a fleet of small forwards. 

Posted

I love it how everyone knows there should be no change but everyone loves to change things. The only best 22 player outside that side that could be available at any point soon is Gawn. Whilst his ankle may be better sooner than expected he was already carrying a dodgy back. We should be doing all we can to freshen him up until he is cherry ripe and champing at the bit for the rest of the run home and finals. 

Posted
2 hours ago, jacey said:

We essentially went small with mbrown n gawn out for weid and Bedford.

Unless the weid can show something to be that tmac role, That looks to be the mix now. When gawn gets back. Gawn in. Weid out.

BBB as the sole tall forward and gawn/Jackson rotate as the second and a fleet of small forwards.

In the press conf Goodwin said going in with a shorter player instead of a tall won't happen every week.

Posted

Playing 4 small forwards is an interesting tactic, I think Bedford and Kozzie will form a lethal combination if allowed to play together for an extended period. But can we go that small every week, especially against sides like Freo and Geelong with a lot of tall intercept defenders? I am not sure.

This week however, no change.

Posted
6 minutes ago, sisso said:

Playing 4 small forwards is an interesting tactic, I think Bedford and Kozzie will form a lethal combination if allowed to play together for an extended period. But can we go that small every week, especially against sides like Freo and Geelong with a lot of tall intercept defenders? I am not sure.

You can if you dont bomb it in. I actually think it also works just as well if not better with Gawn resting forward as the second tall. The 4 smalls meant ANB and Spargo could continue to play higher almost mainly wing/back half connectors and Pickett and Toby could play more mid to forward 50. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Lil_red_fire_engine said:

You can if you dont bomb it in. I actually think it also works just as well if not better with Gawn resting forward as the second tall. The 4 smalls meant ANB and Spargo could continue to play higher almost mainly wing/back half connectors and Pickett and Toby could play more mid to forward 50. 

I like that.

Keep the same team this week then Gawn for Weideman vs Geelong if Max is ready.

Then settle the team and our methods over the last month or so ready for finals.

Posted

With the inconsistency of our scoring, we cannot afford to not play a potential 2 goal a game small in Tobias Bedford

Posted
48 minutes ago, adonski said:

With the inconsistency of our scoring, we cannot afford to not play a potential 2 goal a game small in Tobias Bedford

100% agree in as much he’s too good for VFL and has a real impact for us whenever he plays

Posted
11 hours ago, Dees2014 said:

The melbourne way has been we select on merit. It has proved to be successful in the past, at least recently, and in my view should not change it. 

It wasn’t successful for the previous 3 weeks. In fact I think there’s a decent argument that taking Gawn and Lever over to Perth cost us at least 1 win against Sydney or Collingwood.

If Max is back for the Cats game that gives us some tall cover.

But we’ll need fresh runners for one of the next 2 weeks. It’s ok to think strategically about how we manage that.

Posted
2 hours ago, Lil_red_fire_engine said:

I agree mate although we will bomb it in at times anyway as that's how go to if we can't move it in quick enough. Having two talls for this strategy is still plenty though.

Posted
6 hours ago, Chelly said:

We all know that Goodwin tends to the conservative side when it comes to team selection so it will most likely be no change even down to the sub assuming Jayden Hunt gets through today’s game with Casey.

Given that there’s a five day break between our trips to Adelaide and Geelong, Max is likely to play the latter if he’s fit to go by then (it would also be at the lower end of his initial diagnosis).

IMO it would be crazy to rush Max back before he has fully recovered.   Mad Max stuff. 

2 hours ago, sisso said:

I still reckon a versatile tall like Tomlinson would be  a safer bet as sub.  Or even Weed if and when Max squeezes him out.  Small and runners are easier to shuffle around.  

Posted

Salem if not 100% would be the only change. Rivers or Hunt could cover him.

Loved the look of the smaller forwardline and Weid was handy as 2nd ruck. Competed well and was much more physically than BBB. Have a slight concern over Brown getting moved off the ball too easy, but we need to stick with him. 

Posted

No changes necessary for this coming weekend ☺️

Posted

Absolutely no changes please. Rivers is the only player at VFL level who deserves a game at some point this year. Gawn and McDonald need some recuperation time.

Posted

I know he played out the game but could there be a concern for Petracca? He didn’t look great in the immediate aftermath of the collision. 

I would be trying to avoid rushing Gawn back in as much as possible, he was massive for the finals and lead up last season. 

I also thought Weid worked really hard and earned his place in the team for next week. 

Posted
5 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

It wasn’t successful for the previous 3 weeks. In fact I think there’s a decent argument that taking Gawn and Lever over to Perth cost us at least 1 win against Sydney or Collingwood.

If Max is back for the Cats game that gives us some tall cover.

But we’ll need fresh runners for one of the next 2 weeks. It’s ok to think strategically about how we manage that.

Quite. As l said, we select on merit and team structures!

Posted

Handy that Tom Stewart will miss our round 17 game with suspension (unless he somehow gets 1 week)

No change this week unless someone has a niggle. Don’t rush Max this week with a 5 day break between Adelaide and Geelong.

We need to somehow find a happy medium between getting the 4 points against Adelaide  but not going “Bull at a gate” like we did against Brisbane, considering we have the toughest assignment in footy 5 days later.

Posted
On 6/25/2022 at 8:40 AM, Lil_red_fire_engine said:

I love it how everyone knows there should be no change but everyone loves to change things. The only best 22 player outside that side that could be available at any point soon is Gawn. Whilst his ankle may be better sooner than expected he was already carrying a dodgy back. We should be doing all we can to freshen him up until he is cherry ripe and champing at the bit for the rest of the run home and finals. 

Agree about Maxy but you are forgetting Rivers in full flight is in our best 23. Bedford should be in also if not then Tmac if fit or Weid if need more on the ball height and skills.

Posted

I think Rivers is feeling the impact of an interrupted preseason. We need him up and about but he just looks flat and struggling with the pace.

I also think Hunt as the sub could be a game changer for us over the coming weeks. He can play forward or back, and when the game opens up after half time if he came on fresh he could be a real advantage.

Bedfords pressure was fantastic on Thursday. We just looked better equipped to apply the necessary forward half pressure to give us consistent looks. I also think with a smaller forward line we used the ball better, and forward handball from stoppage more efficiently, because we knew we couldn’t bomb it forward from the back of every clearance like we have for the last month.

I don’t see any changes this week.

Posted
11 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Handy that Tom Stewart will miss our round 17 game with suspension (unless he somehow gets 1 week)

Stewart will get  a minimum of 3 weeks, likely 4 if it is assessed as severe impact, which it should be because Prestia was in a world of trouble. It was slickening watching him try to lft his chest and head off the ground.

Hard not to fear the impact that concussion might have on Dion down the track (ie post playing career).

Posted
31 minutes ago, Demonland said:

INJURIES

Adelaide: Walker (back), McHenry (concussion), Forgarty (elbow), McAdam (ankle) Hamill (concussion)

And a 6 day break Vs our 9 day break

thats their entire fwd line!

Posted
6 hours ago, 58er said:

Agree about Maxy but you are forgetting Rivers in full flight is in our best 23. Bedford should be in also if not then Tmac if fit or Weid if need more on the ball height and skills.

Best 23 maybe but not 22 in my view. At least not 2022 Rivers. The best of Salem, Gus, Hibbo, Bowey has him covered this year and I dont see another defensive rotation. A full preseason and another year in his body he will back in our best.