Posted
6 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

I can’t see Laurie being played ahead of Bedford. 

Me neither, but they're different types of players, not really like-for-like. So would depend on who's available/out.

Posted
41 minutes ago, Smokey said:

Can’t see Laurie getting a game. Some very important players coming back in. Especially petty. 

Laurie getting named is probably an encouragement award 

Posted
1 hour ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

He played key position forward, and took 1 mark... He desperately needs to bust a game open but we're still waiting

He is was back up ruck. Essentially the third tall. We can cut him slack like we do Jackson for impact forward.

Posted

Good to see he club having some selection issues.

Posted
9 minutes ago, FarNorthernD said:

Laurie getting named is probably an encouragement award 

Well it will keep him keen that he's close and I do think he's bloody close.  If it was any other team in the league, he would have had a taste in the one's by now.

From the Casey games I have seen this year he's been very good showing a lot of speed and some nice skills.  

I'm excited to see how he goes but he's not getting a look in whilst ANB, Spargo and Kozzy are lurking.  He'll be learning from these lads for now and remains next in line.

Posted
2 hours ago, Garbo said:

Interesting if Weid does go out, tmac went back for one game and played well in the two's gets in on back on covid changes and plays just ok. But Weid who despite flaws in his game has kicked goals and even helped in the ruck last week. Not sure what message that sends 

The message might just be that it's a [censored]kin hard job fitting 26 absolute guns into 22.

Posted
2 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Has he done much at Casey? Maybe getting named in the squad is a sort of encouragement award!

Had his best game last week. Doubt he makes the starting 22, but he's been selected ahead of Chandler and Melksham, so the match committee must see something in him.

Posted
2 hours ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

He played key position forward, and took 1 mark... He desperately needs to bust a game open but we're still waiting

It's ok GYM, plenty seem prepared to wait forever.

Posted

I have a feeling we may not get all 5 back. ANB would be the one that is most probable to miss one more. The other 4 had got it early enough in the week.

Interesting we haven’t seen team photos from today. 

Posted
50 minutes ago, Jibroni said:

Good to see he club having some selection issues.

Agreed.

Many of the unlucky ones would be regulars at 9 or 10 other clubs

Fantastic to have such depth and know the Casey is on the same page developing players

Posted
2 hours ago, chook fowler said:

I can’t see Laurie being played ahead of Bedford. 

I sense a slight undercurrent for tweaking the forward line in the not too distant future. T Mac and Weid have only a few more chances. Melksham isn't the answer. Could Laurie be the post bye utility type forward to deliver that extra element to what is probably our weakest area

Posted (edited)

Isn't ANB in protocol until friday?

If so he may miss again not having trained during the week.

Hard to drop Bedford and you would think they would want to play Dunstan against his old side.

Interesting!

Edited by Redleg
Posted
1 hour ago, Deeko2 said:

Well it will keep him keen that he's close and I do think he's bloody close.  If it was any other team in the league, he would have had a taste in the one's by now.

From the Casey games I have seen this year he's been very good showing a lot of speed and some nice skills.  

I'm excited to see how he goes but he's not getting a look in whilst ANB, Spargo and Kozzy are lurking.  He'll be learning from these lads for now and remains next in line.

I want him to play he is classy

Posted
1 hour ago, CYB said:

I have a feeling we may not get all 5 back. ANB would be the one that is most probable to miss one more. The other 4 had got it early enough in the week.

Interesting we haven’t seen team photos from today. 

https://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/1118521/training-gallery-may-5

Good to see Petty & Pickett

Posted
4 hours ago, Garbo said:

Interesting if Weid does go out, tmac went back for one game and played well in the two's gets in on back on covid changes and plays just ok. But Weid who despite flaws in his game has kicked goals and even helped in the ruck last week. Not sure what message that sends 

Maybe Jacko is NQR, and covid has had some lingering effects.

Interesting that Goody also said in presser they hadn't decided on their best forward setup, when previously he said it involved only 2 talls without counting Jacko

Posted
4 hours ago, Ollie fan said:

Poor Melksham is going to really struggle to get to his 200…

If not for the Essendon drug saga, Melksham would have already hit 200 games. He also would likely have played 100 games for the Demon's making him a life member.

I would like to see him get to 200 as he is so close, but he has to earn it from here. If he doesn't then he can blame his original club.

Posted

Looks like the bench will be Jackson, Sparrow, Pickett and Neal-Bullen which is a bit of a shame as I see Weideman as the future so the more games he gets the better and Bedford is stiff played really well will probably be the sub again.

Posted

Laurie won't be sub. They wouldn't do that to a player yet to debut, but then I thought the RBA wouldn't lift the cashrate target this week either, so what would I know?

Posted

I saw afl360 and they spoke about melbourne: We've gone from 3rd in pressure to 14th. This is something that I've been concerned about for some time. David king thinks that it's a mentality thing and that we turn it up when we need but I agreed with Montagna in that it's certainly not by design and we're getting in bad habits and that showed with the ease of the ball movement that the Hawks enjoyed against us. 

I want to see manic pressure this week and start turning things around. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Deedubs said:

I saw afl360 and they spoke about melbourne: We've gone from 3rd in pressure to 14th. 

Fox Footy are a bit selective in their stats use - just giving the number is meaningless.

Pressure numbers for the (atrocious) game in Cairns were probably through the roof because no-one could hold onto the footy, whereas our game against Port would have been incredibly low because we just waited for them to make mistakes chipping it around. Average is going to be skewed by that after only 7 games.

Posted
4 hours ago, Demons1858 said:

Maybe Jacko is NQR, and covid has had some lingering effects.

Interesting that Goody also said in presser they hadn't decided on their best forward setup, when previously he said it involved only 2 talls without counting Jacko

I don’t think it would be a good idea to announce a preferred option this early in the season. Covid & or injury has and will continue to give Weideman chances to prove himself.