Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Ross Lyon.

I pay no attention to a guy that paid hush money for a sexual harassment incident that swept under the carpet. Up there with Wayne Carey as the biggest oxygen thief out there.

I did laugh at this but..

Gee, how do all the local footy coaches do it ?

Posted
4 minutes ago, loges said:

Gee, how do all the local footy coaches do it ?

How did North Smith do it? Only won 6 flags by coaching from the bench.

Posted
48 minutes ago, Demon17 said:

Lyon tips the Dogs and Max for BOG.

Fair dinkum?  If Max is BOG we win by 6 goals.

Is Ross for real these days????

Now that he is on media Street he has to go against the grain to stay relevant

Posted
2 hours ago, KysaiahMessiah said:

That one disgusted me, could have killed him or at least paralysed him

Long did a lot of good work in opposition to racism over the years, but he'd have to do a damn sight more before I'll ever forgive him for that. Happened right in front of me. Sickening. 

• Vomit 2
Posted

That is the weirdest thing for Ross Lyon to say.

It is called trust.  Goodwin trusts his team in the box and he is getting feedback from the box.  It has been incredibly successful this year.

How Lyon can say it is an advantage to the op coach is beyond me.

He usually makes some sense.  Not this time.

Posted

The media like us to think Ross Lyon is a gun coach in waiting. I reckon no one wants him. He is good at controlling PR. He leaves in worse states then when he arrives

Posted

Ok so this might be a little left field but there are things I'm seeing outside of the club that strengthen my belief that we will win the flag. 

I've been listening to the Gus and Gawny podcast for a while now and things like 'Positive Lingers, ' Win The Morning Club', 'Elite Ball Kickers (started by Chocco) amongst everything else that is thrown into how strong this group is is quite unbelievable. I don't know how many other clubs have these little things going on inside their 4 walls, but it's great to see how united these players are. 

We've heard all year how it's been player driven and even the footage of standards (the paper cup in the change rooms etc) and little clips of the boys at training doing the number count runs. It's all adding up. 

Not only was the footage great from when we won the prelim of the celebrations afterwards by all the players who didn't play, but I saw this first hand when we beat the Eagles at Optus earlier in the year. Once we won that game, all the players came over and waved a thank you to the crowd, the 2's players then came out and did a 25 min training session while the 1's players were giving them high 5's and hugs as they were walking off the ground. 

Seeing all this footage makes me believe that this group is very, very special. I wouldn't typically read into these small things, but the difference it makes is so clear now. I'm still nervous don't get me wrong, but my confidence in my group who are playing for each other is unshakeable. 

P.S - For anyone who thinks we should trade Gus, go and listen to the podcast. We simply can't get rid of people like this. He is a big gel for this club for relationships with players. He plays his role and plays it well (of course we'd all love him to have 30+ and kick 2), he's super valuable on and off-field. 

P.PS. - this week has felt like 8 months long

• Like 13

Posted
35 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

That is the weirdest thing for Ross Lyon to say.

It is called trust.  Goodwin trusts his team in the box and he is getting feedback from the box.  It has been incredibly successful this year.

How Lyon can say it is an advantage to the op coach is beyond me.

He usually makes some sense.  Not this time.

Or Goodwin just trusts Yze, Chaplin and Stafford to make adjustments. Lyon’s ego wouldn’t have that I am sure.

Posted
2 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Jordon remains sub?

I think Subs will be used strategically and i'd be opting for Hunt, as i expect they'll be opting for JJ, i reckon the extra speed when everyone is tired offers a real weapon. 

Bring Hunt in at 3/4 time and let him buzz around the forward half could kick 2-3 and be the difference 

Posted
1 hour ago, Jara said:

Long did a lot of good work in opposition to racism over the years, but he'd have to do a damn sight more before I'll ever forgive him for that. Happened right in front of me. Sickening. 

The 2 are completely separate issues.

He could win the Nobel prize for his activism and still be a filthy dog for that hit on Simmonds. 

Posted

Hunt is the absolute obvious choice as sub. Some injury concerns on May, Hunt allows to reshuffle the backs. He can cover Spargo or a small forward and can play wing. Move dynamic and versatile player. I’d put Smith in this category, but I think Hunt is ahead of him.

Posted (edited)

We'll be none the wiser as to the sub's identity even when the team is announced this evening, because he will be one of the four emergencies named.

I expect the starting 22 to be unchanged and the four emergencies  to be Jordon, Hunt,  Melksham and A. Nother with Jordon getting the nod.

Edited by Demonstone
more info

Posted (edited)
16 minutes ago, Dwight Schrute said:

I think Subs will be used strategically and i'd be opting for Hunt, as i expect they'll be opting for JJ, i reckon the extra speed when everyone is tired offers a real weapon. 

Bring Hunt in at 3/4 time and let him buzz around the forward half could kick 2-3 and be the difference 

Or could get caught htb 2-3 times and be the difference

Edited by John Demonic
Posted
20 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Jordon remains sub?

Correct, he will. 

Emergencies will be Jordon, Smith, Melksham & Hunt

Posted
10 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

We'll be none the wiser as to the sub's identity even when the team is announced this evening, because he will be one of the four emergencies named.

I expect the starting 22 to be unchanged and the four emergencies  to be Jordon, Hunt,  Melksham and A. Nother with Jordon getting the nod.

What  happened in your second paragraph? I can’t make sense of it.