The Carlton figure has to be a furphy!

Interesting that the glamour club of the AFL has 7,000 less members than the Dees and just 4 more members than the side that was expected to go winless this year.

4 minutes ago, george_on_the_outer said:

12 years of AFL money being thrown at Gold Coast and all they can show is 19K members. 

Just locate to Tasmania, and they would have more members from day 1.

The Suns are the AFL's baby/problem child.

Can't see the AFL giving them up for adoption.

Would’ve thought Footscray would have way more members. Recent premiership, and seemingly huge support in the western suburbs. 

The revenue per member ladder would be very very interesting, not that you can blame some clubs for being creative, but I think that ladder would tell a very different story for a few clubs (St.K, Carlton and GWS in particular). 

1 hour ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

They gave them away for free

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/04/22/carltons-long-term-strategy-behind-bold-membership-ploy/

Every Carlton member who left money with the club in 2020 was given the opportunity to provide a general admission membership in 2021 for free to give to another Blues fan, as long as that member also renewed in 2021.

Footscray is an interesting one. Not only have they have a recent premiership as well as currently being a potent team, but they've really only had six uncompetitive years in the last thirty while racking up finals appearances and many charismatic, high profile players. Feels a bit like North from the 90s - 8 consecutive years of finals, 3 grand finals for 2 premierships, the absolute star of the competition and plenty of others with them... but it never translated into a growing supporter base.

As for Carlton - the Teague Train was coming! A lot of Carlton supporters went into this season feeling like they were on the cusp of something. The blues have several players who each could realistically be the best in their position when in form and returned from injury. There's something to proverbially 'build a team around' there and there were a lot of highly rated (highly drafted) kids who might have filled that 22 into something really potent even if they didn't all reach great heights.

Essendon... I have no idea why they have members at all. Their only impressive season in the last 15 years was the one they cheated in.

4 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

Essendon... I have no idea why they have members at all. Their only impressive season in the last 15 years was the one they cheated in.

gold

Essendon are a cult. The membership money is probably tithed from their earnings.

You just can't trust these numbers anymore.   3 game memberships are being counted which is not a membership at all

I wonder what the real numbers are. 

I'm amazed at the relatively low Adelaide number - surely that is capped somehow?

21 minutes ago, DubDee said:

You just can't trust these numbers anymore.   3 game memberships are being counted which is not a membership at all

I wonder what the real numbers are. 

Well as someone who lived overseas and bought a 3-game membership for zero return I would disagree with that. Especially for the price I’m paying. Anything below $100 shouldn’t be counted so “free” memberships definitely shouldn’t be counted, nor should pet memberships. 

I can’t fully trust those figures though. 30,000 GWS members (by the way the colours on that ladder graphic are awful for reading) can’t be real. 

15 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Lot of New Records even in the COVID era.

I reckon a record number of pets became members this year

Without any breakdown these number tell very little. For all we know the 25,000 civil servants working in Canberra all get 2 game Giants memberships as part of their salary package. 

4 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Why ?

they have had their figures publicised throughout this season in many forums and that figure absolutely reflects the truth.

However I believe It resembles their over confidence ( maybe old arrogance) in their supporters expectations for  2021.

I think whoever coaches them should expect genuinely to be above 9th no matter what in 2022.

1 hour ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Without any breakdown these number tell very little. For all we know the 25,000 civil servants working in Canberra all get 2 game Giants memberships as part of their salary package. 

agree... the number of reserved seat holders is probably a better measure of comparative revenues.

3 hours ago, Red and Blue realist said:

The revenue per member ladder would be very very interesting, not that you can blame some clubs for being creative, but I think that ladder would tell a very different story for a few clubs (St.K, Carlton and GWS in particular). 

Yep, WCE would be a mile on top and I reckon Adelaide would be next.  For WCE it is like you are on the wait list for the MCC, you need to take out a membership each year to get on a wait list for a seat to be vacated.

I’d like to know the revenue from memberships sales. Carlton’s membership numbers are clearly inflated with the “buy one get one deal”.

2 hours ago, Pollyanna said:

I'm amazed at the relatively low Adelaide number - surely that is capped somehow?

Every second person in Adelaide itself is a Pommy 10-pound migrant. They all barrack for the Crows. They all go to the games to yell and scream abuse as these characteristics must emulate the Premier league soccer and its historically, mandated anti-social behaviours for fans. Most of the Crows membership is from established Aussie families who understand and love footy stemming right through from a love of the SANFL and recently, into the AFL teams of Port and the Crows. Carna boys at Sturt!

Just now, Deemania since 56 said:

Every second person in Adelaide itself is a Pommy 10-pound migrant. They all barrack for the Crows. They all go to the games to yell and scream abuse as these characteristics must emulate the Premier league soccer and its historically, mandated anti-social behaviours for fans. Most of the Crows membership is from established Aussie families who understand and love footy stemming right through from a love of the SANFL and recently, into the AFL teams of Port and the Crows. Carna boys at Sturt!

Norwood please….Sturt!!!!