I am not sure if Turner has AFL level skills but he looks like a Melbourne defender. He looks like Jake Lever.

He looks to be putting on some genuine size.

He also looks quite a bit taller than Tomlinson who is listed at 194cm... so could be pushing 197/8cm

20 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

He’s a chance to make his debut if Petty doesn’t get up

You'd reckon. Depends on who is available (and who is selected). Certainly, that was a great performance - solid, talented, good hands, creates opportunities once a mark is taken. Great pick-up - let's encourage the coaches to '...get him right for senior football'.

Just now, Deemania since 56 said:

You'd reckon. Depends on who is available (and who is selected). Certainly, that was a great performance - solid, talented, good hands, creates opportunities once a mark is taken. Great pick-up - let's encourage the coaches to '...get him right for senior football'.

I'd like to add: looks a little like an 'early' Sean Wight.

In the lever mould, hard to play them both but definitely looks like he could develop into an AFL level intercept defender. I like him. 

21 minutes ago, Action Jackson said:

He looks to be putting on some genuine size.

He also looks quite a bit taller than Tomlinson who is listed at 194cm... so could be pushing 197/8cm

You are right there, when he first started he was like Oliver when he first started what I call puppy fat size this kid will make it for sure given a good run at it.

He's 194 cm, not 197.

Against Sydney, it'll be the smalls we need to worry about again rather than the talls.

Hunt and Rivers have been really underwhelming recently and it's been the reason we're leaking goals. 

The lack of midfield pressure allowed for Freos talls to get a hold of us a bit on the weekend but that was heavily influenced by Petracca's non-competitiveness. I get he was crook. But at times it actually cost us that he was lining up in the middle. It was a mistake to play him and hopefully we learn from that. 

Our mids need to be at their ferocious best on the weekend. 

Edited by JimmyGadson

20 minutes ago, JimmyGadson said:

He's 194 cm, not 197.

Against Sydney, it'll be the smalls we need to worry about again rather than the talls.

Hunt and Rivers have been really underwhelming recently and it's been the reason we're leaking goals. 

The lack of midfield pressure allowed for Freos talls to get a hold of us a bit on the weekend but that was heavily influenced by Petracca's non-competitiveness. I get he was crook. But at times it actually cost us that he was lining up in the middle. It was a mistake to play him and hopefully we learn from that. 

Our mids need to be at their ferocious best on the weekend. 

Harsh on Hunt.. Was forced to match up on talls at various stages during the Freo game. He hasnt been beaten all year until Saturday, but not many Demons won their position.. 

We looked like we lacked confidence to go forward at various stages, allowing Freo to set Up beautifully, then once they got it, they got separation on us very easily. 

3 minutes ago, Demon3 said:

Harsh on Hunt.. Was forced to match up on talls at various stages during the Freo game. He hasnt been beaten all year until Saturday, but not many Demons won their position.. 

We looked like we lacked confidence to go forward at various stages, allowing Freo to set Up beautifully, then once they got it, they got separation on us very easily. 

Yeh, you're probably correct. He looked like a deer in the headlights with ball in hand sometimes though Hunty. He has been good defensively most of the time this year. 

Bowey was down. 

I just thought their small forwards generally were afforded too much space.

Edited by JimmyGadson

2 minutes ago, JimmyGadson said:

Yeh, you're probably correct. He looked like a deer in the headlights with ball in hand sometimes though Hunty. He has been good defensively most of the time this year. 

Bowey was down. 

Yeah i agree, they all got beaten and the entire backline looked under pressure after half time. Wake up call for the Mids. Its won in the middle, the flow on effect from losing clearance and Contested poss is huge. Add that to 43% inside fwd 50 efficiency and it was a pretty meek performance. Ben Brown under some pressure as well.

Kid’s a gun. Reminds me of Jeremy McGovern. Big call, but I’m going with it. Looks slow but isn’t, reads the play beautifully, uses the body well, and disposes better than his height suggests.

1 hour ago, demon3165 said:

You are right there, when he first started he was like Oliver when he first started what I call puppy fat size this kid will make it for sure given a good run at it.

Still has Oliver's skin tone.

Early days of course, but looking like another huge tick for our culture and development programs, and obviously Jason Taylor and his team.

He’s a nice natural footballer but I think he’ll need more than 1 interrupted preseason to build strength and fitness to cover for a lack of speed and height at AFL level. As a former midfielder with a neat kick he should develop his attacking game too.

If Petty isn’t right and Sydney play 3 talls we might have to pick him, but especially without May for guidance and support it’s best to keep expectations low. 

1 hour ago, JimmyGadson said:

Bowey was down. 

We've got away with it for most of the season but we do miss Salem's toughness as well as skill down back.

On 5/30/2022 at 9:33 AM, dazzledavey36 said:

Get around Turner!  Looks to use the body well, reads it very well and a fantastic mark

Our drop in intercept marking has been an issue this year.

8 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Great to see a young bloke get a debut in a big game. It really adds some excitement!

Well done by Jakey Lever on breaking the news to him. They look a long way off a club/ team in disrepair with poor culture as the media have painted us...Go Well Disco!

20 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Absolutely fantastic - stoked to see - well done Daniel Turner and good luck!

Nice change to see the happy and united team on the track after the week we've had off the field!  Bring on Monday.

Great footage.

Congrats to Disco Well deserved

Turner is definitely a McGovern type.

Lump of a lad with natural football ability’s.

Disco is very popular amongst the lads too.

Edited by DeeZee