Posted

If Viney and Salem play we will win on Friday night. It will be tough and hard but I feel better going into this game than last week. 20 point win to the Dees. 
Viney will take away a good amount of Libba’s influence.

This is going to be a cracker.

I reckon we'll get up too. Adelaide was the kick up the a$$ we needed, especially confident if Viney gets up. 

5 minutes ago, bingers said:

Viney won't play. 

Salem - 50/50.

If neither play, I can't see us winning, especially at Doglands.

On the other hand, Trelor out is significant for them ... 

I think we’ll acquit ourselves well even if Salem doesn’t come back in. Viney sounds extremely doubtful, might not win but the boys have worked extremely hard this year to put themselves in this position. Should be hot early.

If we bring the same level of intensity and pressure that got us the win against the tiges and we kick straight then we’re a big chance. Treloar out compensates for Salem and even without Viney i still think we'll win.

Looking at the stats during the game on Saturday, the Dees were going okay in most areas, but the big thing for me was Adelaide’s high disposal efficiency (75% to 70%), and the Dees high turnovers (78 to 70). 

Our pressure impacts opposition disposal efficiency. It wasn’t there on Sat. However, if we get it right, the Dogs will be properly tested. The Dogs started bombing long under sustained Richmond pressure and they lost composure. 

If pressure is high, and we don’t turn over the ball as much, I think we can win. Selection this week should be focussed on the ability to exert sustained pressure.

Edited by Wylie

57 minutes ago, bingers said:

Viney won't play. 

Salem - 50/50.

If neither play, I can't see us winning, especially at Doglands.

Where have you heard Salem is 50/50?

15 minutes ago, Wylie said:

Looking at the stats during the game on Saturday, the Dees were going okay in most areas, but the big thing for me was Adelaide’s high disposal efficiency (75% to 70%), and the Dees high turnovers (78 to 70). 

Our pressure impacts opposition disposal efficiency. It wasn’t there on Sat. However, if we get it right, the Dogs will be properly tested. The Dogs started bombing long under sustained Richmond pressure and they lost composure. 

If pressure is high, and we don’t turn over the ball as much, I think we can win. Selection this week should be focussed on the ability to exert sustained pressure.

Uncontested possessions was the stat for me. We smashed Richmond in this earlier in the year and crows were all over us here on Saturday

I’ve picked us all year and I’m not about to change now.

Go Dees.

16 minutes ago, Wylie said:

Just now, Dr. Gonzo said:

Uncontested possessions was the stat for me. We smashed Richmond in this earlier in the year and crows were all over us here on Saturday

The other stat that caught my eye was Efficiency Inside 50  - Crows went at 51% - we normally keep the opposition under or just on 40% . We did lose a heap more one on ones in the D50 than normal 

Viney will be a bonus if he plays. Salem is absolutely essential.

This was most definitely a loss we had to have. We didn't do the things that have gots us here. The blocks and shepherds weren't there. We running off not helping the guy  5m away trying to get an easy handball. We were caught doing Hollywood crap. Fix this and we will competitive with Footscray. Do it not and we get thumped by 10 goals. All we need is to be competitive and then win or lose it will be close. I fully expect this to be the GF preview

Winning against the Dogs would be nice but the one we must win is against Brisbane.

We need to keep the interstate teams below us to avoid the interstate final

Today's covid outbreak in Vic could impact the Alice game on Friday week. Fingers crossed it doesn't.

I wish I shared your optimism. I reckon we'll drop the next two, lose a chunk of percentage and then get over the pies to go into the by 10-3.

10-3 isn't bad but we'll be back in amongst the pack fighting it out for top 4. Will the real Melbourne please stand up (hopefully the real Melbourne is good).

The Dogs are scarily good. We will have to go to the next level to get anywhere near them. Their weakest link are key defenders so if we’re to win our tall forwards will need to play blinders. Not having Treloar and Dunkley is also a plus but their midfield is still very strong. Not at all confident.

1 hour ago, Wylie said:

They also kicked 12 goals from turnovers.

Battle for the top of the ladder.

We are in every game and seem to play to the level of the other team.

Can we do the same against the best?

Without Treloar their midfield will be disrupted.

We have felt the pain of losing and don't want to experience it again. What a time to respond.

Hoping it all brings out the best in our footy. I can see us being switched on and bringing an excellent game at the dome.

If our skills don't do it, then our pressure, will and selflessness, will.

They are an accurate team when going and some of their leads always seem to have the opposition lagging a step or two behind. Would like to see us lead them to the ball and not fall behind them. This will need us to play shoulder to shoulder, read the play, be smart, and pressure the ball carrier. 

The "loss" is going to make us angrier. 

Edited by kev martin

6 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

The Dogs are scarily good. We will have to go to the next level to get anywhere near them. Their weakest link are key defenders so if we’re to win our tall forwards will need to play blinders. Not having Treloar and Dunkley is also a plus but their midfield is still very strong. Not at all confident.

How come a Richmond team missing Cotchin, Edwards, Lambert, and Prestia - basically four of their best 5 mids - beat them at the G about 3 weeks ago ?

They're not ''scarily good''.

There are no superstar teams.  There were years ago, not now.

Sorry. We will get bogged on.

1 minute ago, Hannibal Inc. said:

How come a Richmond team missing Cotchin, Edwards, Lambert, and Prestia - basically four of their best 5 mids - beat them at the G about 3 weeks ago ?

They're not ''scarily good''.

There are no superstar teams.  There were years ago, not now.

They were also made to look second rate at Marvel by Carlton for 3 quarters.

We will need to be at our best, but they are certainly beatable.

2 hours ago, Wylie said:

Said to a few that the Crows played a very high risk game style. Couple that with high DE is why they were able to look so smooth and transition the ball well and at the end of the day how they got over the line. Can they do that week in / week out? I highly doubt it. They will get a reality check this week against the Tigers.