Barely got out of a canter and won easily.

Looks like I won't have to buy a hat and eat it after all.

3 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Haven't seen the game but a few things I noticed were:

1. Carlton kicked 10.8. That is the fourth consecutive week we've conceded 18 scoring shots, which we also conceded in Rounds 1 and 2. It is the highest amount of scoring shots registered against us all year (the other three games were 13, 15 and 14).
  2. The fourth quarter was level. Whilst we didn't win it, we obviously also didn't lose it, meaning we've still only lost one fourth quarter all season.
  3. An interesting flip in clearances: this week we were +1 in centre clearances but -16 in stoppage clearances.

Our clearance work is awful. It's all down to Oliver and Trac. No one helping them.

BT -“ The fans are quiet because Melbourne supporters are bored of winning.”

I have no words…..  The most ridiculous comment I have heard in a long time.

Lever Lever Lever.....everytime they bomb it in......so refreshing.

6 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Haven't seen the game but a few things I noticed were:

1. Carlton kicked 10.8. That is the fourth consecutive week we've conceded 18 scoring shots, which we also conceded in Rounds 1 and 2. It is the highest amount of scoring shots registered against us all year (the other three games were 13, 15 and 14).
  2. The fourth quarter was level. Whilst we didn't win it, we obviously also didn't lose it, meaning we've still only lost one fourth quarter all season.
  3. An interesting flip in clearances: this week we were +1 in centre clearances but -16 in stoppage clearances.

We only concede an average of just over 27 points per second half of games.

What was the crowd for those at the game?

If any club knows that clearances can be deceiving its us from 2014-2020. We are setting up to be able to apply more pressure on the clearance exit and help out defence. We don’t have to win every clearance with a dinky handball to know one.

We’ve also become much better at transitioning the ball from defence - Salem, Hunt, Langdon. We have a definite structure to how we play. It was a good win without almost any individual brilliance. That’s what good teams do.

Just ‘business as usual’ for our Demons ..... and how good it is!

How the hell did Lever get pinged for holding the ball when he picked it up in congestion and was immediately tackled? At least they only scored a point from it, but it was a BS call

Good win to the boys. TMac massive.

9-0 baby!!!

I actually thought it was a great win. There were long periods of the game where there wasn’t much scoring - that to me says the game was a genuine arm wrestle. We scored heavily in the periods where we had ascendency and defended like Demons(!) during the period where they had it. 

I reckon the “meh, just a win” people are ratcheting the bar up a tad too high.

Factoring our misses on goal and carltons lucky snaps Im calling it Forty point win.

Not pretty against a lower side but thats the way this season is. Teams are close and its a wing and a prayer even for top teams at times.

Even though we havent burried anyone if we address our slow starts we will smash someone. Its the law of averages.

You just cant be nine zip and not be a very very good side.

3 minutes ago, praha said:

What was the crowd for those at the game?

Good consistent team effort, chasing down players without giving up.  The fwd line needs more work for the two new players to get into the system.  They were getting in each others ways today, more talk.  Would have liked to reach 100 points. 

Never in doubt!!!!

nine and bl00dy ZIP!

9 minutes ago, DeeWiz said:

Good win without really getting out of 3rd gear. Jimmy Jordon had a great game for me. Bit wasteful in front of goals, else the margin probably would have been 8-10 goals. 

Seemed like Carlton were the only team on the park where the holding the man rule applied

Jimmy had 13 tackles to go with his standard 20 disposals. Only 50% DE, though.

Well played ANB and Hunty.

Dare I say it but the structure is amazing.

Great four quarter game from Oliver.

Angus at least got a bit of it.

Umpiring is bamboozling!

Jordon good again. Jmac like.

We need to work out what to do with Weed and BBB.

Chandler struggled.

Trac's second half much more team oriented.

Spargo played his role beautifully.

Petty solid.

Centre clearances still a worry.

16 minutes ago, No Plan B said:

Starting to trust Petty. 

Applause from the members when he ran off for spell says it all. Lots of trust and appreciation all round for him

9 minutes ago, Wrecker46 said:

9 from 9 but we need to lift. It must be difficult hating life.

Relax, mate. We're coming up against the Doggies and the Lions, who are both flying right now. Chuffed we're 9-0, but that does not mean we rest on those numbers. We've been getting the job done so far, something that has really set us apart from others, and our past selves! But there will need to be a lift and we can't gift the Doggies those clearances. 

Our midfield will definitely have to lift when we come up against the dogs & lions.

But good win, no injuries which helps. 

Some good players were down but the good thing now is we have the depth of others to step up & cover them. 

A year ago if you said we would be 9-0 in2021 you'd wouldn't believe it. 

1 minute ago, Beetle said:

....does that include the players? :0

Job done again, against a determined team. Very similar to all our wins in that we just stuck to the game plan and did all the team things. We have great leaders and fantastic hard workers who don’t stop working together. 

Wow 9 weekends that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed in a footy season since............I cannot remember.

I've watched good teams play ordinary football and keep racking up wins for years.  It's pretty bloody exciting to finally follow a team doing the same.

Great signs.

And Viney makes us better.  He's important.

Edited by Hannibal Inc.