Posted

Maxy Gawn on the interchange bench, that is  4  AA  selections  congratulations Max.

Gawny played 14 games and virtually rucked on his own.  Not many ruckmen could carry the ruck load on there own  and deliver the goods throughout the game let alone the year  as he can.

Grundy  had an average year by his standards   and Goldstein  was outpointed by Preuss in a big victory by  the Dees and then he tapered off for the remainder of the year.

Well done Max you do deserve your selection . Why should anyone be surprised. 

Posted
27 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Reckon I’d take the Bont on the HF line over Butler. His second half if the year was poor

Bont doesn't play half forward. Reward the guys that actually do the job in the front half. Gunston, Papley and Butler are much worthy then bent on the half forward.

Team selection is corrupt. 

Posted

Congratulations to Petracca and Gawn. I was surprised Gawn made the squad, let alone the 22, but that cements him as one of the best players this club has ever had, let alone one of the best ruckmen the game has ever seen.

The 22 is pretty rubbish though. They insist on certain types of forwards and backs but then give up and just chuck midfields in on the wings and half-forward flanks. It's even more egregious this year when Butler and Papley both put together strong seasons and couldn't get a spot in a forward line filled with midfielders.

Posted
1 hour ago, No Plan B said:

I love Max Gawn. I think he's an absolutely brilliant ruckman and a terrific ambassador for the club.

But he shouldn't have been in the squad for this season, let alone the final 22. He really needs to "do a Luke Beveridge" and donate that jacket to Steven May.

Not only that Goldstein has every right to be scratching his head as I think he was the best ruckman this year and couldn't even land the backup spot.

Posted
1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Both Dangerfield and Bont named at half forwards..

Dangerfield = 11 goals

Bont = 11 goals.

Meanwhile true forward specialists players in Papley and Butler miss out...

Papley = 26 goals.

Butler = 27 goals.

Worst AA side ever!

Look at the selectors and you'll see why

WHO CHOOSES THE TEAM?

The All Australian selection panel is Gillon McLachlan (chairman), Kevin Bartlett, Luke Darcy, Steve Hocking, Glen Jakovich, Chris Johnson, Cameron Ling, Matthew Richardson and Warren Tredrea

Posted

BP. Brad Sheppard ? Brayden Maynard

Fb. Harris Andrews ? Steven May

Hbf. Darcy Byrne Jones ? Jordan Ridley

Wing. Cam Guthrie ? Andrew Gaff

HFF. Bont ? Zak Butters

Fp. Dustin Martin ? Jack Gunston

Fp. Liam Ryan ? Tom Papley

Int. Taylor Adams ? Clayton Oliver

Posted

This just goes to show that they pick who they see as the best 22 players in the squad and not the best players for each position. If you want a winger, ed langdon would beat out guthrie any day of the week (not too sure about other wingers from other clubs but you get the point). Not really fussed tbh, just interesting to note.

I though Max deserved it and he got in, awesome job to the big man!!

as for tracc, well we all knew that was coming. 

lovely to see two in the red and blue make it! 

Go Dees! 

Posted
46 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Bont doesn't play half forward. Reward the guys that actually do the job in the front half. Gunston, Papley and Butler are much worthy then bent on the half forward.

Team selection is corrupt. 

I get what you are saying. But if I was picking a team and had to choose. I’d choose the Bont. Butler is overrated. Not close to AA quality for me 

Posted

How did Rowell not win the rising star?? Clearly the best kid in the game. Played three and 3 BOGs

Serong will be a solid inside mid. But could be another Rhys Palmer

Posted
14 minutes ago, DubDee said:

How did Rowell not win the rising star?? Clearly the best kid in the game. Played three and 3 BOGs

He’ll win it next season. 

Posted
31 minutes ago, DubDee said:

I get what you are saying. But if I was picking a team and had to choose. I’d choose the Bont. Butler is overrated. Not close to AA quality for me 

Sure Bont is a better player clearly, but if you did that just pick 22 mids, why even bother to have a team. As a mid where Bont plays the majority of the time he wouldn’t be in the first dozen mids this year on form. One day if Bont goes and plays fwd most of the time then we can judge him on that but until that day he shouldn’t be in the side unless it’s as a mid. 

Posted
7 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Sure Bont is a better player clearly, but if you did that just pick 22 mids, why even bother to have a team. As a mid where Bont plays the majority of the time he wouldn’t be in the first dozen mids this year on form. One day if Bont goes and plays fwd most of the time then we can judge him on that but until that day he shouldn’t be in the side unless it’s as a mid. 

No I’m saying he would play the HF role far better than butler. He goes fwd in most games he plays. I get the positional argument but I’m happy with this call

Posted
2 hours ago, DubDee said:

Cam Guthrie AA.
Standards have slipped

nah, he was excellent this year...as an inside mid

their wings and forward flankers in particular were absurd

i probably would've had may and oliver in the side over andrews and adams respectively, and i might've been tempted to have goldstein in as starting ruckman over gawn

i think max getting in is reasonably controversial as he missed three games and was poor in round 1 and at least one other game too - at least they didn't put pendles in, who missed a quarter of the season thru injury - but i would rate his season as being better than nic nat overall

Posted
2 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Look at the selectors and you'll see why

WHO CHOOSES THE TEAM?

The All Australian selection panel is Gillon McLachlan (chairman), Kevin Bartlett, Luke Darcy, Steve Hocking, Glen Jakovich, Chris Johnson, Cameron Ling, Matthew Richardson and Warren Tredrea

So the real question is...who choses the selectors?

That's a really average committee.

Darcy, Ling & Richardson display their total lack of knowledge of the game on a regular basis into our lounge rooms...

Jakovich & Tredrea are dills.

KB??? I guess you should have one ex coach, but....

Gill (lol)...

Hocking (lol)

...and I'm not sure why Johnson is there??? seems the odd man out.

Posted
5 hours ago, Demonland said:

He’ll be in there. I’ll be ropeable if he isn’t named on the ground. 

Max will probably be on the bench. 

Clarry will miss out. 

First call was the winner!

Posted
52 minutes ago, rjay said:

So the real question is...who choses the selectors?

That's a really average committee.

Darcy, Ling & Richardson display their total lack of knowledge of the game on a regular basis into our lounge rooms...

Jakovich & Tredrea are dills.

KB??? I guess you should have one ex coach, but....

Gill (lol)...

Hocking (lol)

...and I'm not sure why Johnson is there??? seems the odd man out.

That’s bizarre. And kind of disappointing to discover the AA team is the best 22 AFL players in the league according to...some dudes. 

Posted

My favourite moment of the night was when the halfback line of Haynes, Moore and Byrne-Jones was announced, and Riewoldt and Brown had to wax lyrical about how they’d struggle to get a kick playing against such an imposing defence. They’d have had a field day playing on those three.

Posted

Johnno Brown against Darcy Moore!  I'd like to see that! ☺️ 

Not so sure about Riewoldt.  Mal Michael sends his regards....

Posted
5 hours ago, rjay said:

Daisy Pearce shows these three up every week. They should put her on the selection panel!

Posted
10 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Both Dangerfield and Bont named at half forwards..

Dangerfield = 11 goals

Bont = 11 goals.

Meanwhile true forward specialists players in Papley and Butler miss out...

Papley = 26 goals.

Butler = 27 goals.

Worst AA side ever!

But its not a team.  Its just  a group of players considreed the best 22 and then name slotted in somewhere.

This exercise makes no sense. Some are obvious, like Trac, Gawn, Moore, Andrews,  - rest are slot fillers.

Hugely dissrespectful to the rest of the hard working players who "own" their positions.  e.g. Papley, Langdon, 

Posted
9 hours ago, DubDee said:

He will win it next year (still qualifies, I believe) 

Posted
10 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Gawn in the team is just silly.

Stoked for Petracca, he and May should have been our only players in there.

10 hours ago, No Plan B said:

I love Max Gawn. I think he's an absolutely brilliant ruckman and a terrific ambassador for the club.

But he shouldn't have been in the squad for this season, let alone the final 22.

9 hours ago, CYB said:

May out of this side is a massive blunder. albeit having 3 AAs for non finals teams is a not a good look.

May was unlucky that there were so many key position defenders have career best seasons this year. We can't really claim he was robbed - he would have been a deserving selection, but Moore was every bit as good for Collingwood, and Weitering was stiff to miss as well. Andrews is an absolute weapon and is the best KPD in the league by a fair margin. 

On the other hand, Max benefited from a pretty down year for rucks across the league. The selectors usually pick 2, and although NicNat clearly had the better season, there was still daylight between Gawn and everyone else. Deserved his spot.

These teams are always a matter of splitting hairs, but I can't remember the last time we had 4 players genuinely in the conversation for All Australian. If our mid-tier and 'role' players ever sort their sh*t out, we have the makings of a damn good side.

Posted

I'm sort of torn.  Yes, the AA team wasn't picked on position but if my life depended on it and I had to choose either Dusty or Butler to play in the forward pocket, I would pick Dusty. Dusty only kicked 11 goals because he plays a lot of midfield. But he has shown this season what he can do when played forward. 

And gone are the days of set positions. They might start in a position but after that most players in the midfield and forward line roam up and around and go everywhere.  

That's why I'm sort of glad they didn't choose wingmen. There's probably only 6 or 7 players that play wing every week so picking say a mcluggage over a guy like Bontempelli or Macrae or Guthrie makes the team weaker because the sample size of wings is so small. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Better days ahead said:

Daisy Pearce shows these three up every week. 

Could not agree more.

Her fellow 'experts' should be totally embarrassed how much knowledgeable and switched on and verses in the modern game she is.

Beyond the knowledge she has developed from playing, it is evident she actually does research about the game in general and the game she is covering, which makes the complete lack of research by peanuts such as Darcy, Ling, Carey and Richardson shamefully obvious. How much do they get paid?

Of all the people involved in the coverage of footy across  fox and 7 she is by far the best, with Bartel and Hodge the best of the rest (which really is no great compliment).

Channel 7 should make her a main caller, not sideline her as boundary rider.