The Footy Show officially axed.

In regard to The Footy Show, its axing is long overdue.

The slide started many years ago due to the tired format and the continuation of the tedious bogan male schoolboy humour of its characters.

Its overnight demise can be blamed as much as anything on the past 5 to 10 years of pedalling the same dross every week. Like many, I turned off years ago. The current mob were handed a poisoned chalice.

I find it strange that The Front Bar is a hit. The only one I find mildly amusing is Sam Pang who at least has some subtility, but Mick and the other clown are tedious. I also find it strange that we have a game where women and kids make up a huge proportion of the fans (and we have witnessed the raging success of women's footy) , yet we have yet another male bogan footy program in which 3 middle-aged men sit at a fake bar with beers in hand.  

Great moment when Jakovich randomly turned up to open the show in the late 90s. As a teenage Jakovich fanatic I was moved to jump over the back of my couch in celebration.

Then off he went for another 20 years...

This was the show that gave Eddie McGuire the platform to launch himself into the Collingwood presidency. This was the show that gave Eddie McGuire the platform to endlessly spruik up the Collingwood football club: best free advertising any club has ever had.

Good riddance!

5 hours ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

Like a fossilised turd that wouldn’t flush, it has finally broken apart and dissolved in the toilet bowl that is channel 9. 

I used to love the footy show early days...  until E'd got too big in his own lunchbox.

I used to watch it in bed with the fiance`.   As well as the  'X' Files.

Haven't times changed.

Good riddance to what it became, Via the  'ME'  Ego brigade.

3 hours ago, dl4e said:

Correct. Front bar is a great laugh.

The Front Bar was really good last night,  with  'Sellers' getting roasted...   Molloy was on fire.

Andy Meager couldn't stop putting his foot in poo.  ☺️

Edited by DV8

25 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Just saw an article on its axing, odd choice of panel for the footy show. 

Indeed. Whether Fevola and/or Crawford are funny or not, they're not recently retired players. The footy show was at its best when it had entertaining current players as part of its roster. Whoever thought an audience would warm to footballers who retired a decade ago doesn't understand its audience. I'm surprised they didn't appreciate this from looking at the comments on their MySpace account.

13 minutes ago, buck_nekkid said:

could only manage 57,000 viewers

That is surprising, B_N, first thought was that it was pitched at the Filth viewers but much more than half of them would be missing from that figure. I thought the low level of mental maturity that the show represented would draw Filth fans, Essendrug shooters, Richmond rabble. Surprising - 

2 hours ago, hemingway said:

In regard to The Footy Show, its axing is long overdue.

The slide started many years ago due to the tired format and the continuation of the tedious bogan male schoolboy humour of its characters.

Its overnight demise can be blamed as much as anything on the past 5 to 10 years of pedalling the same dross every week. Like many, I turned off years ago. The current mob were handed a poisoned chalice.

I find it strange that The Front Bar is a hit. The only one I find mildly amusing is Sam Pang who at least has some subtility, but Mick and the other clown are tedious. I also find it strange that we have a game where women and kids make up a huge proportion of the fans (and we have witnessed the raging success of women's footy) , yet we have yet another male bogan footy program in which 3 middle-aged men sit at a fake bar with beers in hand.  

Great point Earnest....

In these days of youtube wunderkinds this is the perfect opening for a couple of live wired female football fans to make their mark.

Increasingly everybody has the youtube app on their TV etc so it's easy access for viewers. AFL is careful to control the rebroadcast of its footage and photos etc but the past has shown there can still be success without those add ons.

Have been watching several food/travel youtubers recently and the money some of them make astounds me.

17 minutes ago, hemingway said:

Not everyone Jim. 

For some remaining folk with attention spans longer than a few minutes there are still words in print, called books. 

ebooks my friend... save the rainforest :)

Even the Old man and the Sea is digistised.

Edited by Diamond_Jim

2 hours ago, hemingway said:

Not everyone Jim. 

For some remaining folk with attention spans longer than a few minutes there are still words in print, called books. 

Get with the times Ernie!

Porn is just as readable in E format as the printed page.

In fact there are some quite practical advantages.

It was a good show for the first 10 years or so but it did well to go for as long as it did.

Agree with others that Trevor Marmalade was a vital component. 

The Front Bar is terrific entertainment and 'Head' knows his place which allows him to be tolerated.  Sam & Mick are a great pairing. 

Not really blokey either but often very funny.  One show dies but the new show will live on.

A Peter-Hillier-esque level of comedy but was all eyes when teams were named.

Short of seeing a premiership, I think Wacko Jacko's handstand protest after remenstrating with goal ump is my greatest footballing witnessed moment - was anyone else there?

3 hours ago, DV8 said:

Some years ago I knew a girl who attended the same high school as Jacko. She told me he was exactly the same at school as we saw him playing football and the way he spoke in public. No way did he put on an act. That was his true self. (According to her).

Loved it for about 10 years or so. Started to go down hill with stupid sketches like House of Bolger.

Crawford was great with the breast cancer run, but giving him a pretty much permanent spot was when things really went bad, tried to hard to be funny when people like Dougie and Billy were just naturally funny 

I used to watch League Teams Friday nights after work, and I wasn't even that interested in football back then. I watched it for the entertainment. The Footy Show in its early days was similar, a way of finding out the teams with a little entertainment on the side. But the format and blokiness became dated and now we don't have to sit around waiting to hear who is in and out of the teams. For some years I have found the presenters of the show annoying. They all talk over each other or at the same time and then laugh uproariously as though what was said is hysterical. What was so funny? I have no idea, because I couldn't hear what was said. This also applies to Channel 9's Sunday Footy Show. The hosts are so busy laughing at each other's so called jokes, I can't understand it. They act like frustrated comedians, but they try too hard. The Front Bar guys are more natural and relaxed.

I saw some of the Marngrook show the other night. It was an all male panel. What happened to the two girls? The last time I watched it I admired the show for the fact it had some female representation on the panel, who spoke about football with knowledge. Now they seem to be gone. Surprising. One step forward, two steps back?