The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Posted

Every time I watch him play, even non dee games, he is an absolute gun. I have no idea why he was dropped for the best part of a season, but he always seems to kill it. Whats the knock on him? 

Would be a massive upgrade on Oscar. Won't happen I know. 

Posted

I am a fan as well. Peels off and intercepts well. Exact kind of player we need.

He is a joy to watch.

Posted
3 minutes ago, phuket demon said:

Every time I watch him play, even non dee games, he is an absolute gun. I have no idea why he was dropped for the best part of a season, but he always seems to kill it. Whats the knock on him? 

Had a few really good games to start his career, then got a bit ahead of himself and was ad libbing too much for the Swans liking and butchering the ball.

Killed us last year when allowed to play as an intercepting half back but being stuck on Preuss deep and providing little intercepting or attacking drive largely took him out of the game. The Swans should've trusted young McCartin deep or flipped Ried to full back and McCartin forward and got Aliir up the ground, but Longmire isn't very creative.

If we get May and Lever fit we will be well served for intercepting tall defenders, we just need a 3rd guy who can do a shut down job.

Posted

Alir Alir is a good average player, he is not Lever at his best. O'Mac has some good matches and some bad matches for us. We have a lot of inconsistent players in the side at the moment. Can we afford to keep Jones and Lewis in the same side?. I have a feeling that O'Mac will get used up the opposite end of the game sooner than expected.

Posted

Yes for me. Manages to stay on the park which is something which can’t be said for other defenders of ours.

Posted

Think it's too late now. If we had of gone for him instead of a may then sure. But with May and Lever to come in can't see us going for him. Woul've been keen last year though (similar for darcy moore).

Posted
14 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Allir is a gun. His run and carry, athleticism, strength and spoils are above and beyond what Omcd brings.  Potentially Frosty serves this raw athlete back role in our team. 

Some players are just fun to watch. Allir, Tipu etc. 

Posted

Assuming May and Lever can consistently get on the park and play some solid footy I'd sooner target quality skillful outside runners 

Posted
12 minutes ago, sisso said:

Haven't we recruited enough defenders for now how about some forwards! 

Most of our recruited defenders are injured...

Posted
2 minutes ago, dieter said:

Most of our recruited defenders are injured...

I know but seriously it feels like our whole list is intercept defenders and inside mids + Max sometimes 

Posted
38 minutes ago, Nasher said:

0 instances of spelling his name correctly in this thread so far. Edit: sorry 1 - apologies to DeeSpencer

You should have joined the police force Nashr.   a natural.

Posted
1 hour ago, Nasher said:

0 instances of spelling his name correctly in this thread so far. Edit: sorry 1 - apologies to DeeSpencer

Nickname is Shand. Maybe use that.

Posted (edited)
18 hours ago, phuket demon said:

I was at the game in Sydney, so I had a front row seat, so to speak, about why.  He certainly has assets: tall, athletic and quick..., but he torches the ball.  

In years gone past I remember when opposition sides were happy to sit off certain players to allow high possession numbers in the back half because they'd always turn it back over. He's in the same boat.

I actually wanted him to get the ball because he would either a) dispose of it poorly leading to a turn over, b) sell a team mate into trouble leading to a turnover or c) would take off like a headless chook without considering who to give it to next.  I'm not sure what his DE% is, but i'd be surprised if it was higher than about 34%.  Also for a bloke his size I actually reckon (like a lot of defenders now) he has very little idea about when to mark and when to spoil.

Edited by grazman
Posted
3 hours ago, grazman said:

I was at the game in Sydney, so I had a front row seat, so to speak, about why.  He certainly has assets: tall, athletic and quick..., but he torches the ball.  

In years gone past I remember when opposition sides were happy to sit off certain players to allow high possession numbers in the back half because they'd always turn it back over. He's in the same boat.

I actually wanted him to get the ball because he would either a) dispose of it poorly leading to a turn over, b) sell a team mate into trouble leading to a turnover or c) would take off like a headless chook without considering who to give it to next.  I'm not sure what his DE% is, but i'd be surprised if it was higher than about 34%.  Also for a bloke his size I actually reckon (like a lot of defenders now) he has very little idea about when to mark and when to spoil.

So he’s Sam Frost?

Posted

Former Aspley Hornets (Qld) player as are the Wagners and Oskar Baker. Couple of knocks on him are a tendency to have tunnel vision, not great foot skills and attention seeker/party animal (apparently).

Posted (edited)
6 hours ago, grazman said:

Must have had an off nite with disposal or maybe we are back as the No.1 pressure team in the AFL!.......

His average DE% for the season so far is 90.6%.   To put that in some perspective our best DE% defender is Nev running at 85.83% (as a side note that is the highest in the team to date).

Aliir's kicking efficiency is 89.7% and Nev's is 92.3%.