49 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Why 1999? (Is this a pop-culture reference I don't get?)

That was a good NYE for me

Summerdaze at the Bowl once the sun came up...

Back when the tabs were sociable!!!

In roughly the following order:

• sit at the 'G' unashamedly bawling my eyes out until the stadium management kick me out; 
  • have my first 'night on the town' for more than 50 years;
  • attend the Sunday celebrations at Gosh's, to share the joy with countless exuberant and inebriated Demons fans;
  • dilute my finest single malt with tears of joy for the next week, when the reality of what we have achieved might finally sink in.

Get tattoo of MFC  logo on inside of leg calf area. Do other leg when we go back to back in 2020.

2 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Party like it’s 1999.... for starters

That was the year you turned 70, yeah? ;)

I think I'll end up sitting either at the ground or on a couch in absolute disbelief for a while.  I think I'll call a few people, double check if it actually happened and so forth.  Then I'll cry.  Then I'll run around like a madman, high fiving people, giving over the top fist pumps, singing the song till I'm hoarse.  Then I'll write myself off and wake up on Sunday in a ditch, still in my Melbourne gear and ready to celebrate again.

I'm with you, Ron.  2019 is our year!

5 minutes ago, Basher said:

Get tattoo of MFC  logo on inside of leg calf area. Do other leg when we go back to back in 2020.

The problem with tattoos is that they're permanent whereas MFC logos are not. I wonder how long it will be until your tattoo is out of date?

6 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

The problem with tattoos is that they're permanent whereas MFC logos are not. I wonder how long it will be until your tattoo is out of date?

They might change the logo in the future, but the version in place when we win our next flag will never date (imv).

2 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

I thought it was because we were all going to disappear with the Y2K bug.

I’ll take a bath and drink some of the water while I dream about the next 4 flags in a row....

I probably won't be as happy as I would have been, say, 10 years ago.

Now for me it's kind of like, "Just get it done already". Whereas I used to fantasise about seeing a flag.

17 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

I just watched the Steven May interview (again). Epic recruit.

We’re going to win the Flag next year. It’s happening. We have the best list. It’s perfect.

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/video/2018-10-23/media-conference-steven-may

Thanks for that Ron. I went back and had a look again and you are right it is a ripper. Longer at 9 minutes and more in depth than your usual 3 minutes of cliches

2 hours ago, mauriesy said:

I thought it was because we were all going to disappear with the Y2K bug.

That was mooted by Bill Gates, he did very well out of Y2K!!!

I don't think our midfield will have the maturity to get us across the line in 2019.

2020 on-wards for me.

Coping with the Grand Final itself will be half the battle. Having lived through 88 and 2000 live, part of me still has trouble with the trauma of those fateful days.

Having embraced our wonderful 2018 journey, and putting aside the huge let down of Preliminary Final Day over there, I watched this year’s Grand Final with a strong “what if” mindset.

When Darling took that mark in the 3rd quarter, I made the comment “the filth will lose this”. I backed it up with - “this is the sort of game that Melbourne would find a way to lose.....”

Clearly, I still need my therapy, but my god, these are exciting times......

20 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

I just watched the Steven May interview (again). Epic recruit.

We’re going to win the Flag next year. It’s happening. We have the best list. It’s perfect.

And our coaching staff is elite, as is our culture.

We just need a good run with injuries: Gawn, T McDonald, Oliver etc.

If and when we win this thing, what are you going to do? How does one celebrate this stuff? I genuinely have no idea.

It’s actually making me nervous.

After preparing for ultimate success in 1989, and then very confidently after 1994 and again post 2000 and even post 2002 I don’t take any previous years form as a guide for the next! Injuries, complacency have always intervened. 

I hope our club has indeed changed and can build on previous success. 

I just pray that its Collingwood.

If we win, I'm going to bump this thread.

22 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

Party for 5 months only stopping to watch the grand final replay countless times and try and get a bit of sleep in between. 

Sounds like exactly what some Richmond fans that I know did...

14 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

How does anyone know? How can anyone know how they'll behave for an event which is so foreign that for basically anyone under the age of 60-odd it will be our first experience?

...and the rest of us don't remember the last one other than what looked like a fat little fellah with a shocking kick just kicking the ball in the last couple of minutes for a goal and a real stumble bum running with the ball, bouncing it like there was no hope of it coming back to him and looking around to see if anyone was near him. I hope to remember all of this next one.

Interesting. 

Recall discussing same with Cat mate early 2000s. What would it be like?

Last few years I’ve realised some lifelong ambitions - as the psychologists say - after a while you tend to incorporate them into everyday life. 

Like we catastrophize our losses and gloss over our successes. In life and football. 

Have Carlton mate - tells me he’s seen 8 flags - not doing so well in terms of relationships/bankruptcy/alcohol/institutions/ etc. 

I knew three Pie supporters who took their own lives, few years after 1990 break through. 

I feel a little cheated in footy terms cos I switched from Hawthorn in 1965. Meanwhile my Hawk brother cannot remember all the Premierships he’s seen.  

I think if we won I’d shed a tear for the young fella who trained it (Tait carriages) all over suburban Melbourne with 3KZ transistor and beanie to witness another thrashing. 

Geezus, my heart was pumping - as I listened here in Vietnam- as Dean Kent lined up in Perth. 

9 hours ago, radar said:

Interesting. 

Recall discussing same with Cat mate early 2000s. What would it be like?

Last few years I’ve realised some lifelong ambitions - as the psychologists say - after a while you tend to incorporate them into everyday life. 

Like we catastrophize our losses and gloss over our successes. In life and football. 

Have Carlton mate - tells me he’s seen 8 flags - not doing so well in terms of relationships/bankruptcy/alcohol/institutions/ etc. 

I knew three Pie supporters who took their own lives, few years after 1990 break through. 

I feel a little cheated in footy terms cos I switched from Hawthorn in 1965. Meanwhile my Hawk brother cannot remember all the Premierships he’s seen.  

I think if we won I’d shed a tear for the young fella who trained it (Tait carriages) all over suburban Melbourne with 3KZ transistor and beanie to witness another thrashing. 

Geezus, my heart was pumping - as I listened here in Vietnam- as Dean Kent lined up in Perth. 

I feel like I've just read the synopsis of a three-part TV mini-series. It would be even better, though, without the last seven words so I can imagine you as a digger in Vietnam in the late 1960s. 

23 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Ironically enough, NYE 1999 was probably the crappiest new year I have ever experienced on the turps.

Mostly because the City of Ballarat put on a supposed 55,000 dollar fireworks display and it was an absolute fizzer.

This would have been more impressive as a fireworks display.

I won't bag @Ron Burgundy as I find him to be a pretty good poster but I do worry about attitudes that it will just 'happen' for us. 

1994, 1998, 2006 are too fresh in my mind. We were supposed to be the next big thing then but we put the cart in front of the horse, discounted our opposition and ended up pooing the bed.

Edited by Colin B. Flaubert