The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Posted
1 hour ago, watchtheeyes said:

Could not agree more re Geelong, it baffles me.

Ablett, Selwood and Danger are legends of the game, sure, but there must be a question mark if Ablett can stay on the park all season.. let alone the fact Dangers hammy just went.

Even if they do play all season, whats beneath them? I like Henderson, but Hawkins and Taylor are past it. And then you've got a whole host of so so players.

Will make the 8, but lower half.

It will be interesting to see how Selwood is remembered outside of Geelong and the media when he retires. He will leave the game as (at least) a 3 X premiership player, 6 X AA inc 3 times as Captain and numerous most courageous player awards etc. However will his name be sullied much like Matthew Lloyds has; 5 X AA, 3 X Coleman medallist, premiership player who sits 7th on the all time AFL/VFL goal kicking list yet ask most footy followers about what they most remember about Lloyd and one of the first couple of adjectives will be ‘diver’. Will Selwood get stuck with ‘ducker’ ?

Posted
1 minute ago, fndee said:

It will be interesting to see how Selwood is remembered outside of Geelong and the media when he retires. He will leave the game as (at least) a 3 X premiership player, 6 X AA inc 3 times as Captain and numerous most courageous player awards etc. However will his name be sullied much like Matthew Lloyds has; 5 X AA, 3 X Coleman medallist, premiership player who sits 7th on the all time AFL/VFL goal kicking list yet ask most footy followers about what they most remember about Lloyd and one of the first couple of adjectives will be ‘diver’. Will Selwood get stuck with ‘ducker’ ?

Yep.

Posted
3 hours ago, ProDee said:

That's a separate issue.  You said it "discredits" the whole thing, which, of course, it doesn't.

But I'd add that he's suffered greatly from his obstinance and lack of accepting responsibility for his actions.  So I agree that it's self inflicted.  But I'd also ask, what is he allowed to do ?

He was smiling when he presented "The Norm Smith"

Posted
37 minutes ago, Mike said:

Anyone else find it comforting when Robbo writes us off?

Yes, sure do. He is so inarticulate, and has very little constructive comment; in other words, he is actually non-committal and knows that his stance is unfounded but for reasons of personal preference, bias if you like, he will say something rather derogatory such as '...I don't trust them...' as if that is a meaningful statement. Needs to do his homework because he is very low on observational facts.

Posted

I'll never hate on anyone for making a prediction. Who guessed the Dogs or Tigers would win the flag? Dane Swans pulling the [censored], but that's what he does.

I understand some of the media pundits not predicting as for finals because they can't trust us. However how can you trust Port? Essendon? Pies? Dogs? Surely we are a safer bet than Collingwood.

Posted
14 minutes ago, MurDoc516 said:

I understand some of the media pundits not predicting as for finals because they can't trust us. However how can you trust Port? Essendon? Pies? Dogs? Surely we are a safer bet than Collingwood.

I don't have any problem with pundits not trusting us. Heck I can't trust us at times. Just look at the JLT 2 3rd Quarter. The problem I have with some media pundits is their blatant bias towards their teams. If you are going into the media then you have to take off your [censored] scarf. That goes for being pro-Demon as well if they existed.

Posted
4 hours ago, ProDee said:

These predictions were done before any of the JLT.

Lloyd was asked on 3AW's Sports Today where Melbourne would finish and he said outside the eight because he couldn't trust them.  After the JLT he flipped and said we could finish top 4.

Which just goes to show that these 'experts' have no f'ing clue and are guessing like the rest of us, so there's no need to really take much notice. 

I just find the bias from the Essendon people in this article absolutely mind blowing. I mean I don't, because all Essendon supporters are sick deluded [censored], but really, what a joke Lloyd, Hird and Robinson are to journalism*

*I use journalism loosely given the high quality publication they all write for. 

Posted
3 hours ago, Demonland said:

I don't have any problem with pundits not trusting us. Heck I can't trust us at times. Just look at the JLT 2 3rd Quarter. The problem I have with some media pundits is their blatant bias towards their teams. If you are going into the media then you have to take off your [censored] scarf. That goes for being pro-Demon as well if they existed.

Not going to happen.  The media will always take tossers from the big clubs in Vic, or the home clubs interstate, because they are the 'champions' of the fans they are trying to appeal to.  The more retroparochial they are, the happier the stoopid supporter base of bogans will be.  Hird and Lloyd.  One should scrub the dunny with the other.  But they are Bummers.  Dont expect anything like nonparochialism from these idjits.  They are not hired to provide it.

Posted (edited)
10 hours ago, ProDee said:

That's a separate issue.  You said it "discredits" the whole thing, which, of course, it doesn't.

But I'd add that he's suffered greatly from his obstinance and lack of accepting responsibility for his actions.  So I agree that it's self inflicted.  But I'd also ask, what is he allowed to do ?

The guy demonstrated time and time and time again in his post-playing career that he has incredibly poor judgement. Hird demonstrated consistently that he only cares about Hird. Anything he says about footy must be taken with several grains of salt . . . not to be trusted because just lurking below the surface is self interest. His post-footy record is not in dispute.  

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon
Posted
8 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Do you mean the 5 who didn't pick us for finals or the 15 who did?

The 5 who didn’t pick us, and the 12 (or so) of the other 15 who had us finishing 7th or 8th.

Posted
11 hours ago, Mike said:

Anyone else find it comforting when Robbo writes us off?

Yep.

I hope they all do, write us off.  This Group of young men, are not front runners like the old payers of the past decade.

They will respond the only way you can, when put down.  Come out fighting.   And pumping the opposition in front of them.

Posted

Swanny predicts Coll/wood to finish 2nd. HMMM! Think you are playing  again Dane? With your ego ?  Can you still kick a ball ?