jumbo returns 6,745 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 On 17/10/2017 at 05:59, Stretch Johnson said: Well that attempt at humour fell flat. Apologies....it wasn't a serious dig Expand Sorry SJ - crappy day No hard feelings Cheers
Jack son 5 162 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 On 17/10/2017 at 06:15, the rolling fog said: Mahoney pretty much confirmed that we're also paying part of Watts' salary Expand Surely not true?
Delusional demon 82 1,197 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Paid overs for Lever and cop unders for watts... hell , we’ll even paying some of his salary MFC best club to negotiate with since 1897
FireInTheBennelly 4,104 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 On 17/10/2017 at 06:15, DemonOX said: Mahoney just said it’s a possibility that we will PAY some of his salary. FMD THAT IS PATHETIC. The MFC is absolutely useless. Expand Wouldn't that be a yes or a no type situation? Trade is done, yet we don't know if we're paying some of his salary or not?
DemonLad5 1,642 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 On 17/10/2017 at 05:46, ignition. said: Expand
chook fowler 19,787 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 High risk strategy but you don't win premierships by playing it safe. I admire Jacks loyalty but it is hollow if not backed up by effort, application and commitment.
Satyriconhome 10,880 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 On 16/10/2017 at 04:51, Sir Why You Little said: 32 years in the media Fault i think stories are being with held just a hunch it’s too cold and calculated Expand The Russians?
rolling fog 1,208 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 On 17/10/2017 at 06:23, FireInTheBelly said: Wouldn't that be a yes or a no type situation? Trade is done, yet we don't know if we're paying some of his salary or not? Expand Mahoney said it's still to be worked out between MFC and Paul Connors Read: we're paying part of his salary
sue 9,281 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 On 17/10/2017 at 06:23, FireInTheBelly said: Wouldn't that be a yes or a no type situation? Trade is done, yet we don't know if we're paying some of his salary or not? Expand Of course. So either Mahoney was just too embarrassed to say we were paying or there is something else in the wings, eg. we will pay some if Port gives us something else but it's not yet agreed. God knows what they could give us.
McQueen 17,867 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 On 17/10/2017 at 04:46, Mazer Rackham said: It's not just about Watts. He's the lightning rod. But there's more at play. Goodwin is making a statement. And it is not "if we can only get rid of Watts, we'll be a finals winning side". You can bet your behind that this is not the only aspect of his stand. This is only part of it. He will having quiet words to Gawn, Bugg, Kent, probably Jesse in the pre season when 2017 is behind him, and others. Assuming they don't get the message anyway. It's about setting standards that cannot be dodged or done in a half @rsed fashion. If he got rid of Kent, would everyone get the message? Maybe, maybe not. But he's gotten rid of Watts. Is anyone in any doubt at all of his determination to succeed? Go Goody. Go Demons. Expand Imagine how good it’d be if the entire playing group had as much desire to win a premiership like the coach has?
DemonOX 8,857 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 On 17/10/2017 at 06:23, FireInTheBelly said: Wouldn't that be a yes or a no type situation? Trade is done, yet we don't know if we're paying some of his salary or not? Expand He was skirting the issue when asked by the ox.
64" 97 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 That is a [censored] deal if we are paying out some of his salary and pick 31.
daisycutter 30,028 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 On 17/10/2017 at 06:29, DemonOX said: He was skirting the issue when asked by the ox. Expand yep. port offered him <500k. mfc and connors to meet to see if difference paid in lump or instalments btw 500k = 416k pre cba. avg post cba contract said to be in low 300s.
Beetle 4,739 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 On 17/10/2017 at 06:07, DemonDaniel said: I just broke the news to my little fella, he's gone all quiet reflecting on his favourite player, 'carn' Wattsy!' he'd call out in his loudest voice every week. Really lamenting the fact I just got a number 4 pressed into his footy jumper Xmas present now. Expand Easy fix mate, just stick a poster of Peter Giles on his wall and within a couple of weeks you'll be right.
Maldonboy38 6,447 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Thanks Jack, for everything you gave over your 9 years. Sorry we stuffed up your development, and sorry we made such a media circus of you in your early years. Your best was breath-taking. Vision, beautiful kick, brought others into the game. I think you will be mostly missed around the Club. From all reports, your people skills and club-heart made a lot of people want to be around you. But is was time to go. The desperation we needed you to show only peeked out at certain times and became a major frustration for coaches, supporters and team mates. You did learn to tackle, but never developed the pack mark that you were recruited for. But our delivery into forward 50 now looks very thin without you here. I hope you have success at PA, but not too much. Pick 31 sounds about right, and if we have to pay a bit of salary, I don't really care.
Cheap Seats 3,310 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 On 17/10/2017 at 06:34, daisycutter said: yep. port offered him <500k. mfc and connors to meet to see if difference paid in lump or instalments btw 500k = 416k pre cba. avg post cba contract said to be in low 300s. Expand Wow, so port only offered half his salary. Pick 31 is overs by the sound of that.
Cards13 9,117 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 On 17/10/2017 at 05:10, The Stigga said: I don't think Geelong were interested at all. Expand They just pushed up his trade value, thanks Cats!!
Jibroni 5,068 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Cant believe he is gone. I know Jack hasnt been perfect but for Pick 31? At his best he is easily in our Top 10. My questions to Goody would be: 1. Why have you been unable to get the best out of him in the first place? 2. What was wrong with his form prior to his mid season injury? I wish you all the best Jack. The last nine years have probably been hell for you and hope Port recognise what you are capable of. PS: If you need a guide to getting around Adelaide dont hesitate to ask
Sargent Shultz 267 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Watts all the fuss about? Pick 31 is a ripper. From 2004 to 2013 here is the stellar line up of pick 31's: Jarrad Moore 68 games no longer playing Trent West 70 games no longer playing Clayton Collard 1 game no longer playing John Mcarthy 39 games no longer playing Jordan Roughead 126 games still playing Jason Tuff 4o games no longer playing Ariel Steinberg 10 games no longer playing Jackson Mcarit 54 games no longer playing Kamdyn Mcintosh 53 games still playing Malcolm Karpanny 7 games no longer playing Conclusion: Jack Watts may have had his flawed, but really do you really want to trade him for a Clayton Collard? But then again......
Mach5 4,768 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 This is out of hand - can everybody just stop posting already??! I've only read up to page 53 and I'll never catch up at this rate... Pretty content with this trade. Wasn't for it initially, but I simply can't understand those that are dead against it. He's given us very little over the journey and it doesn't look like changing much. The only thing I can think of, is that some are worried that he'll go to Port and turn it around, proving beyond doubt that we aren't up to developing talent. This will not be the case. He'll probably only play 6 games for Port and go the way of Sylvia.
dazzledavey36 56,447 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 All the best Jack.. thank ypu for fronting up with a smile during the dark days when the world was against you. I still feel very disappointed about this.
pinkshark 950 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Jack Watts sent packing! for Pick 31. F me! At the start of the year I said to a mate that the worst thing that can happen this year is that Collingwood will knock us out of the eight in the final round and both Howe and Dunn will be playing. The next worse thing I said would be that Watts (because Goodwin and he wont work)would be dealt at seasons end. So all in all, the end of my footy season has been gut wrenching. This will [censored] me for many years. In the same way it would [censored] me if I lost a good watch. Or accidently run over my trusty, loyal, resilient dog. The only medicine that will heal will be a premiership before Port Power. So get cracking all you coaching staff and FD gurus who don't see Jack Watts as an important asset to a footy team, make me believe. Come on Melbourne!
Lord Travis 10,819 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Hang on, we took unders in pick 31 AND we're still paying part of his salary? MFC have unarguably [censored] this up. What a let down, but at the same time I'm not surprised at all having followed this lowly club for decades of failure now
Ned 156 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 Sad day for me. Feel like we let down Grimes, Trengove and Watts badly. For all his flaws, I just wanted to see Melbourne and Jack finally succeed and I felt sure it would happen. Good luck to him at Port.
McQueen 17,867 Posted October 17, 2017 Posted October 17, 2017 On 17/10/2017 at 06:39, Mach5 said: This is out of hand - can everybody just stop posting already??! I've only read up to page 53 and I'll never catch up at this rate... Pretty content with this trade. Wasn't for it initially, but I simply can't understand those that are dead against it. He's given us very little over the journey and it doesn't look like changing much. The only thing I can think of, is that some are worried that he'll go to Port and turn it around, proving beyond doubt that we aren't up to developing talent. This will not be the case. He'll probably only play 6 games for Port and go the way of Sylvia. Expand Good post right up until the last sentence. I think he’ll apply himself adequately for Port and play most games. Impact-wise, about the same as MFC.