Posted
Just now, deanox said:

Im not so sure.  Who from the midfield drops back to HBF to cover Trengove?

I think JKH goes out for Jones. Trengove out for Vince the next week. 

Not JKH most likely. But Hunt, Hibberd, Lewis, Salem and Jetta have been the mainstays. That's a lot of players and game time. Melksham less likely, but has played down there. And if nothing else, the guy coming in, Jones, has been rolling off the backline this year as well. Man. That's some good names right there.

Vince comes back as well the following week. Don't get me wrong, I'm as thrilled for JT as anyone. And it's less a reflection of him, more of a reflection of how hard this 22 is to get into.

Posted
39 minutes ago, jako13 said:

possibly give the skipper a run in the 2s next week been out a long time with the quad - run off some rust. would have been good to do it with a couple of our seniors coming back last few weeks but didnt have the luxury due to running out with our 3rds otherwise...

no change - same endeavour early and we absolutely [censored] Nth to eradicate the last decade of failures against them. [censored] hate that pissant club

I think you may be suffering from incurable insanity. Jones in the 2s is madness.

Posted
14 minutes ago, Dappa Dan said:

Not JKH most likely. But Hunt, Hibberd, Lewis, Salem and Jetta have been the mainstays. That's a lot of players and game time. Melksham less likely, but has played down there. And if nothing else, the guy coming in, Jones, has been rolling off the backline this year as well. Man. That's some good names right there.

Vince comes back as well the following week. Don't get me wrong, I'm as thrilled for JT as anyone. And it's less a reflection of him, more of a reflection of how hard this 22 is to get into.

We aren't bringing Jones into the backline this week, so someone goes out from the midfield, either dropped or they move to the back flank and Trenners goes out, or moves forward (and Melksham goes back and Trenners goes out).

All those players you mentioned played today in the same backline as Trengove did so I dont see that as an issue. 

Posted
16 minutes ago, deanox said:

We aren't bringing Jones into the backline this week, so someone goes out from the midfield, either dropped or they move to the back flank and Trenners goes out, or moves forward (and Melksham goes back and Trenners goes out).

All those players you mentioned played today in the same backline as Trengove did so I dont see that as an issue. 

Melksham won't play as a defender again - his role as the stopper up forward and ability to hit the scoreboard is terrific

I don't see Trengove getting dropped next week, but it is possible the week after with Vince coming back

But who knows what will happen btw then and now

Posted
1 hour ago, jako13 said:

possibly give the skipper a run in the 2s next week been out a long time with the quad - run off some rust.

Lol...cmon mate.

Posted

Geez I hope we finally beat these pricks, just checked out norths bigfooty page they are already chalking up a win thinking we will get ahead of ourselves after our best win of the year 

Posted

Jones more likely the week after, so no change, all things being equal.

If Bernie was having a great year, I'd rush him back in, but he's not and his stupidity should give Trenners every chance.

Posted
4 minutes ago, DemonAndrew said:

Melksham won't play as a defender again - his role as the stopper up forward and ability to hit the scoreboard is terrific

I don't see Trengove getting dropped next week, but it is possible the week after with Vince coming back

But who knows what will happen btw then and now

This ^ 

His role up forward has been massively underrated. Has been helping shut down opposition runners on the rebound with great success, and has hit the scoreboard regularly. 

In relation to changes, I'm not so sure Gawn is right. He is clearly carrying something and might need to come out.

Posted

Maybe a bit off field but Oliver was looking tired (but still playing well). He's had to carry our midfield as a 19yo 2nd year player while we've been missing Viney, jones and Tyson.

if Jones comes back this week is it time to give Clarry a rest?

Posted
13 minutes ago, Big Col said:

Maybe a bit off field but Oliver was looking tired (but still playing well). He's had to carry our midfield as a 19yo 2nd year player while we've been missing Viney, jones and Tyson.

if Jones comes back this week is it time to give Clarry a rest?

He has struggled the last few weeks and perhaps a week off is not a bad idea. But I would be surprised if Jonesy is free to return.

Either way I want to see a team that is ready to pump the living crap out of North next week and put this hoodoo to rest.

Posted

No change.

Think Jonesy will miss one more, you dont wanna mess around with a quad on the kicking leg.  

Posted
1 hour ago, Roger Mellie said:

Jones more likely the week after, so no change, all things being equal.

If Bernie was having a great year, I'd rush him back in, but he's not and his stupidity should give Trenners every chance.

Trenners has earnt his chance and did nothing wrong today clean with the ball and laid some crunching tackles goes around next week for mine.

Posted

My only gripe with today was our delivery into the 50 at times was ill directed and blazing into 1 on 3's with the amount of ball we had in the 1st half we should have been 5-6 goals better off with better delivery and composure.

Posted
1 hour ago, Adzman said:

This ^ 

His role up forward has been massively underrated. Has been helping shut down opposition runners on the rebound with great success, and has hit the scoreboard regularly. 

In relation to changes, I'm not so sure Gawn is right. He is clearly carrying something and might need to come out.

Rolled his ankle in the second half, played out the game,expected to be OK

Posted (edited)
6 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Weather looking okay for Hobart next week.

Hopefully our close loss last year means we are well aware of local ground conditions

Saturday 29 July

Summary
light-showers.png
Min 3
Max 14
Possible late shower.
Possible rainfall: 0 to 0.4 mm
Chance of any rain: 30% rain_30.gif

Hobart area

Partly cloudy. Slight (30%) chance of a shower later in the day. Winds northwesterly 15 to 20 km/h turning northerly 15 to 25 km/h during the morning.

Reckon it was about 40kms last year....turning at 3/4 time!!.? Surely.. we will smash this bottom of the ladder, 5 losses in a row, insipid, tanking, load of rubbish side....NO CHANGE.

Edited by Wadda We Sing
Posted
2 hours ago, Win4theAges said:

My only gripe with today was our delivery into the 50 at times was ill directed and blazing into 1 on 3's with the amount of ball we had in the 1st half we should have been 5-6 goals better off with better delivery and composure.

Agree, there are those that either need to lower their eyes or at least recognise to spots our forward will be running to. Otherwise the defenders get an easy to opportunity to rebound. 

I haven't had the chance to see the first half (or course when I switch on is when Port start coming back). If Jones isn't right to go then I reckon we go in unchanged. 

Trenners should be given at least a couple of weeks to prove himself (it's what they have done with countless others), when Vince comes back expect he will make way. But it would be fantastic if he puts a blinder in next week and forces Vince through the VFL. 

Posted
9 hours ago, Win4theAges said:

Trenners has earnt his chance and did nothing wrong today clean with the ball and laid some crunching tackles goes around next week for mine.

I'm concerned I'm letting my emotions get the better of me a little bit, but I believe Trengove showed more as the game progressed and he adjusted to the speed of the game. Realistically, he's been out of the 22 for so long, he deserves to be treated like a JKH/Joel/Bull/etc. who hasn't had much of a taste previously.

At one particular stage Boak exploited his lack of pace (or awareness for what was coming) to kick a goal. I have great hope that his ability & class will eventually shine through.

Posted
10 hours ago, deanox said:

Why not? He's played there for significant time all year? And with Tyson and Viney already back in and flying, we're back to our starting midfield. I'm not saying he'll play there the whole game. Just that he'll do periods there the way we've done all year putting two behind the ball. The only guy playing serious game time in the backline that's missing is Vince.

Of course all those players played yesterday in the same backline. We have the full list of starters in. That's my point.

So back to the first question. Who goes out if Jones comes back. I reckon it's Trengove. I feel like JKH after a good game first up might retain his spot over Trenners. And I don't think Trengove is required in the backline. Or midfield for that matter as we have that many names, and Trenners doesn't provide the rebound we're looking for.

Posted
11 hours ago, jako13 said:

possibly give the skipper a run in the 2s next week been out a long time with the quad - run off some rust. would have been good to do it with a couple of our seniors coming back last few weeks but didnt have the luxury due to running out with our 3rds otherwise...

no change - same endeavour early and we absolutely [censored] Nth to eradicate the last decade of failures against them. [censored] hate that pissant club

Gawn and Hogan came straight in to the seniors after missing half the season. Like I said with Hogan, Jones is either ready or he ain't. 

There are some players you don't stuff around with playing in the twos. If Jones is ready, they'll have to make the hard call on someone. And that someone will be JKH or Trengove unless someone is sore.

Posted (edited)

I think it was on the footy show Jones seemed to indicate that its more likely to be the week after North that he returns.

With that in mind I would probably go with no changes but I would love to see Maynard get a game if he's ready. Anyone know how Smith responded down at Casey last night?

Edited by mongrel
Posted

Jones will clearly come straight back in when ready. Yesterday proved we needed to bring quality in to ensure the win. Jones in should not be the difference next week. Give him another week and leave the team settled, then least performed mid against North goes. 

Posted
11 hours ago, jako13 said:

The skipper are run in the 2's??? Mate you have to be kidding.  

Posted

Based on what he said on radio, Jones rates himself only a 50-50 chance and with yesterday's win there's no need to rush him back.

So unless there's injuries (ie: Gawn), then there's no changes this week.