Round 22 - Around the Grounds

What

The last comment prompted me to look up Smith's record. Born in 55 it is so long ago it is hard to remember.  Runners up in 54 & 58 and flags in 55,56,57,59 and 60 so for 7 years Smith was the man. I would be grateful for the current crop to deliver 1 that I can see and remember

19 minutes ago, Older demon said:

The last comment prompted me to look up Smith's record. Born in 55 it is so long ago it is hard to remember.  Runners up in 54 & 58 and flags in 55,56,57,59 and 60 so for 7 years Smith was the man. I would be grateful for the current crop to deliver 1 that I can see and remember

5 in 7 years Old...6 in 10

i reckon Goodwin can at least equal those numbers.

10 in 10 would suit me...we have all got a lot of scores to settle...

14 minutes ago, whers_jacka_now said:

And we still will be behind most clubs in the overall win/loss comparisons since VFL began.

If we win 5 in 7 years, we'll go ahead of Essendon and Carlton for most flags in VFL/AFL history...

9 minutes ago, A F said:

If we win 5 in 7 years, we'll go ahead of Essendon and Carlton for most flags in VFL/AFL history...

We'll also move from equal last to first in most flags in AFL history, in case anyone actually cares.

"The huge curve ball in this year's finals series is that bye after round 23," Clarkson said after the loss to the Eagles.

"It's unique, it's never been done in the game before. No one knows how it's going to pan out.

"Even if you win the first final you've then got a very, very nervous wait.

"When you get into the prelim, you've had one game in about three or four weeks, which is really unique.

"If we lose, it's not the be-all or end-all," Clarkson said.

"We still give ourselves a chance. If there's any year there's a chance to come from outside of the top four, it's this year, because of that very unique situation."

-- 

The Hawks are coming

Edited by johndemons

3-4 rounds ago a fair few commentators were bemoaning the fact that this season had become predictable and boring. The events of the last few weeks have really shaken things up, if the rest of the results this week go the way they're expected the final round could have implications in most matches. 

3 hours ago, Striker475 said:

Now just need Collingwood to knock them over next week...

Hate to say but I could be barracking for the Pies, just this once  

4 hours ago, monoccular said:

Hate to say but I could be barracking for the Pies, just this once  

2 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

On the other hand, imagine if somehow Hawthorn dropped to 5th and we made 8th.

No worries. After all we cleaned them up recently and showed the Weagles how to do it.  Old and slow. 

9 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

On the other hand, imagine if somehow Hawthorn dropped to 5th and we made 8th.

We would repeat the dose of round 20 and send them packing straight out of the finals!!

Considering the fact that we have recently beaten Hawthorn and given West Coast a fright (at their home ground), we're in with a chance if we win our next two games.

14 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

The real question SWYL is what has he not done!

Dermott Brereton was scathing:  “He is plenty big to rough it up with anyone … (Instead) he runs to the drop of the ball and within two seconds of the ball on its flight path being about to drop, he pulls out of the contest and wants to crumb it...“He’s a powerful beast but to me he’s looking for maximum reward from minimum effort and minimum contact to him...“He’s brave but at the moment he is wanting to play his footy without suffering any body punishment.”

When given the opportunity Beveridge didn't disagree with Dermott's comments.  

From AA to VFL - some fall from grace!  Albeit temporary I'm sure.

Got to give it to the Bulldogs to have the courage to make that call.

Dermott is stating the obvious but as usual only looking at the surface.

Stringer is carrying a shoulder injury, if you check footage from last year he had no tape on his shoulders. He's heavily tapped now and receiving jabs to get him through the game.

The dogs need him to stand up in September so he goes back to the VFL to see if he can hit up a contest, take a hit with that shoulder, get a bit of confidence that he can do it. He has no confidence in his body at the moment. He's playing counter to his usual style.

1 minute ago, rjay said:

Dermott is stating the obvious but as usual only looking at the surface.

Stringer is carrying a shoulder injury, if you check footage from last year he had no tape on his shoulders. He's heavily tapped now and receiving jabs to get him through the game.

The dogs need him to stand up in September so he goes back to the VFL to see if he can hit up a contest, take a hit with that shoulder, get a bit of confidence that he can do it. He has no confidence in his body at the moment. He's playing counter to his usual style.

I know all that rjay - I was simply answering SWYL's question.

As I said Stringer's fall from grace is temporary.