Posted

Can't watch this live today, but I'll check Twitter and get scores, going to tape it and watch either later tonight or tommorrow. 

Hope the young kids can keep playing well and push the levels required to get a game up.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

When are the final lists announced?

Sometime before the game starts.

Posted

A hard ground would be my chief worry. Let's get through this game with a win or a competitive loss and no injuries to any of our core group of players.

Posted

Teams are up on fox footy. 

A mate of mine has a kid who is the rookie ruck for the dogs.

Big Max will slaughter him today.

Posted

Just want to see the same intent and pressure as we had last week.  Now that we have shaken off the rustiness we should be able to go out there and get things going from the first bounce.

I'm also interested to see how the forward line functions without Hogan down there.  He didn't do a whole lot last week but then he does take the best defender, so I'm curious as to how we kick out goals with Pedersen, Frost and a resting Gawn as our talls.  If we can get it down there enough then hopefully our small players can jag a few as well.

Posted

Going for two wins in a row.

Yes, I'll even take them in the pre-season. This is what I've been reduced to.

Posted

I've even got a few pre-match 'butterflies' ... in the pre-season for God's sake.

Posted
1 hour ago, Biffen said:

Teams are up on fox footy. 

A mate of mine has a kid who is the rookie ruck for the dogs.

Big Max will slaughter him today.

Not having Fox Footy, who didn't make the final list?

Posted

I wouldn't be surprised if Tmac is thrown forward today with Hogan not playing.

Posted
12 minutes ago, CBDees said:

Not having Fox Footy, who didn't make the final list?

Petracca,Hogan,Trengove not listed. Matt  Jones 8th sub.viv michie starting 18

Posted
1 minute ago, McQueen said:

I wouldn't be surprised if Tmac is thrown forward today with Hogan not playing.

Wouldn't make much sense to me.  While the NAB is used to experiment, I hardly see the point of playing TMac up forward for a meaningless game because Hogan is being rested.  Leave him to lead the back six and use the guys who will play forward to play that role.

Posted
16 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Wouldn't make much sense to me.  While the NAB is used to experiment, I hardly see the point of playing TMac up forward for a meaningless game because Hogan is being rested.  Leave him to lead the back six and use the guys who will play forward to play that role.

Frost hardly convinced last week and people still have hearts in mouths when Tom takes the game on out of half back.

Cant remember what game it was last year but Hogan was being well held and we threw Tom forward and he immediately started marking the ball and having shots on goal.

It's a practice game, let him practice.

Posted
Just now, McQueen said:

Frost hardly convinced last week and people still have hearts in mouths when Tom takes the game on out of half back.

Cant remember what game it was last year but Hogan was being well held and we threw Tom forward and he immediately started marking the ball and having shots on goal.

It's a practice game, let him practice.

I agree with this... but at the same time they need to be practicing in the positions they are going to be playing in for the season.  If they see McDonald as our CHB for the season ahead then, unless we have a real forward crisis, that's where we play him so they can continue to learn to be a cohesive back six.

Clearly, for the moment, they see Frost as a forward.  They'll continue to experiment with him there in the weeks ahead.  I don't see the point of trying him once and then giving up and making switches after one game.  Doesn't make much sense.

Happy to stand corrected if the game starts and McDonald is in the forward line, but I don't think we'll see it.

Posted (edited)

I hope Tommy Mc stays in back line as well

I am still to see why there is all the love for Frost, personally still think he has a lot of development to go, and is not a shoe in for Rd 1, but hopefully we will play him forward today with instruction to pressure, chase and crash packs.....Goodwin liked the way the 'mosquitoes' (his word not mine) performed last week, meaning Kent, Garlett. Kennedy, Harmes buzzing around.....I reckon Goodwin's plan of attack is to keep it in the Doggies back half

Posted
39 minutes ago, Biffen said:

Petracca,Hogan,Trengove not listed. Matt  Jones 8th sub.viv michie starting 18

Trenners, Petracca and Hogan were never named in the original extended list. I was interested in which three players got the chop when they had to finalise?

Posted
Just now, Satyriconhome said:

I hope Tommy Mc stays in back line as well

I am still to see why there is all the love for Frost, personally still think he has a lot of development to go, and is not a shoe in for Rd 1, but hopefully we will play him forward today with instruction to pressure, chase and crash packs.....Goodwin liked the way the 'mosquitoes' (his word not mine) performed last week, meaning Kent, Garlett. Kennedy, Harmes buzzing around.....I reckon Goodwin's plan of attack is to keep it in the Doggies back half

Fair point, but I believe that Goodwin and Roos love him because of the pressure he brings in the forward half and the fact he is handy in the ruck when Gawn needs a rest.  He has the pace and agility to match it with others around the ground and, while he isn't a forward line threat as yet, I think we are hoping that he can develop into a good, third tall option in the future.  Hogan and, hopefully, Weideman are the future as our key talls.  Frost could be the third if he makes it.

Posted

Fox Footy website showing the starting 18 as:   Jones, Salem, Watts, Viney, Tyson, Gawn, Stretch, Oliver, Dunn, Garland, Kent, Frost, Vince, Pedersen, Michie, T McDonald, O McDonald, Hunt.  But I can't find any reference to the three that have been left out.  Presumably Jetta is one of them.  And maybe Garlett?

Posted
Just now, Copuchas said:

Fox Footy website showing the starting 18 as:   Jones, Salem, Watts, Viney, Tyson, Gawn, Stretch, Oliver, Dunn, Garland, Kent, Frost, Vince, Pedersen, Michie, T McDonald, O McDonald, Hunt.  But I can't find any reference to the three that have been left out.  Presumably Jetta is one of them.  And maybe Garlett?

I think they are guessing.  Squad isn't normally named until an hour or so before the game.  

Posted
2 minutes ago, Copuchas said:

I mad this mistake as well. If you scroll down you will see the 8 on the bench.  

Alex Neal BullenAaron vandenBerg Jefferey Garlett Jack Grimes Neville Jetta Tomas Bugg Ben Kennedy Matt Jones Dean Terlich James Harmes Josh Wagner

Posted

yeah, it's an interesting point as normally the AFL moves heaven and earth to ensure information release occurs first via their website (and simultaneously the club's).  Was just wondering whether Fox Footy have some inside angle just for the NAB Challenge?

Posted
2 minutes ago, Copuchas said:

yeah, it's an interesting point as normally the AFL moves heaven and earth to ensure information release occurs first via their website (and simultaneously the club's).  Was just wondering whether Fox Footy have some inside angle just for the NAB Challenge?

Agree. think Fox have gone off early, not on club's twitter feed either