URGENT ATTENTION: Major Site Update Will Require Email Address for Login and NOT Username. Please Ensure Your Email Address is Current.

Post Match Discussion - Round 17

Posted

I reckon Gus is being monitored carefully by a few big clubs. The kid's a gun....

I'm only going to watch Gus, Petracca, Hogan and Salem from now on.

Sadly, all the big clubs are monitoring Gus!

Like you they are watching the other young stars we are developing.

They are simply waiting to cherry pick them out of our list so that we can wallow at the bottom of the ladder forevermore.

Hope died today.

• Replies 296

Posted

i know that I'm not saying anything new, but...I just don't get why we are so bad.

It doesn't make sense. We have PJ, Roos, Goodwin, Misson, all names that at the time of their recruitment were considered amongst the best.

As much as I should be happy that the Bulldogs are doing so well, as a fellow 'battler' club, for me, they drill home what absolute shite we are. How does beveridge or Richardson get results like they do, while we get neeld and his results.

How come we still are so bad? It doesn't make sense.

Our players are no good and don't care.
Posted

There needs to be a line in the sand this week at the selection table.

Drop a "big name" and teach the players a lesson.

Although I'm not sure it would work but worth a try.

Posted

There needs to be a line in the sand this week at the selection table.

Drop a "big name" and teach the players a lesson.

Although I'm not sure it would work but worth a try.

I'd drop three.

I'm a fan, but Dawes needs a stint in the twos

Col Garland - post traumatic stress disorder

Dom Tyson - stop grabbing the ball and ignoring free players

Posted

Sadly, all the big clubs are monitoring Gus!

Like you they are watching the other young stars we are developing.

They are simply waiting to cherry pick them out of our list so that we can wallow at the bottom of the ladder forevermore.

Hope died today.

Do you want a noose mate?

Posted

We will never beat St kinda until Rewolt retires.

He'll always make a comeback to play against us and score three Brownlow votes because he knows the list is mentally weak.

Posted

We will never beat St kinda until Rewolt retires.

There was a game many years ago between MFC and St Dildo where Riewoldt played and kicked 11goals. Melbourne won. A smarty called out in the last quarter when we'd clearly won: you're useless Riewoldt! It was amusing at the time.
Posted

I'd drop three.

I'm a fan, but Dawes needs a stint in the twos

Col Garland - post traumatic stress disorder

Dom Tyson - stop grabbing the ball and ignoring free players

Wouldn't disagree with any of those Jumbo but probably throw in Lumumba too.

Posted

there was a game many years ago where Riewoldt played and kicked 11goals. Melbourne won. A smarty called out in the last quarter when we'd clearly won: you're useless Riewoldt! It was amusing at the time.

I was at that game and the Saints problem was we had Neitz and Robbo who kicked 14 between them I think. Those were the great days of footy, fast, free flowing, one on one battles and great forwards kicking goals. Was that before interchanges were introduced?
Posted

After 8 years of absolute shite I'm not sure why it was this specific game that broke the proverbial camel's but it did. I still think the future looks bright and I'm not normally overtly critical of players but I'm sick of [censored]-footing around. If the apologists for the likes of our seniors with some inexplicable but potentially minute currency such as Dawes, Garland, Grimes and Watts want to continue making a case for their value going forward then good luck to you and god save the MFC.

Posted

Tyson is a lazy player, does not chase and put pressure on his opponent, but then he is far from alone there. We gave the saints players far too much latitude and put virtually no pressure on them marking.

Top sides tackle and tackle hard, our players were brushed aside too easily or ended up giving away stupid free kicks, in the back, high tackles, etc... Too many lazy players, Dawes and quite a few players do not chase hard, they run along side the opposition waving their hands instead of going for the body.

Woeful effort.

Posted

I just want to clarify that my posts on demonland are in no way a reflection of my sex life, Moon

Each to their own munga. However you'll probably have BBO stalking you soon!

Posted

That is the worst game of footy I've seen us play for a long long time. And that is saying something

We have not improved from last year from what I've seen.

No spread no structure.

Farked

Posted

Instead of kicking it into space for Garlett to run into goal we try stupid little inboard passes to Dawes (and sometimes others). He's not always clean but at least Garlett constantly applies pressure when he's near it. We completely misjudged the conditions today, it's very rare that a team handballs more than kicks in the wet but we managed it today

Posted

and Tyson, Dawes, Cross, Garland, Michie, McDonald, Vanders, Howe

WTF? He played a quarter, when the game was dusted, picked up 9 possessions, 2 tackles 1 GA. What did you want him to do? Come on in the last and kick 7 to win the game. Maybe if he had played the whole game he might have had more impact but there are a truckload of players today that did not do as well playing the whole Fn game including Stretch, Harmes Garlett and Brayshaw all of whom the fanboys on this site see as some sort of superstars. None of these blokes had an impact today.

Posted

As I said last week, if you're an AFL player and you made the decision to run inside 50 and you find yourself with ball in hand, kick the goddamn goal. If you can't back yourself to do that, please go away.

Posted

Dawes, Garland, Dunn, Lumumba, Vince, Cross, Jones, Grimes, Watts, Howe, Jetta, Garlett.

These are our leaders.

How many of them played well today?

How many of them have had good years?

In 2015 I'd say only four (Vince, Cross, Jones, Garlett) have had good years.

Roos is operating below par, but this club cannot rise no matter who the coach is when these are our leaders and they continue to perform appallingly on a consistent basis.

Edit: forgot Garlett.

Posted

I don't understand Melbourne's forward movement. I understand that lack of skill means we do have to kick it down the line a lot, but what difference is that compared to under Mark Neeld.

You watch other teams play and if they take a mark on the wing and they can't find a free player forward they always have defenders free and can switch the play hopefully getting the forwards moving into space. I don't understand why Melbourne can't get defenders free for the switch. Too often we are on the wing, can't find a forward so just bomb it long. That game plan is really not going to get us very far in relation to improvement.

Today there were times when they tried to look to centre the ball through the corridor. It's a good sign but it's just sad that our skill level is sooo terrible they can't hit targets like 25 metres in front of them.

Hopefully the pre-season is heavily based on skills and improving our kicking efficiency.