Posted

I just want to know how anybody but Hogan and the club knows his salary........It give me the Sh*ts when dollar amounts are put up as fact because someone reckons this is what he is getting

As far as I know not one player in the AFL has disclosed what they get paid............The media, supporters,(So called) experts, somehow know everything about a players contract?????

It's just guess work at its worst.

Posted

I just want to know how anybody but Hogan and the club knows his salary........It give me the Sh*ts when dollar amounts are put up as fact because someone reckons this is what he is getting

As far as I know not one player in the AFL has disclosed what they get paid............The media, supporters,(So called) experts, somehow know everything about a players contract?????

It's just guess work at its worst.

all I have been told from my best mate who is good friends with Jesse is it's a substancial pay rise as expected, whether that means he's on 300k, 500k, 700k, I have absolutely no idea, i'd guess it's around the 400-500k mark

Posted

We all said similar things when Trengove re-signed, look how that turned out !

shhh :unsure:

Posted

Nice to see a player sensible enough to realise being out of contract and having media pressure all over you doesn't improve your form and in turn it hurts your career.

After this deal is up he'll be at 4 years, he can probably sign another 4 then with a new CBA and make serious coin and then be heading to free agency. His money will come.

And he sounds genuine about his faith in the club and how much he enjoys Melbourne. Isn't afraid to say he was homesick when injured but he knows when he starts playing how much he'll love it here.

Yeah it will be great to see his debut. I'm even excited to see (or read) about his return to Casey on limited game time even in a rubbish side it will just be great to have him out there showcasing his talent.

Posted

Now here's a kid who gets it. The club invests high draft picks + countless hours and medical expenses - and he sees fit to repay the faith. Even with the lure of going home and/or more money elsewhere. Kudos to you Jesse. Compare it to $cully who was in a similar position - remember the 'bung' knee? - and jumped at extra bucks the first chance he got, then had the audacity to pot the club as incompetent afterwards. Worlds apart in character.

Can't wait to see Hogan in action now. I reckon this kid plus a few other signings (hopefully) will push us a lot further next year than most expect.

Posted

Now here's a kid who gets it. The club invests high draft picks + countless hours and medical expenses - and he sees fit to repay the faith. Even with the lure of going home and/or more money elsewhere. Kudos to you Jesse. Compare it to $cully who was in a similar position - remember the 'bung' knee? - and jumped at extra bucks the first chance he got, then had the audacity to pot the club as incompetent afterwards. Worlds apart in character.

Can't wait to see Hogan in action now. I reckon this kid plus a few other signings (hopefully) will push us a lot further next year than most expect.

Unfortunately the club was incompetent and he jumped at $1M.

Posted

Hoges probably just found out that his back is completely rooted and couldn't sign quick enough :)

I realise that being a pessimist is either a prerequisite, a result, or perhaps both, of being a Demon follower, but how about sharing a moment of joy :-))

Just got off the phone to my best mate who has spoken to Jesse today, she said you can't wipe the smile off his face, absolutely stoked he is staying another couple of years

Can confirm there has been really strong interest from not just west coast and Freo but other clubs as well but Jesse knows how much we have invested in him and he's got some really good mates here in Jack viney Jimmy toumpas and Dean Kent

He's in for a significant pay rise but I wasn't told an exact figure and also Jesse is hoping to play against the lions but the club may make himwait an extra week, he's really working hard to get back asap

Apart from being a bloody good footballer, he also seems to be a genuine, decent and honest human. Well done Jesse

Posted

I realise that being a pessimist is either a prerequisite, a result, or perhaps both, of being a Demon follower, but how about sharing a moment of joy :-))

Apart from being a bloody good footballer, he also seems to be a genuine, decent and honest human. Well done Jesse

Hopefully not too decent when he gets on the field...

Posted

I would imagine his manager told,"look you havent played a game" and your so far have had a back injury still not repaired".

The market place for JH would not be great ATM so its a fair deal all round.

Posted

Another key pillar is now in place .... PJ, PR and now JH. A few more of the player variety are still required, but in anyone's language it's outstanding progress in less than 12 months. We have dreamed of success for far too long .... but in a few years we might be able to touch it!

Posted

We weren't exactly flying at the time, yet that didn't stop Trengove signing on long-term. It's all good and well to jump at $1M (not like he would have earnt peanuts by staying), but to publicly pot the club and infer it's incompetence was the reason for leaving... well the guy's a scumbag. Anyway he's turned out to be an average footballer and this thread should be about Hogan so I won't say anymore. But it's great to see loyalty still exists.

Posted (edited)

and also Jesse is hoping to play against the lions but the club may make him wait an extra week, he's really working hard to get back asap

Brisbane game is on August 3rd, thats 4 weeks away so it seems a bit optimistic considering hes need a couple of games at Casey

August 17 vs GWS at the MCG would be perfect and more realistic time wise

Edited by hogans_heroes
Posted

We weren't exactly flying at the time, yet that didn't stop Trengove signing on long-term. It's all good and well to jump at $1M (not like he would have earnt peanuts by staying), but to publicly pot the club and infer it's incompetence was the reason for leaving... well the guy's a scumbag. Anyway he's turned out to be an average footballer and this thread should be about Hogan so I won't say anymore. But it's great to see loyalty still exists.

you wont get an argument from me !

( not on the loyalty thing but about Scully being a scumbag)

Posted

Hh, the Brisbane game is Jesse's aim, he won't go through Casey because the club wants him to taste afl level this year, if he doesn't play against Brisbane it will be the week after based on what I was told

Posted

What I am so excited about is ( and yes I am getting way ahead of myself) - Seeing the clips of Jesse - he seems to have Travis Cloke type hands ( when Travis is on song)

So looking forward to a bail out kick to the forward line with some hope that we have someone there that can sit in front of a pack and clunk a mark.

Posted

A lot of Bull has been spoken about him wanting to go home he clearly is enjoying being in Melbourne and the change of culture at the club. Delighted he wants to come along for the ride.

Posted

Hh, the Brisbane game is Jesse's aim, he won't go through Casey because the club wants him to taste afl level this year, if he doesn't play against Brisbane it will be the week after based on what I was told

Which doesn't stop him going through "the seconds" for a game or two.

I doubt if he will be thrust straight into "the firsts" as Roos calls them.

Posted

The video interview said that the aim is to play VFL round 17 (round 19 AFL equivalent) at 70% game time. Then a few weeks of VFL before playing a game or two of AFL.

Posted

He would have jumped anyway nutbean

That is a very large amount of money.

Posted

It's just such good news, what makes it even better is that I was never really worried he would bolt.

Haven't had that confidence in the club for a while.