Posted

I'm mad as hell that Moloney was kept in the side over Morton, but I suppose it shows that the rumours about him being at odds with the coach might be a little unfounded. Either that or we're aiming to play him for the rest of the year and up his trade value as much as possible.

• Replies 124
Posted

As Chook said, I think Morton going out while Moloney gets to stay is bog, but other than that the outs are fine. So, so much yawn in the ins though. Macdonald - zzzz. Sellar - zzzz. Dunn - zzzz. Nicholson - zzzz. I thought Bate ( - zzzz?) might have been in the mix, and you have to wonder whose cat Couch must have kicked.

Then again, at least we know Macdonald has a dip, even if he's not any good.

Hope the final bench is McKenzie, Tapscott, Davis and Magner. Not much experience there though, but that's hardly a surprise. Would love to see Davis play game #1.

Happy that the two chain draggers won't play this week - only one to go now.

Posted

Seems like Neeld is happy to toss around players quite a bit...Morton omission is fair enough based on last week's game, not sure if we need Sellar back, Davey's a little stiff I think. Hopefully Nicholson gets picked I reckon he will be a great player, I've been calling for his selection all year, he looked ok last season. Interchange should be McKenzie, Bennell, Magner and Nicholson (sub). Dunn better find some form he just never looks quite there on the footy field

Posted

Picking who will get more possessions out of Sellar and Bennell is the only interesting thing in this side.

Posted

Melbourne team

B: James Frawley, Jared Rivers, Clint Bartram

HB: Jack Grimes, Colin Garland, Tom McDonald

C: Rohan Bail, Brent Moloney, Sam Blease

HF: Jack Trengove, Jack Watts, Brad Green

F: Jeremy Howe, Mitch Clark, James Sellar

FOLL: Mark Jamar, Lynden Dunn, Nathan Jones

I/C (from): Jamie Bennell, Jordie McKenzie, Daniel Nicholson, Joel Macdonald, Luke Tapscott, Troy Davis, James Magner

IN: Macdonald, Bail, Sellar, Dunn, Tapscott, Davis, Nicholson

OUT: Liam Jurrah (ankle), Aaron Davey, Colin Sylvia, Cale Morton

NEW: Troy Davis (Kerang/Geelong Grammar/Geelong U18s)

Well Neeld hasnt taken any crap this week. Morton I thought may be harsh but I think him getting subbed off last week didnt help and also that weak handball he did after Howe took that scramer. Davey I get has done nothing and was poor last week and Sylvia deserved to be dropped for just having a joke after the game with the swans player .Still scratching my head how he was a number 3 pick. Id still prefer Pettard over Dunn.

True that - but, can't blame the recruiters for this one. 2003 was an ordinary draft year.

Posted

Well I hope this game isnt bruise free football like last year. I remember Neeld on radio weeks ago that Couch is 6 weeks into his AFL career. I guess they just dont want to shove him in there and want to ease him in. I like to see him play but I think he will get his chance at some stage.

Posted

That is one uninspiring list of INs. All it needed was Bate to round it out.

Couch, Cook, Taggert, Martin, Petterd...all overlooked.

Meh, bring on the slaughter!

Posted

As Chook said, I think Morton going out while Moloney gets to stay is bog, but other than that the outs are fine. So, so much yawn in the ins though. Macdonald - zzzz. Sellar - zzzz. Dunn - zzzz. Nicholson - zzzz. I thought Bate ( - zzzz?) might have been in the mix, and you have to wonder whose cat Couch must have kicked.

Then again, at least we know Macdonald has a dip, even if he's not any good.

Hope the final bench is McKenzie, Tapscott, Davis and Magner. Not much experience there though, but that's hardly a surprise. Would love to see Davis play game #1.

Happy that the two chain draggers won't play this week - only one to go now.

I think Couch pee'd on someone's cat as revenge.
Posted

Gee it's hardly a team of guns coming back in is it?

It feels like my week is shocking from the end of game to about Wednesday morning, then a couple of days to be philosophical, but come Thursday night I'm real nervous again.

This might be the most nervous I've been about seeing the team on paper for a long time. Sellar, Dunn and J Mac? Gees. I'd start drinking at 10AM Sunday if I didn't have to drive home.

Posted

I'm assuming that Morton has broke one of the non negotiates thus the sub and drop. He wasn't great but others were arguably just a bad.

One thing we have dinner is brought in guys who have a crack. MacDonald, Pickles, Dunn (he might not be great but at least he puts in), bail and sellar at least try as well.

I imagine a poor week from green out millinery will see them at Casey the week after. Meeks may have felt that it was more beneficial to let moloney try to make it up in the afl that sit out completely.

Posted

I don't mind that we dropped the underperforming players, but FFS could those 'ins' be any less inspiring?

We've spent years list managing to end up with so many average players. Depressing.

Posted

Very dangerous player and has pace.

overstatement of the day!!

Tapscott is about the only 'in' that gets me exited. Hopefully Sylvia, Davey and Morton come back in some good form, we need them playing well come GWS/GCS games!

Posted

Morton probably was dropped for filling his underwear when Jetta almost tackled him.

20 bucks you'll find another way to squeeze that line in one more time before the week is out. Perhaps you're right though, and that's the reason he got dropped.

Posted

brock back apparently..

That's bad. I'm not sure our midfield will be able to handle his pace.
Posted

Seems like Neeld is happy to toss around players quite a bit...Morton omission is fair enough based on last week's game, not sure if we need Sellar back, Davey's a little stiff I think. Hopefully Nicholson gets picked I reckon he will be a great player, I've been calling for his selection all year, he looked ok last season. Interchange should be McKenzie, Bennell, Magner and Nicholson (sub). Dunn better find some form he just never looks quite there on the footy field

Too much of the old in-out for mine. I'd rather have seen one or both of Taggert and Couch for Moloney/Green.