View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

2 minutes ago, rpfc said:

Pretty attractive tbh

keep it in your pants mate

5 minutes ago, Demonland said:

10 years is quite a stint. Seems more the exception than the norm at present.

Welcome Stephen look forward to your first premiership as coach.

In the past I didn't like Buckley but that was based on the colour of his jumper rather than any rational basis. I have been surprised at how much I liked him in the media.

Whatever the reason he didnt get or take the job its now irrelevant but we should be grateful he and the others considered it and engaged in the process.

1 minute ago, Demonland said:

The headlines are going to write themselves:

Steven King's Misery

Steven King's Horror Show

Steven King's Stand

Steven King's Salem's Lot

Steven King's Stand By Me

Can I just put in a little tip. Bucks won’t get Tassie, it will be Longmire. All this Tassie spin will be revealed to be Bucks PR after losing a process (he’d actually never done one before, King has). I might be wrong but let’s check back in a few years, I’d be taking the Bucks spin with a HUGE grain of salt. Long live the King!

5 minutes ago, OhMyDees said:

So if we could have waited another two weeks we’d probably have Buckley…

As if King wouldn’t have been available if Bucks turned us down then?

Absolutely stupid timeline by the club.

Good grief. Some always look for the speculative negative even when there is a perfectly good speculative positive which is just as likely. If it is true that Buckley wanted to wait in case Tassie came through then that is a big negative for him and a positive for us in putting the question to him. Of course I'm only speculating , not having any inside info.

Welcome with open arms! ❤️💙

8 minutes ago, OhMyDees said:

So if we could have waited another two weeks we’d probably have Buckley…

As if King wouldn’t have been available if Bucks turned us down then?

Absolutely stupid timeline by the club.

The club asked would he take the job if offered

He equivocated

We dodged a bullet

Absolute right call by the club

A genuine surprise. Very impressed that this was not leaked ahead of time.

Last I heard it was between, Bucks, Kelly or Lade but I guess the media was guessing just as much as we were (surprise, surprise)

Love them or hate them, Geelong have been the AFL benchmark in the 2000's. I think King will be good for us (fingers crossed anyway!)

No doubt Bucks was in the 'yes, pending better offer' camp. I can see why we didn't go down that direction.

9 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

I don't know but I feel a little surprised or disappointed. It felt like Buckley was almost over the line and I got the feeling King wasn't people's second prediction. I now have trouble believing the MFC spent much time apparently asking Buckley if he was interested before sacking Goody. Anyway King does tick a lot of boxes. Who knows, by the time we're in May (no pun intended) it could well be he's already looking like a gun.

Anyway , all hail the King!

I'm not afraid to say I loved Goodwin as our coach. I believe him to be a winner and he brought some of that to the MFC (more than anyone else has been able to do for more than half a century).

But we are in the position we are in right now because of inarguable under performance. From the FD. Not just in wins and losses, but in the manner of how we seemed to approach competing in a no nonsense, ruthless manner. That seemed to be a signal that change might have been needed, and is why right now we are being kicked around by anyone with a boot. The kicking is going to continue until the next season starts, so we need to get used to it.

And when next season starts, there's one group of people, now with the guidance of Steven King, who have the power to stop the pile on. The Hawthorn and Collingwood way is that the players have the privilege of taking the club to where they want it to be. The coaches will provide the guidance, but the players have to drive it. We need to be like them. With our current list, that may well not mean top 4 or even top 8 finishes. It doesn't need to include those things. It needs to be a visceral indication that players understand the privilege and clearly want to take this club somewhere.

8 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Steven King's Misery

Steven King's Stand

Yep, and how some players were 'carried'. If Gus comes back it'd be the Brayshaw Redemption. There's probably a few other puns out there.

6 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

We got played by Buckley

Did it cost us other experienced applicants not entering

Not our greatest hour but who knows it might work out for the best

Good Luck Mr King !!

The only people who didn’t apply were the 2 Brisbane guys - Daly and Bruce and Enright.

I think succession plans account for 2 of them. Possibly with Daly also with a lot on his plate not liking the time frame.

And if Cam Bruce pushed hard for the job he could’ve assumed favouritism from Buckley given he’s a former player with his ex team mate as President.

The great thing about having Bucks on board is he was a benchmark. If he was by far the best applicant we’d have begged him to take the job. King and apparently others met or even exceeded that benchmark.

45 minutes ago, OhMyDees said:

Very disappointed - don’t think King is better than Buckley but time will tell. AFL got what they wanted.

I would hope we got what we wanted - not the AFL.

Great choice.

As far as I can tell it's a good appointment. Be in multiple successfu system and worked with different coaches with different approaches.

Interesting they are allowing him to finish out the season, as they normally leave straight away, is the AFL maturing :)

If we can build a sustained model of competing at the top as promised after 2021, it will be a success.

Definitely wasnt who I thought it was gong to be, however lets see how it all goes. I do like the ballsy decision from the club, however I probably wouldve asked Buckley the main question at the start, not to waste his or our time. Some Geelong intel is exactly what we need. Now we just need Stephen Wells.

13 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Steven King's Misery

Steven King's Stand

A novel approach to coaching.

Edited by mauriesy

56 minutes ago, Deez21 said:

The media reported that everyone else smashed their interview but the word from the club was this guy went in McRae style and brought a fresh new perspective.

Going to be interesting to find out what happened with Buckley.

Non-committal and wouldn’t say if he were offered the job, if he’d accept it. Holding out for Tassie is risky, I honestly believe it won’t go ahead.

44 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

So he was our second choice?

"Nathan Buckley's presence was a curiosity all along as Bucks was interviewing Melbourne as much as they were interviewing him," he said. "Right at the end, he couldn't answer the question if they offered him the job would he take it and I know Tasmania plays a role in that somewhere."

What's the source for this comment?

20 minutes ago, Demonland said:

U sit in the fence and u get splinters.

He couldn’t give an answer of YES and was waiting for more info on TAS, not great shows he wasn’t fully committed imo.

At least I don’t have to pretend now to like bucks, disaster averted.

Good luck King.

Welcome Stephen King. A complete apprenticeship and former Captain and premiership player. Go well Kingy.

Buckley going through a process and still telling the club he needs more time is disingenuous to the employer. King is a current day coach with heaps of experience. Now the club needs to put support around him he needs and players that want to be at the club.

My god this place is unbearable.

FFS if Buckley was not 100% committed he wasn't the right guy.

There were lots of questions marks around him, both with his average coaching history, the time he spent away from the game, and his desire to do the job. But of course the usual suspects are bitching and moaning, because the media TOLD THEM Buckley is the man, and now that he isn't, it must be because we are a basket case and not because, wait for it, Buckley just wasn't that impressive or that committed to the job.

If you hate this club and think everything we do is so bad, please just put yourself and the rest of us out of your misery and leave.

35 minutes ago, roy11 said:

Kelly would have been the first (permanent) Demons head coach younger than me, don't like milestones like that. So i am in favour of this appointment

We live to fight another day Roy!