31 minutes ago, layzie said:

The moral of the story is when the other team gets momentum it can't be stopped. Even when you're 46 points up, you always get chased down.

agree that the momentum defence is hard to swallow. I'm not sure about his comments that Goodwin is a smart tactician - results would suggest otherwise.

Courtesy of @WheeloRatings , 4th quarter stats plus quarters 1-3.

Quarter 4

Melbourne

St Kilda

Disposals

Contested Possessions

Post-Clearance Contested Possessions

Uncontested Possessions

Clearances

Centre Clearances

Inside 50s

Marks Inside 50

Quarters 1-3

Melbourne

St Kilda

Disposals

Contested Possessions

Post-Clearance Contested Possessions

Uncontested Possessions

Clearances

Centre Clearances

Inside 50s

Marks Inside 50

Pick your poison..

4 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

Spargo was fine at Casey. Woey is injured, Laurie’s just going at Casey and has never done anything at AFL level in his entire career which leaves Billings, who is playing decent footy in the midfield at Casey.

If we knew our midfield was going to fall apart he would’ve been more use, but fresh legs to play half forward to mitigate the Saints run was still the logical choice. As is picking a guy who we need to make a contract call on in Spargo than a random Billings game.

He wasn't fine imv DS. Had very little impact and still couldn't find a goal at that level.

In a VFL form sense Billings is a mile ahead of Spargo and has been in great form for many weeks now.

I would've even taken Culley or Ricky (albeit not setting the wolrd alight either but much more upside) ahead of Spargo.

Bottom line i wouldn't have dropped Sharp for Spargo unless the rest were down with the dreaded lurgy, or worse.

51 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

I just can't fathom that kozzie sat on the bench for the last 9 minutes.

Did goody not see him?

The ball spent most of the time locked in either forward line and the far wing.

Deliberately running a player off the ground either leaves a free man in a really dangerous spot or provides one less in the congestion which means an easy clearance. Either way that’s not good.

Mids/forwards don’t rotate off at specific times, it’s up to the players to come off for fresh legs when tired either after goals, at set shots or when the ball comes near the bench. That never happened.

We let Kossie come off at a time when there was a chance for him to come back on with 2-3 minutes. Unfortunately we didn’t get a shot at goal and the Saints didn’t either until there was 20 seconds left or whatever it was.

2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Paywall 😞

4 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

The ball spent most of the time locked in either forward line and the far wing.

Deliberately running a player off the ground either leaves a free man in a really dangerous spot or provides one less in the congestion which means an easy clearance. Either way that’s not good.

Mids/forwards don’t rotate off at specific times, it’s up to the players to come off for fresh legs when tired either after goals, at set shots or when the ball comes near the bench. That never happened.

We let Kossie come off at a time when there was a chance for him to come back on with 2-3 minutes. Unfortunately we didn’t get a shot at goal and the Saints didn’t either until there was 20 seconds left or whatever it was.

Yep. Been heaps of games this season where gun players stuck on the bench for 8 minutes or more. Can't always get the play over to the bench side of the ground. Switching the easiest but not always possible.

19 hours ago, SadDee said:

I am merely a fan, and played footy before 6-6-6 rule, so forgive my ignorance;

Who controls the 6-6-6 set up? Players? Coaches? Umpires?

Who is to blame for the error and how is it prevented from happening again?

23 hours ago, Flower Magic said:

I don't like bagging our players, but how on earth could you get the 6-6-6 wrong with 26 seconds to go. Just unbelievable stupidity by someone. Who got it wrong? I switched off the TV in complete disgust so I didn't see a replay or the explanation. And don't you only get a free kick if there's been an earlier warning? When did that happen? And if it did, who caused the warning? So may questions. But the big question for me is why do I keep watching this hopeless team of losers?

So Max has answered my question. There was a previous warning in the second quarter and Max didn't tell anyone!!!!!! Are you kidding me? I love Max but this omission is unforgivable 😡.

1 hour ago, dees189227 said:

I just can't fathom that kozzie sat on the bench for the last 9 minutes.

Did goody not see him?

He didn't. He's clearly on the ground for that last play.

According to goody's press conference, he was back on with 2.5 mins to go.

2 minutes ago, Mickey said:

So he says.

Screenshot_20250728_175929_Chrome.jpg

Big concern we are stuck with players

1 minute ago, Mickey said:

KOzzie got on the ground for the last play. Kozzie was in the defensive side of the middle and was back peddling towards the Saints forward line watching Marshall kick the ball over his head as NWM ran past him on his right to inside 50. Didn’t even see him.

Edited by John Crow Batty

5 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

So he says.

Screenshot_20250728_175929_Chrome.jpg

Only our two biggest proven match winners sitting on the bench with 1:20 left to play.

You. Cannot. Make. This. [censored]. Up.

I actually enjoyed the game. Even though we lost, sometimes you have to sit back and appreciate how great the game is and admire what the players can do. Anger is a choice.

10 minutes ago, Deesprate said:

me uncompetitive like Bummers, Norf, Eagles. The Dees clearly need change but reckless change could see us sink further. The simplest change is the coach supporters need to see some action. In relation to the list it not that bad we just need to be careful not to butcher the playing list. Yesterday was bad/disgraceful but we still have some great players who we need to hang onto. When I am really down I am thankful Kossi resigned losing him would have been far worse than lo

6 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

Saints celebrating like they won a flag. If that was our club, I’d be extremely worried 😬😬😬

If the roles were reversed, we'd do the same.

Anyone got footage of the last 8 seconds when they panned to Chocco counting with his finger?

Comedy Central.

Still reckon Anzac Day 1992 was worse. Beginning of the end for Swooper.

2 minutes had already been played in the last quarter and we were 47 points up against the Bombers on the G....

Edited by dice

what a fiasco

you wouldn't think it was possible to make so many mistakes, but we managed it yesterday

heads have to roll

1 hour ago, lorn said:

I actually enjoyed the game. Even though we lost, sometimes you have to sit back and appreciate how great the game is and admire what the players can do. Anger is a choice.

Same

The Saints went crazy

My view is this is the loss we really had to have to force the club’s hand

1 hour ago, danielE288 said:

If the roles were reversed, we'd do the same.

Not so sure. The Saints celebrated like they won a flag. Or for them an elimination final.

I was at the game with two mates that are Saints fans. Both wanted us to [censored] them so Roos would be closer to getting the boot. Funny how things work out.

After days like yesterday I decided some time ago to just stay quiet. My father many years ago told me never act when you are angry. You always make the wrong decision or say something you will later regret. So here I am 24 hours after the worst result I have ever witnessed by the MFC. I have watched numerous games when we had a poor playing group when the game was over at quarter time. Over half a century I have seen a lot of poor games by this club. I have never seen anything like yesterday. 7 goals 3 ahead at 3/4 time and then lose. This team is not without talent as the 3/4 time score line showed. The complete abdecation by the playing group and coaches in that last quarter has never been seen before in the league, it is a record. I am devastated in all those [censored] decades this a new low. I am abanding the MFC senior side for the next month. On Saturday my grand daughters basketball team with only 5 players due to sickness played their hearts out to lose by 2 points. They fought to the end with no rest. Pity I cannot show our weak minded players what determination achieves.