Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Who do you remember/ honour?

From some of the comments, it's clear this game is much more than a simple sports event.

It should not take anything away from the day itself but for me its a prelude  that provides flashes of memories of my mother's father...William Barker who fought in the Somme and was badly injured but happily survived and came back to Oz to start a family.

Sadly he was a fanatical South Melbourne supporter in later years and tried to convert me as a young kid from following my dad's one true and only team.

I suppose I'm one of the older members of the Dland community.

I'm guessing there are quite a few younger ones who are possibly ex or current servicemen or women.

Honour your relatives, loved ones or mate or even yourself with a deserving Dland shoutout.

Lest we forget.

Edited by leave it to deever

My great grandfather Raymond Harbour fought in France in WWI, and while he came home alive, he did have a bullet lodged in him for the rest of his life that couldn't be removed.  My mother attempted to trace her family tree, and couldn't go much further back than Raymond (her paternal grandfather) as it seems he was adopted as a young child - the records were not very well kept on these back in the late 19th century.  We do know he was brought up in Bendigo, and that was where my grandfather was born.  Pop Harbour was a very private man who did not like to speak much about his war experiences, however he did live until 1974, and one time, when my auntie was pregnant with my cousin Karen, Pop just one day opened up and just started talking.  My uncle and mum started to record what he was talking about, and I wish I knew where that tape was.  Not long after, Pop died, and then Karen was born.  

Edit - I've just discovered this on Pop, talking about his war medals.  Uncle Alan has his medals. - https://vwma.org.au/explore/people/336690

Edited by Katrina Dee Fan

Posted (edited)
36 minutes ago, Katrina Dee Fan said:

My great grandfather Raymond Harbour fought in France in WWI, and while he came home alive, he did have a bullet lodged in him for the rest of his life that couldn't be removed.  My mother attempted to trace her family tree, and couldn't go much further back than Raymond (her paternal grandfather) as it seems he was adopted as a young child - the records were not very well kept on these back in the late 19th century.  We do know he was brought up in Bendigo, and that was where my grandfather was born.  Pop Harbour was a very private man who did not like to speak much about his war experiences, however he did live until 1974, and one time, when my auntie was pregnant with my cousin Karen, Pop just one day opened up and just started talking.  My uncle and mum started to record what he was talking about, and I wish I knew where that tape was.  Not long after, Pop died, and then Karen was born.  

That's the same year my Grandfather died. We also called him pop or more specifically Poppy.

I remember as a young kid my mother and I would pick him up every Friday Arvo from the Elsternwick RSL and take him home after he'd had a bellow load of beer.

As a young kid that RSL club seemed to have the same ambience and reverence of our  local Catholic Church. 

Funny the things that impress upon you as a youngster.

Maybe they both knew each other.

Edited by leave it to deever

17 minutes ago, Katrina Dee Fan said:

Edit - I've just discovered this on Pop, talking about his war medals.  Uncle Alan has his medals. - https://vwma.org.au/explore/people/336690

If you are interested, you can get replicas made up. Many places do them. Many families have a custodian of the originals and siblings etc have a set of replicas. Nice display boxes available too.

14 minutes ago, Left Foot Snap said:

If you are interested, you can get replicas made up. Many places do them. Many families have a custodian of the originals and siblings etc have a set of replicas. Nice display boxes available too.

Made the same post in game day thread. My sister had two of my Grandfather's done. I think it was the department of defence. It's a great way to honour loved ones. And many Ww 1 haven't survived over the years.

I had four uncles that served in WW2 two saw action one in New Guinea and one in Dutch East Indies (Indonesia), one was a despatch rider who was badly injured when he came off his bike in the MEast and one who served in Japan as occupation troops. However the one that we think most about is my father-in-law who was in the 8th Division, he fought down through Malaya, captured in Singapore, he spent time in Changi, Burma Railway, back to Changi and then shipped to Japan to work in a mine until the war ended. He was located not far from Nagasaki and he and all prisoners were told that as soon as the US invaded Japan that they would all be executed. He told my wife that when the war concluded the Yanks parachuted in food supplies to them in Red, White and Blue parachutes and that he still got a tear in his eye when he thought about those huge planes and those beautiful parachutes bringing food and supplies to them as the Japanese troops had cleared out when the ceasefire was declared.💕

My Grandfathers cousin was Alf Baud who served in WW1. 

He is also Carlton’s youngest ever Premiership captain at 22. He enlisted and was deployed not long after this, got injured and was never able to play again. He was lucky enough to have been able to return and live until the age of 94.

Roy ‘up there’ Cazaly said this of him:

‘Another great Carlton player was Alf Baud. He could play anywhere. The younger generation are proud to speak of the amazing balance of Haydn Bunton. I think that Baud, by comparison, would have made Bunton look ordinary. Baud would have been a football sensation had it not been for the war. That finished his career.

His war injuries were severe.

You would have stopped Baud one minute, or should I say you thought you had stopped him; then in a flash he was past you. He was a thinker. Every counter you met him with was in turn countered by this most elusive footballer. Baud was one of the greatest players we have produced. I don't think he ever reached his top. — Roy Cazaly, 5 June 1937

I think of him on Anzac Day. The older I get the more visceral sadness, anger and disgust I feel at the waste and destruction of entire generations of young people. 

Lest we forget. 

Both my grandfather's served in World War II in the Pacific. One in the Royal Australian Artillery and one in the RAAF. I'm in my mid 30s and I was fascinated by the boys own stories they would often recount to me as I was growing up and they've remained particularly close to me.

My great-uncle and great grandfather also served in World War I. 

I myself haven't served in the ADF, but I've had close associations and very strong contacts with many enlisted members of the ADF and have worked in a collegiate environment among them, tomorrow will be a special day. 

Lest We Forget. 

Edited by BLWNBA

My grandfather was a vet from WW1. Like many others he didn’t like to talk about the war. But there is one special story about him that we will never forget. He didn’t drink, smoke gamble or play cards, except on one occasion he did - while his platoon was on a long distance train travel.  He played cards that night and gambling was involved. It turns out he was a healthy winner, so with his profits he purchased a camera. He then became popular as his mates all wanted photos to send home. He saved every dollar he earned from this side venture. He was either expensive or it was a long campaign, because when he returned to western Victoria after the war, he used his savings to purchase a bus, and started a bus line based in Hamilton and heading to and fro Portland, among other places.  Ultimately he sold that business to a young up and comer by the name of Reg Ansett snr who obviously was able to grow the business exponentially and ultimately expanded into the airline business. 
My grandfather never played cards or gambled again. Not sure about the drink though. It’s he who I fondly remember each and every ANZAC day.
Lest we forget.

• Love 7

9 minutes ago, Neil Crompton said:

My grandfather was a vet from WW1. Like many others he didn’t like to talk about the war. But there is one special story about him that we will never forget. He didn’t drink, smoke gamble or play cards, except on one occasion he did - while his platoon was on a long distance train travel.  He played cards that night and gambling was involved. It turns out he was a healthy winner, so with his profits he purchased a camera. He then became popular as his mates all wanted photos to send home. He saved every dollar he earned from this side venture. He was either expensive or it was a long campaign, because when he returned to western Victoria after the war, he used his savings to purchase a bus, and started a bus line based in Hamilton and heading to and fro Portland, among other places.  Ultimately he sold that business to a young up and comer by the name of Reg Ansett snr who obviously was able to grow the business exponentially and ultimately expanded into the airline business. 
My grandfather never played cards or gambled again. Not sure about the drink though. It’s he who I fondly remember each and every ANZAC day.
Lest we forget.

This is a brilliant story mate, thanks for sharing. 

4 minutes ago, Neil Crompton said:

Lest we forget.

Lest we forget mate.

That is an incredibly fascinating story where it could be argued that one of Australia s premier airline had its inception from a couple of decent card hands. 

What a savvy investment during a war. A portable camera in WW1 was a certain rare item that would be in high demand.

Sending possible last photos of oneself to loved ones would make one pay a pretty Penny or Pound.

My mom reckoned her dad never talked about the war either except the nurse who looked after him in a French hospital. Apparently my mom was named after her. Not sure how my Grandma thought about it all.

Spenser Wendell Warne-Smith, 23rd Australian Infantry Battalion, 

Date of Death 04 August 1916, France,

Age 22.

Waldo Esmond Warne-Smith, 6th Australian Infantry Battalion, 

Date of Death 20 September 1918, France,

Age 23.

Awarded Military Cross

Ivor Phillip Scharrer Warne-Smith,  served at Gallipoli (1915 as 17y.o.) & Western Front, 7th Australian Infantry Battalion. 

Charles Warne-Smith, Died 4 June 1922 Suicide by Drowning in the Plenty River, reportedly of grief over the loss of his two eldest sons according to my family.

20240424_062534.jpg

• Thanks 4
  • Love 4

2 hours ago, leave it to deever said:

Made the same post in game day thread. My sister had two of my Grandfather's done. I think it was the department of defence. It's a great way to honour loved ones. And many Ww 1 haven't survived over the years.

Dept of Defence, no. Dept of Veterans Affairs is where you apply for originals. (as well as commerative plaques for the deceased vetrans should anyone need them). The replicas are done by private businesses. There are many. We have one in Brisbane we use. But they are all over the country and lots of backyard vendors who do great jobs also.

I honour my Pop, who went to Gallipoli and thence the Somme.  He survived both campaigns, though not without a major scare.  My sister has the telegram saying he was killed in action.  He wasn't dead, just half dead and missing a goodly chunk of face.  He got patched up and went back to war.  (!!!!)  He would've been right into the high jinks portrayed in the movie, Gallipoli, as evidenced by his absconding and also playing two up at Stonehenge (biggest school ever!  And then the MPs raided it. Alas the outcome is lost to history.) He didn't talk about the war, though he had fond memories of the French and in particular the women.  Just as well he survived because he hadn't met my grandmother at that point so Mum hadn't been born and a dynasty of Demon supporters would never have been born.  Pop died 60 years to the day of the date of the telegram.  It was just a bit early.

My dad was in a protected industry during WWII.  He managed to enlist then got kicked out and sent back to work training the best apprentices he ever had - women.

• Love 4

Both my grandfathers fought in WWI. One was highly decorated, badly wounded and later married my grandmother whose first husband was killed in the war. The other was a colourful character whose exploits during the war are best not mentioned. An uncle fought in Stalingrad who managed to get out alive. Another uncle was killed in WWII 

Edited by John Crow Batty

Luckily most of my family came back but 2 of my Nannas cousins rest in Flanders fields.

My Grandfather was shot through the neck on the Western Front and repatriated home.  His brother went to Gallipoli and came back a broken man.

My father served in the RAAF in the SW Pacific.

My uncle went into captivity at the fall of Singapore.

They do cross my mind.

Lest we forget.

My grandfather Andrew Lucas and my great uncle James Scott. Both served in the RAAF in New Guinea.

My grandfather also passed away in 1974 at the age of 51 from lung cancer, my great uncle made it to 93 in 2019. 

Will be thinking of them tonight.

Great great Uncle in the first few days at Gallipoli

Paternal grandfather who flew Spitfires over northern Oz. Not bad for a boy from Tallangatta

Maternal grandfather who was an AIF mechanic in Moresby and Solomons. He’d be rolling in his grave what’s happening there now. Some bloody funny stories of zero raids on their camps. Ended up with a captured Japanese prisoner (called George)  as his assistant . Stayed pen pals for years 

They don’t make many like that any more

I’m Irish - we’ve had our own struggles - so i don’t know a lot about the ANZACs. 

but my kids are Aussies and i’ve been trying to educate them on the little i know. look back 50 years, 70 years. the world was so different. we are so lucky to live in a stable safe place. 

My love, sympathy and gratitude to you all that have suffered losses through war and protecting our country 

My father was in Gallipoli in July 1915, then in France from 1916 till the end of the war. That is how he spent his 17-22 birthdays. Long term I do not think he ever settled down after that. He disappeared when I was 5 and Mum was left woth 4 kids under 5.

Then 20 odd years later I was in Vietnam as a National Serviceman (1967-68)

So Anzac day is a genuine day of reflection (on how lucky we are to have a life)

I knew Gav during my time in Afghan. RIP mate. 

Lance Corporal Gavin was born in Manly, NSW, in 1982. He enlisted in the Army in 2004. On completion of his basic training and initial employment training he was posted as an infantryman to the 2nd Battalion, the Royal Australian Regiment, in Townsville in 2005. He was promoted to Lance Corporal in January 2009. He was a highly-qualified soldier, having completed specialist training as a combat first aider, Pashtu linguist and infantry support weapons operator.

Lance Corporal Gavin was a highly-respected member of the 2nd Battalion. He was acknowledged by his superiors for his positive attitude and loyalty. His subordinate soldiers were motivated by his professionalism, mateship and outstanding specialist skills. He was also known for being a devoted husband and father.

Luke-Gavin-portrait.jpg