Still think we've had the best list for the last four years straight. TMac a significant weakspot, and Jordon not quite up to it, but our topliners are unmatched. Steven May incredible tonight against the best forward in the comp.

1 minute ago, ElDiablo14 said:

I am just trying to avoid us becoming a supporter base that find excuses for everything.

As others have noted, many teams have maged to reach PF, GF and even win it all with injury issues.

Sure, tell me a team that won a premiership with Kossie Pickett, an underdone Fritsch and 5 VFL  players in the forward line 

Just now, DeeSpencer said:

Our ruck and only key forward (and best goal kicker) were likely to fall apart at any given moment.

Hard to blame them for keeping tall insurance 

Cmon you don’t reward a player just because he’s tall.

Hes no good & how he got another contract is mind blowing 

14 minutes ago, JimmyGadson said:

Remember guys. 

Key indicators and expected scores prove that we should have won so I don't know why we're stressing.

Our game-plan experts in @binmanand @Binmans PAwill conduct a breakdown as to why we have the best gameplan and how we will win the flag this year.

Collingwood don't have a plan that stands up remember and Carlton don't have the run in the legs to match us. 

Also, our lack of ball users and ineffective forward line is wayyyy overblown. Look at 2021 finals seriessss. 

Now, onto next wee---.... Oh, hang on a minute... 

Jimmy, you’re better than this garbage. Baiting people into an argument post loss is a losers game. You add heaps here, but this isn’t helpful mate.

1 minute ago, DeeSpencer said:

Our ruck and only key forward (and best goal kicker) were likely to fall apart at any given moment.

Hard to blame them for keeping tall insurance 

Hmm yes, wonder where we might find a spare All Australian ruck lying around the place?

Just absolutely gutted. I don’t know what to say.

The umpires were diabolical - I thought we were meant to get the best in the business? It was so bad but it will not be discussed because our inaccuracy and wasted chances will rule the headlines.

I can see more teams overtaking us next year as we will refuse to change our game style and this quick transition footy is going to be the end of this list.

Mini Rebuild required. Put a few on the market to get more picks to bring in a crop of better ball users. 

1 minute ago, DeeSpencer said:

Sure, tell me a team that won a premiership with Kossie Pickett, an underdone Fritsch and 5 VFL  players in the forward line 

The intensely frustrating thing is we should have won both those games with exactly that 

People blaming player selection and tactics are off their heads. I will admit that I’m also guilty of the same thing at times 
But we did more than enough to win in all aspects of the game tonight apart from goal kicking. We were on top and should have kicked enough goals to win by 4/5 goals. 
3 posters in the last q. Bad kicking is bad footy they say. 
Such a shame to have lost the opportunity of another flag This team has under achieved ☹️

3 minutes ago, Undeeterred said:

Why Tomlinson hasn’t played 18-19 games this year is flat out beyond me. Just mind boggling selection all year 

His first couple of games were very iffy then he hit a bit of form and was dropped straight away.

Edited by YearOfTheDees

2 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

All I wanted was a PF.

Carlton are not good, we had 8 more scoring shots.

2 minutes ago, SaberFang said:

The first team under the current finals system to lose in straight sets in back-to-back seasons.

Melbourne break another record! Woohoo!

Another great record for the fans to be proud of.

When we're a bad team, we're absolutely diabolical, but that's ok because...insert excuses.

When we have a good team, we are world record choke artists.

Thanks again MFC.

I’m not finding excuses for everything - I just think too many people are having a massive overreaction to tonight’s (and last weeks) disappointment.

Premierships are not easy and a lot has to go right.

I can see a lot of people are in the anger stage of grief right now and maybe I need to step aside and stop trying to argue against a rant.

we have a lot going for us (still).I think there will be a lot of hurt that hopefully propels in 2024 and beyond. 

having said all that - I think we have butchered a massive opportunity. 

6 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

The issue has been with the third defender and forward selections all year.

Yeah he's absolutely butchered that all you now that you mention it.

Just now, YearOfTheDees said:

His first couple of games were very iffy then he hit a bit of form and was dropped straight away.

Clubs will be queuing up for Tomlinson, and like Grundy we’ll happily help out another club.

1 minute ago, YearOfTheDees said:

His first couple of game were very iffy then he hit a bit of form and was dropped straight away.

He is the sole reason Lever and May took about 6000 intercept marks tonight. Lever is a debacle when he has to man up on a KPF

1 minute ago, rufus said:

We need to worry about winning a single final...not about winning it all. On the evidence you've seen, what makes you think there's any chance whatsoever that we could win 3 finals in front of big crowds at the MCG? There's literally no chance with this group, who have proven to be massive chokers.

We're going to need to reload and hope that the next generation that come through have some bottle.

The combination of Gawn, May, Lever, Tracc, Oliver and Viney will not just happen again regardless of how well we recruit. This is a once in a generation combination of players. 

We are a massive chance, Goodwin has to demand a change in forward connection and we need to recruit forwards that can convert.

The next generation could be Jimmy Toumpas and Morton all over again. It’s not a given the next gen will be anywhere near the players I’ve mentioned above. 

Strike whilst the iron is hot. 

I’m out anyways for this year. Bring on 2024. 

Gutless.

Umpiring was pathetic but still no excuse for a team that looked flat out scared on the big stage. 

Credit to Carlton for taking advantage of their opportunities

4 minutes ago, Greendale said:

Still think we've had the best list for the last four years straight. TMac a significant weakspot, and Jordon not quite up to it, but our topliners are unmatched. Steven May incredible tonight against the best forward in the comp.

Put Brayshaw, Petty, Melksham and JVR into tonight's side and we win.

2 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

All I wanted was a PF.

Carlton are not good, we had 8 more scoring shots.

Yep, after all this Carlton are in to a PF…………..how the [censored] did that happen?

The lack of discipline and organisation was terrible. Frees against when kicking for goal or the game had stopped, 50m penalties, and four times we had no ruck in the forward stoppages. Players slipping in the centre square. 

Langdon had two terrible finals and looks a D grader. 

Salem has no drive and power. Finished. 

Jordon was hopeless. 

Sparrow fumbled too often.

Fritsch’s misses cost us in both finals.

Our set ups and centre clearance were ineffective and we didn’t defend well one on one. 

That’s four finals losses with more shots at goal. 

if we played BB tonight even with his dodgy knee I would fancy him to kick 1 or 2 opportunistic goals  just relying on his smarts around the goal face.

Just now, Fat Tony said:

The lack of discipline and organisation was terrible. Frees against when kicking for goal or the game had stopped, 50m penalties, and four times we had no ruck in the forward stoppages. Players slipping in the centre square. 

Langdon had two terrible finals and looks a D grader. 

Salem has no drive and power. Finished. 

Jordon was hopeless. 

Sparrow fumbled too often.

Fritsch’s misses cost us in both finals.

Our set ups and centre clearance were ineffective and we didn’t defend well one on one. 

That’s four finals losses with more shots at goal. 

Yep, that 10 goal loss was very disheartening. 

1 minute ago, mauriesy said:

Put Brayshaw, Petty, Melksham and JVR into tonight's side and we win.

We didn't lose because we were missing those guys...we lost because we produced and epic choke job for the 4th final in a row.