Heart Beats True 1,337 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 (edited) Has announced to the boys this season will be his last. https://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/1428993/michael-hibberd-calls-time-on-afl-career Edited September 10, 2023 by Heart Beats True 2 10 10 2 Quote
Ollie fan 3,671 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Not surprising, but he's going out while still playing good footy. I thought that after quarter time he killed Elliott who is s good player. He's been great for Melbourne - and we've been great for him. 32 1 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 No surprises there and another hole to fill. 3 Quote
Gorgoroth 13,220 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Hope he has three more games. Loved pig and stoked we got him. 18 1 1 Quote
ElDiablo14 5,055 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 A true hard but fair player. He, and the team, must be having mixed feelings with what happened to Gus. Thanks for your service Hibbo. 🫡 8 1 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 I have loved watching him play in red and blue. He gave you everything he had every contest, every week. Left nothing on the field and took nothing for granted. Was an enormous part of our 2021 flag. Thank you for all the wonderful years you’ve given to our club. I hope you enjoy life after footy! 13 2 1 Quote
DeeZone 10,590 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 I will always remember Michael Hibberd running across Optus Oval with the Premiership Cup in his hand to share it with his brother. Thank you Hibbo a very hard tough team oriented player whose shoes will be hard to fill.❤️💙 11 1 3 2 Quote
Tracca 862 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 9 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said: A true hard but fair player. He, and the team, must be having mixed feelings with what happened to Gus. Thanks for your service Hibbo. 🫡 what do you mean mixed feelings? 1 Quote
Bombay Airconditioning 6,508 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 What a career, experienced the highs and lows to their fullest. Love the way he’s gone about it. 1 2 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Great pick-up for us. Thanks for the memories Pig and best of luck in retirement. hopefully a second flag before you ride into the sunset. 6 1 Quote
Dockett 32 1,239 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Wonderful team player. Tough ,focused and a Goodwin contested footy beast. 2 Quote
Clintosaurus 7,953 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Soon to be dual premiership player. 13 21 2 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Love Hibbo. Didn't know much about him before he joined but that first game he played I think against Richmond the dash and hardness was in full display. Kicked a goal with one of his first possessions. a well deserved AA that year as well. So glad he got a premiership. Will always be remembered fondly by the demon faithful. Let's give him 3 more games 9 1 Quote
Diamond Tim 291 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 (edited) What a hard,contesting team player - a key to the '21 flag. Thank you Michael. Edited September 10, 2023 by Diamond Tim 2 1 Quote
Grr-owl 1,258 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Cheers, Champ. Devastated that I will no longer be able to bellow "HIB-BOW-AH!" at the tele every time he gets the ball... 2 1 Quote
dl4e 5,851 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Been a great player. Another reason along with gus to pull out all stocks and win the flag. 2 1 1 Quote
Dee-monic 620 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Has always played his heart out for the team. Pity his body can't take another season because he is definitely still in our best 22 when fully fit. Every Demons fan will wish him well. 6 1 Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 He’ll be remembered as a Premiership player. I reckon that seems right. I’ll miss yelling out ‘go Pig!’ every week. 4 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,334 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Congratulations hibbo! I'm sure the kid from Frankston when he was drafted would never imagine that he'd pump out nearly 200 games at AFL level and win a flag. A great reminder that if you miss out in getting drafted at 18 to just persevere and never give up on your dream. Thanks for your service Pig. Now a life member and premiership hero. 8 1 2 Quote
gs77 4,614 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 So glad he came to the Dees, it has been a privilege watching him play. Best wishes for the future, Hibbo. 2 1 Quote
Maldonboy38 6,435 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Loved what he brought to us. No nonsense, fair, tough, a little bit understated in many respects. I had the great joy of explaining the "Hibbo run" after the 21 flag, when he grabbed the cup and sprinted away from his team mates, laughing, as he took it over to his family. 2 1 Quote
tilly18 311 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 22 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said: Soon to be dual premiership player. How good is that. Round 2 pick for a premiership player and an All Australian. Big part of the 2021 flag. 7 1 Quote
old55 23,860 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Well gone Hibbo, the GF will be your 200th - go out with another flag! 5 3 1 Quote
Rab D Nesbitt 8,955 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 I hope he gets one more chance to steal Charlie Cameron's motorbike. 7 3 Quote
Supreme_Demon 4,141 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 He has been a fantastic player for the Demons! I will definitely miss Michael "Pig" Hibberd. He plays with toughness and determination. I love his hardness and desperation when he plays. "Pig" will always be remembered as a wonderful Premiership player for the Demons! We love you mate! 💗 ALL THE BEST PIG! YOU WILL ALWAYS BE A DEMON!!! 🔴🔵👹 https://youtu.be/flFotAFTCEo?si=Y7YqJ_1-nCToEQl- --------------------------- Incidentally, this is another reason we should look to try and recruit Josh Sinn from Port Adelaide. 2 1 Quote