Jaded No More 68,976 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 Excellent news. Very happy with that. See? Not all interstate players run back to mum! 9 3 1 Quote
Adam The God 30,730 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 Well done, Riv. 👏 And well done MFC. 6 Quote
Lord Travis 10,819 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 Great news! He’s a talented and versatile youngster with a big future ahead of him. Glad to lock away a WA talent and tick another box to keep our next core group together. Now just need Kozzies signature! 6 Quote
DubDee 26,674 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 underrated player played some 2s last year and looks better for it. very well rounded player. skilful, tall, composed. love im 5 1 Quote
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 31 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: What makes you say that? Because of the size and scope of a potential kozzie contract, and the reality he'd be our clear priority, we simply wouldn't make this move unless we had a level of certainty around what Kozzie is likely to do. If we didn't have a clear idea what that contract was going to look like, we'd be holding off on any major extensions as long as we reasonably could. 4 Quote
bobby1554 1,275 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 Great news! Really like it when players commit early in the year, as opposed to this "put talks on hold" rubbish 3 Quote
Chook 15,069 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 Massive news. Rivers despite a down year last year has proven to be an extremely reliable and consistent player across a few different positions. Can't wait to see what he looks like in 4 years time with his development so far. 5 1 Quote
In Harmes Way 7,869 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 I'm delighted for everyone including myself. I reckon he's a Ripper. 3 Quote
Demon17 5,262 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 Best 22 member of any other AFL team. He choose Dees and that speaks volumes for him and the club. Good work Trent. 5 Quote
D4Life 2,584 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 Terrific news, already developing into a very good player and has more upside! 2 Quote
DeeZee 7,496 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 Excellent news, has gone up a level this year and feel he will turn into something even more special, and a great option in the midfield as well 3 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 28 minutes ago, Dwight Schrute said: Because of the size and scope of a potential kozzie contract, and the reality he'd be our clear priority, we simply wouldn't make this move unless we had a level of certainty around what Kozzie is likely to do. If we didn't have a clear idea what that contract was going to look like, we'd be holding off on any major extensions as long as we reasonably could. Could that mean that we know he’s gone tho? 😭 3 Quote
Apocalypse XXXI 243 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 What did he see last weekend in Perth that Luke Jackson missed? 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 Just now, Apocalypse XXXI said: What did he see last weekend in Perth that Luke Jackson missed? Success 1 7 Quote
DeeMee 924 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 Such good news! Was a little concerned about him given he and Jackson were long term friends. Maybe he saw how the WA press have treated Jackson OR maybe he just likes Dees. 2 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,716 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 Just now, Apocalypse XXXI said: What did he see last weekend in Perth that Luke Jackson missed? That Luke Jackson looks miserable, perhaps? Rivers doesn't want a bar of that. They were good mates when drafted together; maybe they have had a good chat!! 3 Quote
jnrmac 20,375 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 1 hour ago, Dwight Schrute said: this is not just a great signing for the club, it's a really positive sign for the prospects of re-signing Kozzie as well! Maybe not. Last year they didn't announce the Brayshaw deal because they wanted some flexibility around the contract until they heard from Jackson. Well in the end they announced the Brayshaw deal and lo and behold 5 weeks later Jackson leaving became public 4 1 Quote
demoniac 1,337 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 On 4/10/2023 at 12:55 AM, FlashInThePan said: I really like JJ but as a winger, Hunter is in a totally different league. His gut running, positioning and field kicking are all A grade. JJ is potentially more versatile but as a winger, he is a journeyman. For mine, we must keep Kozzie and Rivers. I’d like to keep JJ but if he or even hee and Hames were the price of keeping the other two I’d be okay with it. Hunter is a specialist winger. JJ is a utility. 1 Quote
adonski 13,267 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 1 minute ago, jnrmac said: Maybe not. Last year they didn't announce the Brayshaw deal because they wanted some flexibility around the contract until they heard from Jackson. Well in the end they announced the Brayshaw deal and lo and behold 5 weeks later Jackson leaving became public I'm not sure Riv is commanding mega bucks just yet, I'd be surprised if it had any link to Pickett's $ 4 Quote
58er 6,872 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 35 minutes ago, DubDee said: underrated player played some 2s last year and looks better for it. very well rounded player. skilful, tall, composed. love im His great form this year just proves last year rushing him back with his knee bandaged was the wrong move. Different more mature player who is much more composed and skilful now in traffic. Congrats Riv you deserve your contract and all the best for the next 5 years. Plenty of success.!! 3 Quote
old55 23,860 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 (edited) 1 hour ago, Dwight Schrute said: this is not just a great signing for the club, it's a really positive sign for the prospects of re-signing Kozzie as well! Yes but as @Jaded No More and @jnrmacposted it could equally mean we know Kossie is going. Note that we signed Angus long term probably around the time we knew Jackson was going. Anyway, absolutely tremendous news that Riv has signed on! Edited April 13, 2023 by old55 7 Quote
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 2 minutes ago, jnrmac said: Maybe not. Last year they didn't announce the Brayshaw deal because they wanted some flexibility around the contract until they heard from Jackson. Well in the end they announced the Brayshaw deal and lo and behold 5 weeks later Jackson leaving became public there were a few considerations around the Gus deal, our intention last year was always to re-sign both though. i think the difference is there is a possibility we have to pay slightly more than we'd ideally like in order to keep Kozzie, where as we would have paid LJ whatever it took i suspect to keep him 2 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted April 13, 2023 Posted April 13, 2023 Very very very great news! Taking his game to a new level this year, seems to have really improved in the air. 2 Quote