Posted
3 minutes ago, BDA said:

Possibly. Libby Birch or Maddy Gay I reckon.

Kate Hore is the vice captain, so I would expect she will step up as captain.

As for Daisy, words cannot do her contribution to the club and the game justice - she is simply the best of the best.

Posted
4 minutes ago, von said:

5 years at the cats and then take goodwins spot.

I hope not. If Goodwin has gone after another 5 years it could only mean (1) we haven't won another men's Premiership in that time or (2) even though we've won one or more additional Premierships, the club is in some sort of off-field turmoil.

Posted

There’s many more options to consider. For example, Goodwin has had one of the great runs in modern football and after four flags in five years tells the club that he is burnt out and it is time to take a year or two out of the game. In comes daisy. The list needs a rebuild. And she’s the person for the job. 

all of this is highly unlikely, I just don’t like the idea of her being a cat so it’s easier to manage while imagining such a scenario. 

Posted

It's my understanding that the womans best and fairest awards are just labelled 1st place, 2nd place etc...

Surely the bnf winner will now be the recipient of the Daisy Pearce medal/trophy.

Posted

I'm really glad we snagged a premiership before she retired. I feel like it is important just to be sure that nobody, ever, gets the impression that there was anyone greater than her in the first decade of AFL-level women's football.

Hoping to see more commentary from her and I'm sure a terrific book is coming along soon!

Posted

So hard to find the right words, - so I'll simply say you are all class Daisy - so proud you've been at Melbourne and I wish you and your loved ones all the best for the future.

Posted

At the launch of AFLW, with Daisy as one of our two marquee players, she told Gil Maclaughlin that "if you make me play for anyone other than the dees, then I"m walking away from the game"

That's when she won my heart, and my admiration for her has only grown since. What a ripper. Best of luck in everything you do Daisy.

Posted

All of the above re Daisy, and more!

Now, no poaching of Anglesea-based Mr Stinear, Dais!

Posted

Noticed how she corrected herself, saying, "close the Melbourne cha... playing chapter"

😊

Posted

Hard to imagine a better ambassador for the MFC than Daisy during her time here.

Set the standard and championed the cause for AFLW as a player on and off the field during the fledgling years of the competition and the sport of Australian Rules football is all the richer and in better shape for it.

Will go down as an important figure in the history of the AFL.

Posted

Fantastic record on and off the field.  A Demon legend who will return and continue her legacy in the future. All the best in your career and family future Daisy. 
Fitting retiring from playing with that Premiership Cup and medallion. 🏆❤️💙Come back in the future and Coach the Dees to another flag in either Ladies or Men's. 

Posted

Thanks Daisy for your service onfield and off whilst at the club. You’re a legend of the game and no doubt will be deservedly inducted into the HOF.

You have been a breath of fresh air in the commentary box and I wish you and your family all the best in the next chapter of your life 

Posted
3 hours ago, Nascent said:

It's my understanding that the womans best and fairest awards are just labelled 1st place, 2nd place etc...

Surely the bnf winner will now be the recipient of the Daisy Pearce medal/trophy.

We are in sync. I thought straight away that would be an amazing honour to Daisy and to all the Demon AFLW B&F winners.  The Daisy Pearce Trophy 😁(keep medals for BOG in games like the GF). 

Posted

The tributes are flowing and yet it's hard to capture Daisy's immense impact across women's footy, men's footy and the media landscape, and as part of the MFC.

The vast, vast majority of players in the AFLW today would have been directly or indirectly influenced by Daisy's career on some level. She's shaped the culture of women's footy at every stage, from Darebin in the VWFL,  to VFLW and AFLW. In some ways it's amazing to think how much of her playing career actually occurred before AFLW, given her huge impact as the face of the game. Those 55 games at AFLW level are the tip of the iceberg, and we can only dream what might have been if her opportunities had come sooner.

I've said it many times before, but thank god she was a Demon. And she has epitomised all the best parts of our club: pioneering, history-making and competitive yet humble.

A couple of stats:

And some highlights from that era before the spotlight came:

VWFL/VFLW

Posted
4 hours ago, BDA said:

Reckon she'll coach the AFLW team at some stage for sure.

I wouldn't be surprised to see her move in a different direction...

Management role either with the AFL or Football Department at clubland.

The Scott/Hocking role would be ideal for her in a few years.

Posted
57 minutes ago, Dees_In_October said:

The tributes are flowing and yet it's hard to capture Daisy's immense impact across women's footy, men's footy and the media landscape, and as part of the MFC.

The vast, vast majority of players in the AFLW today would have been directly or indirectly influenced by Daisy's career on some level. She's shaped the culture of women's footy at every stage, from Darebin in the VWFL,  to VFLW and AFLW. In some ways it's amazing to think how much of her playing career actually occurred before AFLW, given her huge impact as the face of the game. Those 55 games at AFLW level are the tip of the iceberg, and we can only dream what might have been if her opportunities had come sooner.

I've said it many times before, but thank god she was a Demon. And she has epitomised all the best parts of our club: pioneering, history-making and competitive yet humble.

A couple of stats:

And some highlights from that era before the spotlight came:

VWFL/VFLW

Thank you DIO. This the most astonishing Aussie Rules playing record we will EVER see. Playing at the top level possible for her whole career. On top of this, she is my favourite commentator, has a genius level football IQ, articulate and seems the most wonderful human being. All posters here know how blessed we have been to call her ours. The AFL community has also been blessed and I sincerely hope her multiple skills will be best utilised for the betterment of the game.

More than anything I wish her a happy and contented retirement.  She so deserves it. ❤💙

• Love 5

Posted
6 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I hope not. If Goodwin has gone after another 5 years it could only mean (1) we haven't won another men's Premiership in that time or (2) even though we've won one or more additional Premierships, the club is in some sort of off-field turmoil.

12 years in charge is a long time. I don’t think that timeframe is too far out from reality.

Posted
6 hours ago, BDA said:

Reckon she'll coach the AFLW team at some stage for sure.

I think she has the opportunity to build into a career that is at AFL level.

That isn’t a diminishment of the women’s game, in fact it’s an affirmation of it.

Posted

What an immense character she was to help drive the women’s game forward. She went out as she will be remembered - a winner and a leader.

My favourite story is the one where she reportedly told the fledgling AFLW that if she wasn’t at Melbourne she would not play. That may be a myth but it will stay with me.

Personally, I hope she is with Geelong for a few years and then on the AFL coaching staff at Melbourne in a key role ahead of a more substantial and historic role in the game.

Posted
23 minutes ago, rpfc said:

My favourite story is the one where she reportedly told the fledgling AFLW that if she wasn’t at Melbourne she would not play. That may be a myth but it will stay with me.

She said it on AFL360 with Gil present, I remember, no myth, true dinks.

Posted

I am not the biggest fan of AFLW as a spectacle, but as I have said previously on Demonland discussions, Daisy is the best thing to happen to the MFC in the last 20 years  (alongside Paul Roos). She is football royalty: gun player, inspirational leader, passionate, Dees tragic, articulate, intelligent, considerate. 

So glad that she is able to go out on such a high.

P.S. Seeing her in a Geelong outfit this season is really going to get me riled.