La Dee-vina Comedia 17,136 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 Apologies if this is in another thread somewhere, but Sam Edmond today claims that Josh Frydenberg was encouraged by the AFL Commission to throw his hat into the ring for the CEO's job. I can't see it happening. I would have thought there were better opportunities for the former Treasurer than this job. 1 3 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 I'm not going to get too political on this forum but you'd hardly say the loose spending and debt levels he left indicate he would be a good fit for the running of any business let alone the AFL. 6 1 1 2 Quote
hemingway 7,633 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 Josh has much bigger fish to fry. The AFL talk provides him with some flattery but it is well below his ambitions and intellectual capacity. Well that’s what Josh confidentially told me. 1 6 Quote
tiers 2,883 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 Glad you kept it confidential. Josh is too smart and too ambitious for such a puny job. His horizons are surely national if not international mixing with the movers and shakers of high political and so called intellectual pursuits. 1 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 I'm getting a bit tired of hearing these external ring in names. I don't believe the AFL is a place where you can step sideways into from another code or profession. Experience in this game at the admin level counts, just give it to Travis Auld and be done with it. I'm sure someone will come in and say something like "Yeah and that's done us a lot of good so far hasn't it?" To each their own I still think you need to know the game. 1 Quote
daisycutter 30,002 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 pure click bait journalism is getting worse by the day 5 1 Quote
Demonstone 23,549 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 5 minutes ago, layzie said: just give it to Benny Gale and be done with it. FTFY. Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 2 minutes ago, Demonstone said: FTFY. I would love to see Gale or someone from club land get it for a change Demonstone. I'm just not all that confident it will happen 🙁 3 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,808 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 ronnie salt summed it up yesterday; deleted his tweet since 1 Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 6 minutes ago, layzie said: I would love to see Gale or someone from club land get it for a change Demonstone. I'm just not all that confident it will happen 🙁 It would be good to get someone from outside of the inside club. ...but as you say it's unlikely to happen. It will go to someone currently working at the AFL after an exhaustive and extensive search. 2 Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 Clearly some people view him differently than I do. I don’t doubt he’s sharp, I just never understand why such intellectual capacity is wasted on a mugs game like politics. 2 1 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,758 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 1 minute ago, The heart beats true said: Clearly some people view him differently than I do. I don’t doubt he’s sharp, I just never understand why such intellectual capacity is wasted on a mugs game like politics. Power.... it's addictive Quote
chook fowler 19,763 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 couldn't stand up to SCOMO, don't know how he would go with AFL egos. 2 Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,136 Posted June 21, 2022 Author Posted June 21, 2022 29 minutes ago, layzie said: I'm getting a bit tired of hearing these external ring in names. I don't believe the AFL is a place where you can step sideways into from another code or profession. Experience in this game at the admin level counts, just give it to Travis Auld and be done with it. I'm sure someone will come in and say something like "Yeah and that's done us a lot of good so far hasn't it?" To each their own I still think you need to know the game. The best person ever involved in the AFL was Graeme Samuel who was the prime mover in turning the AFL (then the VFL) from an amateurish, bankrupt code to the professional business it is today. When he joined the VFL, he wouldn't have known one end of a football from the other. 2 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 1 minute ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said: The best person ever involved in the AFL was Graeme Samuel who was the prime mover in turning the AFL (then the VFL) from an amateurish, bankrupt code to the professional business it is today. When he joined the VFL, he wouldn't have known one end of a football from the other. Fair example there. Do you reckon there's some scope with this La Dee-vina? Can it work in today's game? 1 Quote
old dee 24,079 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 IMO what we need is someone who is not one of the old boys club. What are the chances? Next to zero I expect. 3 Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,136 Posted June 21, 2022 Author Posted June 21, 2022 12 minutes ago, layzie said: Fair example there. Do you reckon there's some scope with this La Dee-vina? Can it work in today's game? I'm a firm believer that it can work today. The new CEO just needs to ensure that s/he has people with the necessary experience working for her or him and that those people are listened to. 2 1 Quote
Redleg 42,139 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 17 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said: The best person ever involved in the AFL was Graeme Samuel who was the prime mover in turning the AFL (then the VFL) from an amateurish, bankrupt code to the professional business it is today. When he joined the VFL, he wouldn't have known one end of a football from the other. And still doesn’t. 4 Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,136 Posted June 21, 2022 Author Posted June 21, 2022 2 minutes ago, Redleg said: And still doesn’t. Mind you, I think half the people sitting near me at the football don't understand the game, either! 3 Quote
faultydet 7,623 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 *sigh* Here we go again. Don't forget to throw in some Herald Sun references guys. Need it for my Bingo card. 3 2 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,667 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 2 hours ago, layzie said: I'm getting a bit tired of hearing these external ring in names. I don't believe the AFL is a place where you can step sideways into from another code or profession. Experience in this game at the admin level counts, just give it to Travis Auld and be done with it. I'm sure someone will come in and say something like "Yeah and that's done us a lot of good so far hasn't it?" To each their own I still think you need to know the game. Auld didn’t exactly demonstrate a great knowledge of the game when he was the Gold Coasts inaugural CEO. They are still getting over the massive blunders they made setting up that shop. On the other hand Peggy O’Neal probably couldn’t have told you which way a snap spun when she first joined the Tigers board. I don’t think knowledge necessarily directly corresponds with respect for tradition. And even if it does I’m not sure the CEO has to wear all of that burden, that’s really the commissions job. Any and every CEO will to some extent try to sell fans and clubs up the river to increase revenues. That’s human nature. The right person for the job doesn’t go too far with that, makes smart deals and is innovative. Gill’s not always popular but he’s done far better than a lot of people think in those aspects. 2 Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,467 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 1 hour ago, faultydet said: *sigh* Here we go again. Don't forget to throw in some Herald Sun references guys. Need it for my Bingo card. Don't worry I'm sure they'll do another puff piece on the front page to try and convince the public he is the right man to head the league. Didn't work during the election though, not sure it will work now either. 2 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,677 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 Surely ScoMo for the AFL job. He’s a gun at marketing and embellishments. Yes he knows nothing about the greatest game but at least he’ll be able to manage questions about the failings !!! 1 3 Quote
Little Goffy 14,948 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 I nominate Christine Holgate. 1 1 1 Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted June 21, 2022 Posted June 21, 2022 2 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said: Mind you, I think half the people sitting near me at the football don't understand the game, either! ‘Man up!’ Quote