6 minutes ago, willmoy said:

Anyone ever held out this long and not left?

I'm sure someone will come up with the one example of someone who re-signed the day before trade period but I can't remember one off the top. 

6 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I was dirty on Vines. That was a clear handball over the top which would have allowed Jacko to run in and steady up for a goal.

Yep in the 2nd Q, then Viney coughed it straight up to a doggy defender.

1 hour ago, wizardinoz said:

Anyone else heard that peanut Craig Hutchison on Footy Classified twice now talk about West Coast walking LJ through to the pre season draft for nothing? WTF is that guy on about? Surely we can't lose out of this if Luke decides that he wants to go back to WA?

Hutchy is a born stirrer...don't believe anything he says

...but he would like this to happen, it creates a better story for his media outlets.

21 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

The club or player won’t announce it until seasons end and as an interested supporter as many others are, I got the mail and was happy to pass it on.

I had mentioned already that official was probably the wrong word used but I’ll choose how much info I pass on. 

Ok Sorry I didn’t see you had retracted “official” but a mild criticism of one word is enough to make you reconsider how much info you pass on?  Surely not. 

1 hour ago, david_neitz_is_my_dad said:

Would anyone here actually be surprised when it "officially" gets announced he is leaving?

Perhaps the gentleman that bet everything he owns on Jackson staying.

If it's having a massive impact on the team and culture then the best we can hope for is they all get together, hug it out, bind together and go on to win the premiership like in Bad News Bears or some other feel good movie that I have no memory of. 

If Jackson has decided he's leaving, and my mail which details his reasons for returning home, then it won't be subject to a suitable trade.

Jackson doesn't have any issues with the club, but if he feels strongly enough that he wants to return home, then re-signing with us for another 2 years won't be an option. A deal will get done, even if both parties may not be 100% happy with the end result.

31 minutes ago, willmoy said:

Anyone ever held out this long and not left?

Martin didn't re-sign with the Tigers until 1 September in 2017.

• Author

Very sorry to see him go.

On the positive side, he leaves a nice kitty in our salary cap to entice other players and help keep a few we might otherwise lose.

I'm glad a decision is made now, it gives the club more time and certainty to fill our list gaps/needs.

58 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

The club or player won’t announce it until seasons end and as an interested supporter as many others are, I got the mail and was happy to pass it on.

I had mentioned already that official was probably the wrong word used but I’ll choose how much info I pass on. 

Appreciate you sharing your intel mate, please don't be deterred by a doubter. Yourself and posters like @Demon3 and @goodwindees (among others) are half the reason I keep coming back everyday to hopefully get some insight into all things Melbourne. Shame about Jackson but the writing has been on the wall for a while now. Simply must get the best compensation possible.

Silver lining is getting the opportunity to access high end draft talent and salary cap space to go after a quality free agent in the next year or two. 

Edited by Nascent

4 minutes ago, Nascent said:

Appreciate you sharing your intel mate, please don't be deterred by a doubter. Yourself and posters like @Demon3 and @goodwindees (among others) are half the reason I keep coming back everyday to hopefully get some insight into all things Melbourne. Shame about Jackson but the writings been on the wall now. Simply must get the best compensation we possibly can.

Silver lining is getting the opportunity to access high end draft talent and salary cap space to go after a quality free agent in the next year or two. 

👍

Should he recuse himself this week?

50 minutes ago, layzie said:

If it's having a massive impact on the team and culture then the best we can hope for is they all get together, hug it out, bind together and go on to win the premiership like in Bad News Bears or some other feel good movie that I have no memory of. 

And @Bitter but optimistic calls ME Pollyanna!!! 😁

Edited by WalkingCivilWar

7 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

And @Bitter but optimistic calls ME Pollyanna!!! 😁

Well you wouldn't get in a school with him

If he's gone as it now appears he is, let's hope everyone can get on with the business of winning this years premiership.

I reckon the decision has been weighing on him.

The list team can get on with getting the best trade and best team on the park for next year.

1 hour ago, mo64 said:

If Jackson has decided he's leaving, and my mail which details his reasons for returning home, then it won't be subject to a suitable trade.

Jackson doesn't have any issues with the club, but if he feels strongly enough that he wants to return home, then re-signing with us for another 2 years won't be an option. A deal will get done, even if both parties may not be 100% happy with the end result.

If it’s just about going home, he should be open to us trading him to West Coast. 
I don’t believe he’s really that home sick if he is only wanting to go to Freo. 

3 hours ago, praha said:

In all seriousness though why would any Victorian team ever recruit a WA talent? I get that *we* got a premiership of which he was a significant contributor but flags are rarer than unobtainium, and losing a top tier draft after only three seasons... well holistically from a broad perspective you just don't take that risk. 

Seriously, the whole "go home" factor for WA is a little pathetic. These are grown men and they act like they're teenagers coming back from war. If it were a once off or happening towards the end of someone's career then fair enough but after three [censored] seasons? Every single non-WA team is going to look at this and seriously question the risk. We got VERY lucky and it paid off hugely for us.

I don't care what anyone says, moves like this aren't good for the industry or talent pool.

Let's seriously think about this. He's in the home of football, playing at the MCG, in one of the best cities in the world, for one of the best teams in the league, for the reigning Premier, and you're telling me that the "allure" of "going home" is greater than staying on for another 3-4 years? After only three years? PLEASSSSSE!

If he does leave I just cannot avoid to question one of either Jackson's own personality and mentality, or the team culture. The entire situation just seems incredibly bizarre to me. I really don't get it.

Ummmmmm . . . this is just a stab in the dark now . . . they help you win premierships.

55 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Mel and Steve won’t be happy, considering they just bought a house in Melbourne. 

That’s probably why he is going home.

2 hours ago, rjay said:

If he's gone as it now appears he is, let's hope everyone can get on with the business of winning this years premiership.

I reckon the decision has been weighing on him.

The list team can get on with getting the best trade and best team on the park for next year.

He's still only 20 years old and if the $10.5Million offer over 8 years is real, he'll know he's going to get that sort of money as it's then only about getting a deal done

And those offering the money have almost certainly told him that a deal will be done - somehow

So, at 20 years old, with that sort of money forthcoming, how is it not a distraction?  It would be for a RFA who has been in the system for 8 years

I believe you are right, rjay, because if anyone at the age of 20 had 10 x 1st Division Tattslotto prizes on the way and guaranteed, one would be like a cat on a hot tin roof

He won't want to get injured either but he doesn't appear to be avoiding contests

Trouble is, he's not getting to enough contests

At his best he has a very good (not quite manic) attack on the ball.  We're not seeing that apart from in the Lions game

We can all be persuaded by big money and I know how I'd be if I had that sort of money coming my way

2 hours ago, Demons11 said:

🙄 I’ll get a copy of the contract for you next time.  Just passing on the news mate.  Geeze. 

Looking forward to it mate.

2 minutes ago, Macca said:

He won't want to get injured either but he doesn't appear to be avoiding contests

At his best he has a very good (not quite manic) attack on the ball.  We're not seeing that apart from in the Lions game

We all love money and I know how I'd be if I had that sort of money coming my way

Straight out of the script of Jerry Maguire and so true

4 minutes ago, Macca said:

He's still only 20 years old and if the $10.5Million offer over 8 years is real, he'll know he's going to get that sort of money as it's then only about getting a deal done

And those offering the money have almost certainly told him that a deal will be done - somehow

So, at 20 years old, with that sort of money forthcoming, how is it not a distraction?  It would be for a RFA who has been in the system for 8 years

I believe you are right, rjay, because if anyone at the age of 20 had 10 x 1st Division Tattslotto prizes on the way and guaranteed, one would be like a cat on a hot tin roof

We all love money and I know how I'd be if I had that sort of money coming my way

I believe that the 10.5 million over 8 years is a complete load of [censored].

11 minutes ago, dl4e said:

I believe that the 10.5 million over 8 years is a complete load of [censored].

So what do reckon the offer might be? (if indeed, he is getting an offer elsewhere)