BAMF 4,487 Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 It's round 15. Time to stop drinking the bathwater. 4 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,810 Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 1 hour ago, John Crow Batty said: Jones has never been the enforcer type. That would be in AVDB’s portfolio. I would rather see him in the finals doing the protection. Lest We Forget - AvB is our best 'unfortunate accident' son. 1 Quote
ucanchoose 1,816 Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 The fact that he's an emergency this week means this thread is very premature Quote
Billy 2,576 Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 (edited) Still think Chunk has a part to play, think he’s ahead of Chandler, Melksham on current form & on par with Sparrow Hopefully gets a couple of games before finals to put his case forward Edited June 24, 2021 by Billy 1 Quote
Seraph 1,824 Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 1 hour ago, titan_uranus said: Jones doesn't play Spargo's style of game. He's not quick enough nor is he a good enough kick inside 50 to replace him. I don't think Jones would replace Spargo in his overall role however I do think he's quite good with ball in hand inside 50. Either hitting targets or scoring. Quote
Youngwilliam 381 Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 (edited) 5 more games on the G before finals, warm up Jones for finals by Medi Subbing the first couple then get him to start the last 3 G games. Get Chunk off ice and get around him. Edited June 24, 2021 by Youngwilliam 1 Quote
Pates 9,697 Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 If you could name for GF only multiple subs I’d definitely have him as one but the medical subs can be activated in the final 5min of the last quarter or 20sec into the match. He has to earn the right to be in the position with his form. He has been thereabouts all year being named as sub a couple of times and being in the emergencies a number of times so IF we get into that position he would be a big chance. Quote
Demons1858 1,828 Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 11 hours ago, Bobby McKenzie said: Would it be such a risk if his form in the twos was good? He is not completely hopeless you know. Just saying. Absolutely right. Probably a greater risk is that a younger player would be less able to handle the occasion Quote
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 Jones is done. And if he's getting a game we are done. Too old, too slow. And all this BS about subbing him on for the last few mins of the GF. Pretty sure even he'd find that insulting. There's a hell of a alot of water to pass under the bridge yet before we're thinking of any bloody GFs anyway. Let's just concentrate on getting over Essendon this week. 3 Quote
dee-tox 4,835 Posted June 24, 2021 Posted June 24, 2021 8 hours ago, DEE fence said: VDB is sensational at countermeasures, but his lack of foot speed has him finished for mine with thanks and appreciation. Demonland myth number 27. VDB is not slow and is actually one of the quickest on the list! 2 Quote
Cranky Franky 2,270 Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 10 hours ago, dee-tox said: Demonland myth number 27. VDB is not slow and is actually one of the quickest on the list! Was never quick & after his leg/foot injuries slowed him down more. Definitely one of the slowest on our list. Quote
dazzledavey36 56,347 Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 Wouldn't be surprised if he is our medical sub tomorrow. 2 Quote
Guest Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 If we s**t the bed against Essendon, I wouldn't be against him coming back to provide a bit of leadership. I get the feeling that this will come back in spades with Viney back, but would be a contingency plan if things go pear shaped tomorrow. Quote
forever demons 2,370 Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 He is a champion of our club ,301 games ,he deserves to play in our finals endeavor and i bet every player on the list would want that.From the boot studder to the pres would want it to happen.a lot on here have bad memories as to just how good he has been for this club.Sure he has slowed up a bit but brains will often beat younger players.I bet he wants a crack at it and if gets back into 22 he will give it a real go.Thats what builds culture at a footy club.great example to the young players what you can achieve if you really want it.GO NAT Quote
Wrecker46 3,130 Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 On 6/24/2021 at 2:34 PM, Supermercado said: Gifting somebody a game in a Grand Final when you haven't won one in 60 years is unbelievably high risk, but I'd be into the idea of him presenting the cup. Bit weird to have a serving player do it but far more relevance to this era than Barassi, Lyon and even Neitz. I've wondered whether Jones might get that role myself, if we are in that position. If not imho it would be Barassi or Neitz. I can't see it being Lyon but he will MC the celebrations the following day. Quote
Guest Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 7 minutes ago, Wrecker46 said: I've wondered whether Jones might get that role myself, if we are in that position. If not imho it would be Barassi or Neitz. I can't see it being Lyon but he will MC the celebrations the following day. He has the media chops and track record of service to the club, but have we totally forgiven him for the hullabaloo post 186? Quote
forever demons 2,370 Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 44 minutes ago, Colin B. Flaubert said: He has the media chops and track record of service to the club, but have we totally forgiven him for the hullabaloo post 186? Tells us that was i dont recall it Quote
Chook 15,070 Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 24 minutes ago, forever demons said: Tells us that was i dont recall it In case you're being sarcastic, Gary gave us Neeld. Quote
Demonstone 23,596 Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 1 hour ago, Wrecker46 said: I can't see it being Lyon but he will MC the celebrations the following day. I reckon Russell Robertson might get that gig. Quote
forever demons 2,370 Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 26 minutes ago, demonstone said: I reckon Russell Robertson might get that gig. why Quote
Clayton spirit 269 Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 I'd love to see him called up onto the podium like Bob Murphy in 2016, on the likelihood he doesn't get a spot Quote
Demonstone 23,596 Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 1 hour ago, forever demons said: why Because of his current connection with MFC carrying out the roles of on-ground announcer and host/mc at club functions. Quote
Engorged Onion 10,226 Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 (edited) My thoughts on the matter are exemplified by some of Stock Aitken Waterman's finest post script: Iv'e been waiting months to drop this little gag in. Edited June 25, 2021 by Engorged Onion 3 Quote
Guest Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 (edited) 57 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said: My thoughts on the matter are exemplified by some of Stock Aitken Waterman's finest post script: Iv'e been waiting months to drop this little gag in. To make it the greatest tribute to Chunk, there really should be some demonic imagery thrown in to boot. Could we dub the audio over this filmclip? After all, if Beavis and Butthead suggest that your offspring (to be fathered by Gwar of course) would be the coolest people that ever lived, you must be doing something right. Edited June 25, 2021 by Colin B. Flaubert Quote
Kick_It_To_Pickett 3,293 Posted June 25, 2021 Posted June 25, 2021 (edited) I think he is a perfect medical sub for a GF for a few reasons. He is actually more versatile than he has been given credit for. He could release a mid to play wing or half back flanker if needed and be a serviceable extractor in the guts. He could play back flank and just compete in a finals type way. He can go forward and take a good contested grab and kick goals. One thing you know, he will put his head over the ball in the heat of battle. Every. Damn. Time! That’s what is needed on Grand Final day. I’d rather him coming on as sub than Chandler or Melksham. Edited June 25, 2021 by Kick_It_To_Pickett 1 Quote